Speaker on Campus Journalism Workshop

I worked as a junior writer at a university. We are in charge of the marketing and branding for the university. We do the PR. We make the university known to the world thereby inviting students to enrol in the university.

We have more work than that. But today I'll focus on the aspect where we were tasked to speak in an orientation seminar. Our office has quite the same job as the campus journalists. Since our director is also the adviser of the campus paper, it's easy to tap us to speak for the aspiring new writers for the Campus Paper.

We are a team composed of writers, layout artists, web designers, creative editors and video editors. Our director finds it fitting to task us to speak before the new writers. Hence, the activity today.

Each of us is tasked to speak on the aspects we specialized in. At the office, I write scripts, storylines, and messages for the President so I was assigned to speak about Feature Writing. It's a comfortable topic for me because, since elementary, I have been exposed to it. I used to compete in the district and the regional competition in journalism back then.

Before, we started on the workshop proper. We first tested the waters. I was assigned to do that. By testing the waters, I mean we assess and measure their writing skill. I used a cup of coffee as a subject. I asked them to develop something out of the subject.

IMG_20220921_092102.jpg
Aspiring Writers during the Testing of the Waters

The artist was given another topic. They are tasked to draw why would students enrol in the university. After testing the waters. They are given an overview of how the day would go. We also introduced ourselves. While the old members of the campus paper served as hosts and secretariat of the seminar.

As I said, I gave my little share of input regarding Feature Writing. I was nervous at first which is so unnecessary as there are only a few students. It's like I'm not used to it. I have taught before but I was never nervous. Maybe it was just because of the presence of my fellow workmates.

All in all, the event went well. We have assessed the students and we have lists of participants who have made it. They are the new addition to the campus paper.

It felt surreal to note my experience. I started as an occasional writer myself in elementary -only writing when there is an approaching competition. The same thing happened in high school. I'm glad that in college, I was able to experience more. Though I wasn't active in the school publication, I was able to contribute some of my writing.

Never in my life did I imagine that I will be writing for a university. Writing scripts for promotional videos, and drafting messages for the Presidents. The job is daunting. I even thought of giving up when I was still starting. Now I'm here. I'm glad I pursued and pressed on. It feels surreal to be able to see this photo.

received_796257548226205.jpeg

This one is captured by my colleague. It's been a long journey for me. It may be small. I may have a small audience but it feels surreal to stand and speak in front of new aspiring writers.

Thanks for reading. Until then.

*The photos are mine.

Sort:  

I suddenly remember yung club about sa aspiring script writer haha. It caught my attention, but di kasi me magaling don hahhaa

You should have tried. We will never know what experiences you will gain.

Congratulations @murakaamiiii! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 2250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 2500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveFest⁷ Meetings Contest

Thanks

You're welcome @murakaamiiii! Have a nice day 😊👍

I remembered my schooldays as part of a journalizing team. I'm in charge of the preparation for the editorial page!😅 It's a nice experience and makes it as your training ground.

Wow. That's good to hear. Wonderful memories indeed.

Journalism has a lot to offer talaga. When I'm still studying, we attended a lot of seminars conducted by the club in our school before. Just like that we were tasked to come up with something out of one thing.
I'm really interested to their entries on that cup of coffee..

Their entries were excellent. Well, at least most of them submitted good outputs.

It's good to know that they submitted good entries for that coffee😊.

That looks interesting tho you might have forced me in order to speak in that huge crowd. Madami na ang more than 2 😅 pero mukhang interesting yung work mo

Interesting nga and enjoyable din