WE ALL NEED TO KNOW WHEN TO QUIT

in Self Improvement2 years ago (edited)

[GetPaidStock.com]-624ceffa5ef4f.jpg

“Knowing when to leave is so important. The job. The party. The relationship…” (unknown).

Recently, I made a strong decision towards my career improvement, achieving my laid down goals, and relieving myself from unworthy mental and physical stress which made me have to quit and resign from my full-time job as a robotics engineer and full-stack software developer here in Nigeria.

According to indeed career advice and career development post which can be accessed via this link, the following are signs that show that it's time to quit or resign from a particular job or work. And if you notice you are been affected with this points their is a high need to check and evaluate yourself, which are:

  1. You are underusing your skills.
  2. You are not following your passion.
  3. The work environment is unhealthy.
  4. There are no opportunities for growth.
  5. The company's future is in question.
  6. Your ethics are being compromised.
  7. You are grossly under-compensated.
  8. Your values are not aligned with those of the organization.
  9. You are no longer able to fulfill your job responsibilities.
  10. There are substantially better opportunities available at another organization.
  11. You need more work-life balance.
  12. You dread going to work.
  13. You can’t picture yourself there long term.
  14. You wouldn’t want your friends to work there.
  15. Everything feels overwhelming.

From the points listed above, most of it and if not all occurs to be happening to me at the company I resigned from.

While I was with the company, I had to go to work from 8:00am to 5:00pm for 6 days in a week, that is Monday - Saturday which made it very time demanding and made me not to have time for my personal growth and development, personal projects, visiting of friends and family, events, move freely around and other engagement. With which the pay does not in anyway compensate the value of work been delivered.

[GetPaidStock.com]-624cf1f796c01.jpg

Moving forward, I currently work remotely from home as I was still able to secure some remote gigs and I believe that more opportunities would come my way as I have the required skills which is highly in demand to secure more and better job opportunities preferrable remote as time goes by and also greatly improve my skill set in the main time.

Out of this tight time, I would still ensure I create time for engagements on the Hive Blockchain Platform and now that I have resigned I kinda have more time to myself which includes more time to be more active on hive.

This actually happens to be my first post in this community. While I was thinking of which community best suit this post, fortunately, I came across a post whose objective is quite similar to this made by @jane1289 which can be accessed via this link where @crosheille commented does:

I would like to introduce you to the Self Improvement Community. This post would fit so well there and encourage those looking for inspiration ;)
The OCD Community is for general post topics that do not fit in any of the other communities.
Keep Smiling ~ 😉

So this was actually how I got to know about this awesome community and I believe it is very essential to post in the right community as @crosheille would always advice.

Thanks for reading 🤝. Finding this post interesting or beneficial, kindly help or support it by reblogging, upvoting, or commenting, it would be highly appreciated.

Images used in this post were all gotten from shutterstock.

Sort:  

Hi @techlhab,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Thanks for this advice ..i might as well take these into account 😁

Alright, you are always welcome @jane1289. Thanks for commenting 🤝.

Very well, I understand the fact that we ought to know when to quit. Its just like in life issues too, we should know when to pause, stop and reaccess the situation at hand. By the way, @techlhab I want to learn robotics too o, howcan you help your boy?

You are underusing your skills.
You are not following your passion.
The work environment is unhealthy.
There are no opportunities for growth.
The company's future is in question.
Your ethics are being compromised.
You are grossly under-compensated.
Your values are not aligned with those of the organization.
You are no longer able to fulfill your job responsibilities.
There are substantially better opportunities available at another organization.
You need more work-life balance.
You dread going to work.
You can’t picture yourself there long term.
You wouldn’t want your friends to work there.
Everything feels overwhelming.

I think I'm In to such situation like right now, I was about to quit from where I worked before because I can find my self in most of these options, but I had to give myself more time to check if I'll see any difference, but I'm not sure I'm seeing any, so I believe this post is an encouragement that something better is out there that can fill up my vacuum...

I find this post really helpful man...

I just signed up today and happened to bump into this post. You are right my dear. It is okay to quit at times. If your job is not making you feel happy, then it's not even worthwhile at all. I pray God will see you through in everything.