Unexpected unfolding

in Self Improvement2 years ago (edited)

I've come to expect the unexpected in life; I'd go as far as saying I want the unexpected to occur. Life will do so anyway, we can't control it so completely, but I like knowing that the unexpected may occur. I find it keeps me active and engaged and I see it as life unfolding to reveal itself a little more each time. When the unexpected occurs, I react, and that takes me to new places in thought and deed...and that can lead to enhanced experiences and beautiful moments - and that's life itself.

P9100077 (1).JPG

I took this image

I've never thought of my life as having a big plan and can't imagine devising a strategy so far in advance. I have plans in place, naturally, but a big plan? No, not so much.

I see my life more of an adventure that unfolds before me, some I can shape and control and some I cannot, those unexpected things.

I know how to plan, to work towards goals and an ultimate solution or situation, but much of my life is fluid and open to change and I believe it's flexibility that keeps it interesting and me on the paths towards what it is I truly want from life. That's happiness, health, a deep physical and emotional relationship with my partner, the ability to slow enough to notice beauty around me, and within myself, to enjoy the planet and be kind to her; there's other things as well, sure, but that's the basics.

I love the surprises that come along with the unfolding of my adventure and embrace them and the change they often bring. Life is...it's colours, so many colours and they all seem to work together when they need to. All I need to do is be open to those colors, let them in and know how to paint them on my canvas.

Becca 💗

Sort:  

It's like that old cliche "Life is what happens, while you are making plans" You can make plans long term if you choose, but the path your life takes to get to that point is most always an unknown. Things may go as planned or something else could happen altogether.

I've never been good at making long term goals. Sometimes I have thought I had no idea how to make them. I am more of a live in the moment or short term visionist kind of person. I'm pretty good at the "necessaries" and am pretty responsible in the present. I laugh now and tell people I am living proof that you can still make it through life flying by the seat of your pants! ha ha

I did learn never to say never though. I have done plenty of things I thought I would never do. It all depends on getting caught up in a moment.

I once had a friend whose life made me see things differently. He had nearly no vision of future. That is not the best description of it, but each day was only that day. He worked when he was supposed too and looked to see how he would eat for the day and if anything fun came up, he was ready to participate. When he went to bed at night and that day had worked out fine, it was all good. Tomorrow... well ... tomorrow would be figured out tomorrow. Talk about living in the present !

My long-term plans tend to be savings and investments rather than who I want to be or where, at some stage in the future. That's not to say I'm at all like your friend with no future vision/plan/goal in aspects of my life; I don't plan minute by minute, and certainly don't look to the future at the expense of my present. I feel that I've got a good balance though and it works for me.

Thanks for your comment, hopefully whatever life brings you today is pleasant.

Becca 🌻

So much of this life is uncontrollable in nature, but I guess it is possible to influence parts of it and of course, change the way we think about our experiences. Much of it is difficult and challenging, where it is easier to wish for better times, but we are defined by the worst experiences and our reactions to them, rather than how we are in the good times. So many talk a big game when there is nothing at stake, but push come to shove, they collapse as the pressure mounts.

Life is easy - the way we deal with it is far from it.

It's a mindset thing, dealing, accepting or reacting to the good or bad in life. Both will come, good and bad, and both have value to us in one way or another.

Thanks for commenting, I really am grateful.

Becca 🌸

As I finished this blog, I realized that you are someone who loves to welcome what the life can bring to you whether it is expected or not. That's true enough. Sometimes, we just really need to wait what happens next than planning to do it at firsthand. Ultimately, just be prepared since our lives are full of surprises and uncertainties.

Have some !PIZZA

I approach life proactively, but also like to leave some things to chance as spontaneity can open up new doors and new ways to think.

Thanks for your comment, I really appreciate it.

Becca 🌷

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@dennnmarc(4/5) tipped @becca-mac (x1)

Join us in Discord!

Congratulations @becca-mac! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You published more than 60 posts.
Your next target is to reach 70 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Balls of Steel - HiveFest⁷ Petanque Tournament Results
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!