Human Nature | Thoughts & Emotions

in Self Improvement4 years ago (edited)
Authored by @Camille Forbush

IMG_20200929_110450.JPG

FACT

There are 3 things the human brain cannot resist noticing - food, attractive people and danger.

Have you ever questioned the psychology of sexuality?
Do you sometimes feel guilty by your thoughts?

Don't worry! You're not alone!


Humans are sexual creatures by design.

Here's a relevant article from Psychology Today:

https://www.psychologytoday.com/us/blog/evil-deeds/201405/the-psychology-sexuality

"Sexual thoughts are just emotions, and we should try to acknowledge all emotions. However, acknowledging all emotions doesn't necessarily mean that we have to act upon all emotions."

(NB: Sigmund Freud's Sexuality Theory is a great exploration idea)


My personal belief is that we all have control over our minds, and I also believe that we should not try to fight human nature. Instead, I believe the importance lies in an individual's personal values and principles.

Some personal principles of mine (which interconnect) that I abide by are:

  • morals
  • conscience
  • self control
  • integrity
  • empathy.

MORALS

Please do not for a second, get an image of someone with a self-righteous banner, as I'm no angel by any stretch of imagination, however, I have strong morals. I know what is acceptable for me to do in terms of what is wrong and what is right.
This quality helps to determine the direction of where your guilty thoughts might take you.

CONSCIENCE

I think a guilty conscience is like slow suicide. It eats at you! So my tendency is to watch my actions and make sure that I live "a no regrets life".
This quality helps to determine the direction of where your guilty thoughts might take you.

IMG_20200929_110522.JPG
When I look in the mirror, I'm comfortable with the reflection.


SELF CONTROL

As the word implies, no one can do this for you.
We all have desires, but we also have responsibilities.
Learning to exert self-control is apposite in all dimensions of human existence. We are wired to have desires of all nature, but I think having respect for self and other people allows one to apply self-control.
Again, this quality helps immensely, to determine the direction of where your guilty thoughts might take you.

So, DO RED LIGHTS SPELL DANGER?

IMG_20200929_110549.JPG

It Depends On The Approach!...


INTEGRITY

Doing the right thing even when no one is looking is the best way! Practice makes perfect and if we make conscious decisions to do the right things, then we can develop good habits which might become our default actions and reactions to situations that might arise.
This quality helps to determine the direction of where your guilty thoughts might take you.

Lastly,

EMPATHY

Practicing mindfulness requires empathy. The ability to take the perspective of and feel the emotions of another person.
Always think, if the tables were turned, how would you feel?
I smile as I write this, because experience has taught me that the tables always turn...[still smiling]
There's no doubt that this quality helps to determine the direction of where your guilty thoughts might take you.

Feast your eyes and glut your soul - Erik, Phantom of the Opera

NOT ALL EMOTIONS NEED TO BE ACTED UPON

_4280725_ORIG RAW_edited 2_this one.jpg
I've faced my truth!

I'll forever nurture my naughty nature, and I'll also forever, introspectively keep my personal values in check, and make sure that they remain true as I continue to experience personal and spiritual growth.

Have a great day peeps!

I truly appreciate you taking the time to read my thoughts as I think aloud.

So long, till my next blog!


#colorchallenge #red

Sort:  

Curated for #naturalmedicine by @drrune.

A nice statement of principles! There's no greater freedom than the one we give ourselves when we accept who we are and what we love. Blessings!

We encourage content about health & wellness - body, mind, soul and earth. We are an inclusive community with two basic rules: Proof of Heart (kindness prevails) & Proof of Brain (original content). Read more here.

Our website also rewards with its own Lotus token & we'd love you to join our community in Discord. Delegate to @naturalmedicine & be supported with upvotes, reblog, tips, writing inspiration challenges for a chance to win HIVE and more. Click here to join the #naturalmedicine curation trail!

We also encourage you to follow our sister accounts, @lotusshares and @uplotus for announcements and rebogs.

Thank you 😍 I really appreciate all the support!

I totally agree (I just noticed that line of comment😉), freedom indeed. Total acceptance of self is so liberating.
Blessing to you too🙏

and you are very naughty 😉

I'll do anything for you!😘

Boy that is nicely said. Very powerful.

I don't have to know what's coming next week, I just have to do the next right thing. I do have a moral compass and (mostly) follow it. I know right from wrong and know where I want to be when the question comes up.

If I'm comfortable with the reflection in my mirror then I'm doing just fine.

Haha! Thank you!!
You're so funny!
Yes, I strongly think that being on the straight and narrow path by making the right decisions is the best guarantee for a happy and peaceful life 😉

Manually curated by brumest from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much for the support! Appreciated 😊

food, attractive people and danger.

Three of my favourite things Milly. Well, two, and one that is ok in small doses.

Congratulations @millycf1976! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 4000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Introducing the Power Up Helper!
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!