What's the rush?

in Self Improvement4 years ago

The one trait we have common across all individuals and societies is to respect a deadline. We have made it a societal norm to value time and hence respect the set timelines. The norm has been carried out for generations and may hold its truth, hopefully, in the future as well. While it is right to value time, we have also developed a new character to rush into things as a proxy to respecting the timelines we set for ourselves.

IMG_20200114_151317.jpg

I want to think that I am an organized individual. I try to complete things on time and manage my life according to the societal norm we have. In the past, I have used every tool disposable online to make time management as efficient as it could be. I was like a maniac when it comes to putting information on the calendar. At one point, I was so strict to myself that I used to time my entire day and follow that through. Don’t judge me, but I had to do that to make sure I pass three extra courses I took during my undergraduate studies.

There is nothing wrong in being efficient if that helps you become productive and successful. What possibly can go wrong with it? I thought the same way until I realized that I was being overly critical to myself. By being too organized on everything I did, I lost my natural instinct. While chasing the societal norm to respect the timeline, I almost lost the basic natural instinct to flow.
As I moved into my adulthood and perceived things differently, I realized that being organized is good but it is much better to live your life recognizing and respecting time - while not chained by it. Extreme time management and organization may take away the fun part of it - the natural instinct.

Things are bound to happen- does not matter how hard you try to not let that happen. In the risk of being a fatalist- I recognize that there are things that are not in your control and will happen irrespective of your effort to not let that happen. If that’s the case, then why fight? Why don’t we make peace with ourselves and oblige in taking a new approach.
Let’s not rush. Let things flow naturally and channel your energy towards the things that matter. Like - learning new skills, figuring out what we want to do and how we want to do. Time is essential but not to the point where you are making that a top priority. If things are meant to happen, then they will happen.

What’s the rush?

Sort:  

Hi, I just stumbled across your blog. I can see that you are doing well here on Hive. You should try our Upvote service, we have just opened up for registration. Take a look at our lates post. We need more members. 😉

I think a balance needs to be found...One can't schedule every single thing in life as it can feel too stringent, too limiting. But to be too laid-back, simply float through life without any structure at all, is a little limiting also Balance needs to be found.

If things are meant to happen, then they will happen.

This is true, however if we would like something happen a little differently exerting a little effort in that direction could be advantageous, rather than just accepting a state of being.

Take someone living in poverty...They could have the if things are meant to happen they will ethos and accept their situation or they could work a little more proactively towards a better reality.

It's all choice though I guess and because we're all different we will take different decisions and achieve different outcomes. I find that actively working towards something improves my attitude and on e's attitude affects pretty much everything in life.

Agreed.

We need to have structure around our goal and in the ways we engage to achieve that goal. Having a structure to support that goal is necessary. But, as i said before, the structure to achieve a certain goal should not limit or tighten yourself.We should not think that the structure is primary. The focus should be on the goal we created. No rushing into things, no tightening and no worrying on every deadlines we created for ourselves.

the structure to achieve a certain goal should not limit or tighten yourself.We should not think that the structure is primary. The focus should be on the goal we created

I guess it depends on how important the goal is. Sometimes goals require single focus and a lot of effort.

Yes, the focus should be on the goal, although I tend to focus more on the plan to attain the goal...Thinking about something won't make it happen, action will.

Congratulations @rmsadkri! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 4750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz supports the Austrian Community Meetup