You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What to Write When You Don't Know What to Write ~ Overcoming Writer's Block

Meditation is so powerful yet people, at least most of the people around me, don't want to try it. It helps so much to clear the mind and declutter thoughts. We have so much junk in the back of our minds and if we don't take a minute for ourselves we contribute to the mind fog most of us experience all the time. I know that meditation on the surface can sound like a waste of time, or the classic "I just sit there?", but it is so much more, and even when I explain to my peeps I can feel that they aren't convinced. Too bad...

Sort:  

I think the problem is it seems deceptively simple. Just sit. Then when people do try it, it seems incredibly hard. Too hard for something that "should be easy", so they quit, usually mumbling something like "I guess it's just not for me". I always tell these people that it's always hard, and it's boring, and that's the point. But I understand that's easy for me to say since I've been doing it so long. One paradoxically needs to practice for some time before they understand better.

I should really write a post about it sometime.

Anyway, thanks for the comment!

!PIZZA !LUV

Actually, I would say that it is easy if someone tells you exactly what to do and why. I first started meditating when I came across this streamer psychiatrist Healthy Gamer GG. Don't know if you heard of him, interesting person. With his help, I discovered so many meditation techniques. Some didn't work for me, while some clicked on my first attempt. I stuck with those of course, and I'm so grateful I did.

I should really write a post about it sometime.

I encourage you to do that, I will explore this idea too, cause I know it will give value to others.

I would say that it is easy if someone tells you exactly what to do and why

Yes, I should clarify. It is easy if one has guidance. Or maybe not easy, because meditation is never easy nor is it intended to be easy, but "easier". I daresay the majority of people who try meditation do it with no guide whatsoever, just a vague idea that they "should stop thinking" and maybe one of these "meditation" tracks they find on the net that isn't really meditation anyway but is more yoga relaxation (yoga nidra) than meditation. So then that is what leads most people to think it's too hard and then quit without ever trying again.

I haven't heard of that person but I'll look him up.

Yeah sure. What I meant by easy was that once you have the guidance you don't need to dedicate months before figuring out what to do. You get the benefits from it almost immediately. At least I'm talking from my personal experience and from what I heard from a single friend that actually decided to try it out.