How Did I Cope Up With Procrastination?

in Self Improvementlast year (edited)

Believe it or not, I feel like I'm productive daily. Not because I succeeded in rewards or scores but because I became like that since I always submit my tasks successfully in a specific period. If you don't know me yet, I'm the type of individual who is determined to finish all my academic responsibilities and drafts in writing blogs. I don't particularly appreciate settling for less, but I love to pay attention to improve on my past mistakes.

How Did I Cope Up With Procrastination.jpg

"Growth is an endlessly interactive process. When we learn something new, we don't go from "wrong" to "right." Rather, we go from wrong to slightly less wrong."
~ Mark Manson (from his book The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fuck)

From this quotation above, I learned that a person's growth wasn't based on his countable victory and achievements in life. Aside from that, I realized again that:

"Improvement at anything is based on thousands of tiny failures, and the magnitude of your success is based on how many times you've failed at something."
~ Mark Manson (from his book The Subtle Art of Not Giving a Fuck)

Therefore, I concluded that a person's growth and improvement vary depending on how he learns from his mistakes. And one of the faults that I was practicing in some situations is cramming or what they called PROCRASTINATION. Doing that kind of practice will not only destroy your productivity, but it will also lead you to unpleasant failures.

As a clarification, it doesn't mean that mastering this technique could make you already perfect. Note that we go from wrong to slightly less wrong, and not "wrong" to "right". Back to the topic, how did I cope with procrastination?


Waking up an hour before going to grind

image.png

I have this habit of waking up from 7:00 AM to 8:00 AM to watch entertainment TikTok videos. If I already sense that my back can't get over the pain after laying for more than eight hours straight, that's the only sign I should do some stretching. It is a very lazy habit but an effective trick for me to start hustling.

Exercising

IMG_20220928_111103.jpg

In my everyday life, I have two ways of exercising. Firstly, I take my dog outside for his potty break after I do my basic hygienic routines. After that, I'll set up my Smartwatch, Laptop (sometimes I connect it to TV), and Cellphone to start dancing in Just Dance. Doing it is embarrassing when someone is looking at you, so I'm just doing it if no one is looking. I'm not excellent at imitating the steps of the coaches, but doing this kind of activity aids me in burning a range of 300-500 calories per day. I'm regularly dancing unless I have something to attend to or I'm busy with school activities. This dreadful task tired me, but I'm glad it embodied my energy for the day.

Pomodoro Technique

IMG_20220929_133943.jpg

My mistake before in handling my time is being too time bounded. Even though we want to be productive every second, it is inevitable to experience emergencies or distractions that will destroy our time-bound goal. If I felt I couldn't achieve my time-bounded goal, I would be demotivated to do my other pending tasks. In my upcoming blogs, I will try to specify this time management activity.

Making a list

IMG_20220929_141023.jpg

If we are friends on the internet, you already have an idea that I am a fan of making a to-do list. I mastered this kind of productivity start-up with the help of the Atomic Habits book by James Clear. Reading it is highly recommended because it is an eye-opener for those struggling to change their habits.

Resting

image.png

Remember that we are not born like robots to grind persistence without taking a break. We need to take care of ourselves and detox from stress. If you are done with your task and finishing it becomes a success, I'm confident you deserve a break.


Thank you for reading. Maybe you will see me in this community again in the upcoming days. My topic depends on my capability how to write it. Not an expert in this field, by the way.

Sort:  

Waking up early is good too vs sleeping late. I am guilty on the 2nd one as I try to complete some task ( night shift duties) but every time that I will be doing the reverse it seems that I can do more as 5:00 PM or 6:00 PM is still a good time.

About exercise, I have plans to enroll in a boxing gym in the near future. Saw one nearby and might as well hit some sand bags. A good way to release some tensions and stress in life while punching everything.

( Sana may video dun sa Justdance! )

Minsan mas gusto ko rin Kuya maging productive tuwing gabi, kaso hindi kaya ng other responsibilities na tuwing umaga ka lang gagawa. MAganda rin yung boxing hehe pero wala akong plan na magbuild ng muscles. I just prefer to be thin. Sa susunod kuya kapag amateur na ako hahahahha!