You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What to Write About on Hive ~ How to Generate Ideas for Posts

Great post and it's a good topic to cover, it's funny when thinking back to where some of my ideas for stories came from. I could be walking somewhere and think of a conversation, or situation, and then write the story around that particular idea.

Other times, right as I'm settling down to go to sleep I get a sudden rush of something, and can have a general idea for a story from start to finish, then I lay there filling in the gaps. Usually, I get my phone out and type a treatment for it, or if the idea isn't too detailed, a synopsis.

As you said, not every idea is good, I do keep everything though, even if it's bad, because there has been times I've canabilised old short film scripts I've written in the past that would never see the light of day. Something as simple as one line of dialogue can help to create a character, or idea for something new. Also, it's good to dive into some of the early stuff I wrote, it's painful to read, but can also be inspiring to compare the then and now.

I found as well, for Hive in particular, it's a good idea to look around the different communities, most of them hold a weekly or sometimes daily, competition or prompt.

The world building community is great with their daily prompts which has helped me write so many lore details which I might not have thought about. Then there's Zapfics in Freewriters, the Ink Well do weekly prompts too.

For people not into writing fiction, there's also Cine TV who do prompts for films, Three Tune Tuesday which asks people to share a couple of songs and tell everyone about them. Really, there are tons more communities who initiate the creative side of people and get the ball rolling, it's also good to branch out and see what's out there, but if someone wants to write a particular kind of content, there are plenty of places here ready to inspire.

!PIZZA

Sort:  

Other times, right as I'm settling down to go to sleep I get a sudden rush of something, and can have a general idea for a story from start to finish, then I lay there filling in the gaps. Usually, I get my phone out and type a treatment for it, or if the idea isn't too detailed, a synopsis.

Instant capture. That's good! Phone or notecard—the goal is get it down ASAP before forgetting.

I found as well, for Hive in particular, it's a good idea to look around the different communities, most of them hold a weekly or sometimes daily, competition or prompt.

Absolutely. The communities on Hive keep getting better and better. They can give a lot of inspiration.

For people not into writing fiction, there's also Cine TV who do prompts for films, Three Tune Tuesday which asks people to share a couple of songs and tell everyone about them. Really, there are tons more communities who initiate the creative side of people and get the ball rolling, it's also good to branch out and see what's out there, but if someone wants to write a particular kind of content, there are plenty of places here ready to inspire.

There's also Blockchain Poets ;) (which I run)