I INVESTED MY PAIN

in Self Improvement2 years ago (edited)

source

Hello Hivers, I have been pondering on something that recently happened to me, and I thought I will share it here because this might be what someone needs to summon the courage they need to go on in the midst of the hard times.
I write this post with a raw undiluted pain I felt when my mum sent me a text message in this manner and I quote;
"You don't even care about us, how you can be of help to us and your siblings. it's only about you. You are selfish and wicked and very sluggish and lazy if not you would have looked for something better to do. Even if it were to carry blocks, at least you will save the money for something better. How old did goodnews take from you, what did I tell you before you resumed school, you are not useful to the ministry, to the family, and even to yourself. What a shame, I'm so disappointed, I pity the wife that will marry you, you can see I can't sleep because of you."
Now before you get any emotions there, I still love my mum so much and my family too. I have read this message over and over again, and anytime I read it I get the exact feeling of how I felt the very first time my mum sent me that message. Now some persons might see emotional abuse if something like that was sent to You, you will be definitely justified for it.
This message was sent to a boy in college who was just learning how to fend for himself and suddenly because things aren't going well for his dad the boy automatically has to be a man and start feeding the family.

source

This message was sent to a boy who was never thought or trained about how to work for money all through high school and suddenly because of how things are in the family he now needs to be like his friend goodnews whose parents started teaching him how to make money at age 13.
When I saw this message, a question just erupted in me "Where does she want me to start" I felt like getting a gun to rob a bank, I was emotionally down.
But guess what again, I felt that message came at the right time and it was what I needed to hear. I was writing an article for a blog about pain, but I was having a block, I was already feeling sleepy out of the frustration of not getting it right, and I could remember laying on my bed already dozing off when I first read that message with sleepy eyes. Suddenly I wasn't feeling sleepy anymore. I can still remember it felt like being Hit with a time bomb.
Now am not trying to justify my mum's actions, or say it was right to put a boy through such an emotional dilemma. But look on the bright side and see what that pain and pressure did to me. It didn't just inspire me to write the article I wrote that day, It motivated me to prove her wrong by showing her I'm better than what she thought of me. The pressure and pain she caused me made me be more creative in balancing the scales. I, first of all, stopped asking for help from home even when they offered to help, imagine sending a child to college and suddenly he has to man up.

source

Yes I was in pain, and anytime I read that message I'm reminded of the pain, but that pain and pressure opened me up to all the possibilities l was capable of. Some might read this and decide to commit suicide, but I wasn't going to let that be me. I refused to let the pain break me.
In the journey of improving ourselves, (some might have not even started the journey) You might experience similar things don't let it break you, instead let it be a source of light. It's not easy I know, but those who are successful today would understand better, the pain is worth it.
There were times I felt like giving up on projects that changed my life, even times where I was becoming lazy, times where I didn't want to finish a course because I felt it was too boring in those times I looked back at the message my mum sent me and that pain and the pressure that came along with it made me continue in spite of all.
Improving oneself isn't easy I tell you, those who have been through the process all had a share of stories to tell, this is part of mine, am still improving myself and will always continue to as long as I live. And if perhaps you are reading this post and there is nothing to motivate you or no one around to tell you to keep pushing in developing yourself, and the only thing you can find is pain or any form of abuse, I would advise you to let it be an inspiration for you instead of letting it break you.
I will end by saying do not let anything stop you from improving and developing yourself, draw inspiration from everything and anything and never let what anyone says it doesn't matter who says it discourage you from developing your potential.

Sort:  

After reading what you wrote, I saw myself in some places... You are a very strong person, you chose to be patient and strong in life despite all the difficulties you went through. I hope everything will be fine for the future because you deserve the best of everything✨🌼🌸

I'm glad I was able to reach out to someone, and yes just as you have said every thing will be fine in future not just for me but for as many out there going through pain

Hello kilvnrex

Very well said man.Everybody goes through pain and pleasure. Pain teaches us what we are and who we are.We should not be broken in pain instead we should take a lesson from it.

Do you know how does a rocket move faster? It has pain in the form of fire🔥behind it and that's how it moves faster. It also suits for human being. Every sucessful must witness it.

Every sucessful person has two reason behind his sucess. First one is love and second one is pain caused by it.

I have become emotional reading you.😂😂

Your reply is making me even more emotional very well said bro. just thinking about the rocket is making me realize why we strive better in difficult times, the reason we have hope and faith that all will be well is all because of the unique pressure pain brings

I am really inspired with this post, again, giving is never an option 💕

I'm glad my post was able to inspire you again, thanks a lot