7 Regular Self Care Things Adults Forget To Do

in Self Improvement2 years ago

As a grown-up, do you remember to take care of yourself? I know we usually don't. Haha. All we think about is work and earning money. Well usually we do it because without money how will we live? Thus we forget to do the basic things we've been taught as kids.

The following are common knowledge adulting things I'm sure many of us forget to do regularly.


source




1. Eat on time. Eat healthy food like fruits, nuts and veggies.

Yes, this is one of the things I am guilty of doing. Ever since I started working at home (2018) eating on time is one of the things I don't get to do. Haha.

Sometimes if I keep working online I forget to eat. Or due to non-activity I don't get hungry that much. Well if I'm not hungry why will I eat, right? Lol. Ah that is the problem. Also if you work all the time you won't even do household chores. Good luck self! Haha.



2. Drink 6-8 glasses of water a day.

This one should be automatic to us. We are made of 60-70% water, so they say. That's why clean water is very important. Too bad we always pollute the planet and waste clean water like it's not going to run out. 😂 When will we ever learn...

Anyway I always make sure to drink before breakfast, then after every meal and it looks like that's it most of the time. 😂 Sad life. I should drink more water everyday!!! 😅


source

Oh hey if I do # 4 daily, I can add 2 more glasses! 😆 Good luck to me. 😂



3. Sleep on time. Full 8 hrs is good.

I'm so guilty of not doing this. Hahaha. Since college I learned how to sleep late, no thanks to an architecture course. Geddemmm. Good thing I shifted course hahaha.

Anyway since then and until now, this is something I always don't do. Huhu. Bad habits are really hard to remove until it's a matter of life or death. ☹️ No I don't want to reach that stage so this is my public reminder to myself.

Sleeping late or not getting enough sleep is bad for our health. There are many things already written about its importance and yet we still like to stay up late until morning. No thanks again to the pandemic among other things. 😅



4. Exercise at least 2x a week.

Can I hide under the Earth now? My only form of exercise is walking, seriously. Since I graduated from university, who has time to exercise? Haha. Well I used to bike regularly since the pandemic happened but then I started work this February so byebye exercise!

When you're too tired to do anything you will never do any exercise at all. But they say it's all about discipline... Huhu. Well I have that in other areas of my life except this one. Must add it back to my daily/weekly routine or else!


source


Sweating is another way of removing body toxins so this is important, especially when summer is over. There are many toxic things in our world that surely get inside our bodies! Those are bad for our health so let's not forget to sweat it out!



5. Do something you like/enjoy at least 2x a week. (Play, do hobbies, etc.)

Happiness is a choice, same as wallowing in self-pity and focusing on the bad things in our life. They say we are wired to think negatively. Well if we don't make time to enjoy the little things in life then we will never be happy at all indeed.

The problem is when you have become burned out that you don't want to do anything in life anymore. Ah life. Ah to be human. If you live alone like me and are mostly an introvert then what a sad way to live indeed eh? Thus it is very important to do this part of self-care.





source

6. Find time for rest and relaxation, or doing absolutely nothing at least maybe 2x a month.

All I can say is, I haven't been to the beach at all this year. Huhu. I wanna go to the beach!!! They're all so far away. 😅 And I'm such a cheapskate I can't even splurge on myself... 😅




7. Find time to pray everyday or at least every week.

Well most of the time we pray only when trouble is affecting us. But it's good to pray every night before we sleep to keep the bad dreams away. At least when I started doing this as a kid I've always had better sleep. Hehe. No more nightmares or battling the evil foes while sleeping! 😆

Now going to mass every Sunday... Well I used to do it without fail but lately even with the online masses I fail to attend weekly. Ah to be human...






source

BONUS: Get some sun and connect with people!

Blame the pandemic but not getting enough sun on your skin will make you have certain sicknesses too! Gum problems anyone? Haha. That's just one of them. So make sure to get out as often as you can!

If you can't get out, stay near your window and sunbathe for several minutes! 😉

As for connecting with people, it's nice to spend time with friends or family too! We are social creatures so this is something we should do once in a while. Work at home folks and those who live alone will know what I'm talking about.



So there you have it... all 7 things we must not forget to do in our lives.

Constant failure to do most of the above will lead to sickness one way or the other - emotionally, mentally, physically and spiritually. Again, happiness is a choice, so they say. Writing this because I don't follow most of the above. Hahaha. Sad life but true.

How about you? Are you able to do all seven without fail? If yes then kudos to you! 👍👏



XOXO,
@artgirl





Spam or irrelevant comments will be downvoted if not revised upon warning.

image breaker.jfif

Written by @artgirl for Steemit / Hive
© Art x Stephanie Rue / Lucy Stephanie


Join Hive thru ecency, Click Here!

@artgirl is a freelance writer/artist, online seller and real estate agent. My Steemit/Hive posts may contain referral/affiliate/merchandise links.
Contact me for your art, Writing/Research & Luzon / Metro Manila (NCR) property needs.

For business inquiries, you can chat me up on Telegram or send me a Facebook message. Link in my bio.


Like it?
Upvote, Follow and ReHive/Share for appreciation.

♥ Thanks! ♥

Sort:  

That's a really strong 7 self-care tip you've shared. Thanks really. For me, I do have slight issues with all of them, but I'll say eating on time is a major challenge for me. I also struggle with sleeping early, but I'll say the awareness is there for me though.

You're welcome. Haha I have a problem with all of them. Need to improve my habits. Lol.