You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Fungi Friday - A Swamp Full of Suilus

in Fungi Lovers3 years ago

The Russulas are notoriously difficult to ID. Some are choice edibles, but others will definitely make you sick. There are dozens if not hundreds of very similar looking red russula mushrooms all over the world. The only other technique I'm aware of to narrow down what they may be is to bite off a tiny corner of the cap, chew it for a few seconds, and then spit the flesh out. Some red russulas are bland tasting, but others are spicy (almost like cayenne pepper). If I'm not mistaken, the spicy taste is more closely associated with the species known to cause gastrointestinal distress.

Sort:  

There are dozens if not hundreds of very similar looking red russula mushrooms all over the world.

The only other technique I'm aware of to narrow down what they may be is to bite off a tiny corner of the cap

I could not but agree with you, with both statements!

:)

I understand, your information is very interesting. As soon as I upload the material that I have, I will enchant you so that you find out and tell me a little about what you know, I really like this type of interaction!! I send you a hug and a piece of pizza!!
!PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@tych021! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @mimi05.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (3/10)