A Hot Cup of Coffee and Simple Things that Bring Joy as an Adult.

Adulting is hard. Once you realize that you are on your own and the support from your parents is dwindling, more often than not, you find yourself stressed out and do not know what to do. Come on! Hot coffee can make things better! What can this guy fix right? Hyperacidity and palpitation: who cares about that anyway? We have a lot of stuff on our plate lately, and something as serene as coffee time can bring joy to our tiring day.

taylor-heery-GiTCeEq0pwY-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Taylor Heery on Unsplash

On a page of the podcast that I have followed for more than 8 years Machong Chismisan they asked what are the simple things that bring you joy as an adult I just answered a clean and good smelling comfort room. But upon checking and reviewing the post, it made me reflect that there are things that we always took for granted before, but now we enjoy getting. Or, perhaps our expectations in life become more and more simple as we age.

kenny-eliason-maJDOJSmMoo-unsplash.jpgPhoto by Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

A Paycheck.

As I write this blog post, it is already the 29th of the month. Some people are expecting their salary to be received, and I am one of those folks who is looking forward to the end of this month. The only thing that I would like to have right now is a paycheck and nothing else. It is a relief since the majority of my bills for water, electricity, and rent are also due on the last day of the month. The reason why I am looking forward to getting my pay is that I can use it for other things like food, transportation, and other expenses that I have to take care of. For example, if I don’t receive my monthly salary on time, then this will affect my mental health and stress levels since I need money to live in this world. ( Shocks habang sinusulat ko to para naman akong nagmumukhang mukhang pera pero okay lang yan na judge ko na ang sarili ko kaya di mo na kailangan gawin yan sa akin. )

marcos-ramirez-jG3R-DGO238-unsplash.jpg
Photo by Marcos Ramírez on Unsplash

New items in the household.

There's an achievement in having a new item to be used in the house. I mean, who wouldn't love to have a new sponge when you are washing your dishes? How about a new pair of underwear to replace your bacon-ish undies that you have been wearing for more than a year or five years, perhaps? Maybe a new toothbrush. I don't know, but you see, anything new brings out simple joys. I remember going to the supermarket recently where I bought a facial scrub. Technically, I used facial scrub when I was single but have become less and less conscious of how I look, so skin care stuff isn't that much of a priority anymore. But when I bought and used it, those menthol feels that I enjoyed during my "me" time were precious. I told April that maybe we should pay a visit to a facial shop one of these days as we usually go there before having a facial and diamond peel if we have spare cash. But as you know, we do not have such leisure. Milk and diapers are the priorities, plus the monthly bills and food costs. Maybe if someone would sponsor our date, that would be lovely!


conscious-design-3D43SBDDkAc-unsplash.jpgPhoto by Conscious Design on Unsplash

Cooking a Good Meal

Cooking has become a forced hobby of mine, as I am the picky eater in the household. But lately, I haven't cooked much because we are on a budget. That makes me sad because when I cook for my family, it's like celebrating with them, even if the meal is simple. Also, given that the options are quite limited nowadays due to Dyn-Dyn's allergies to poultry products, we ended up eating the same routine food during weekdays. I can only cook at weekends as I have time to prepare and go to the market.

benjamin-davies-9b5dvrjb05g-unsplash.jpgPhoto by Benjamin Davies on Unsplash

Alone time.

We all need some time to be alone, to be with ourselves and our thoughts. I think it's very important to have regular "me" time, even if it's just 15-20 minutes of meditation or reading your favorite book in bed after your kids have gone to sleep. ( If you have one). This can help you reflect on some stuff, talk over some of the ideas that you have in mind, etc. Or maybe just a rest from everything you do.

There's a ton of stuff that comes into my mind, simple things that give joy as an adult. But how about you, right now what brings you joy?

Sort:  

I very much like my alone time din, TP! Kailangan kong tumulala or magmunimuni for a couple of minutes without any distractions otherwise, mas nagiging restless ako.

Ohhh I have that daily moments Arc! Like I wake up 7:15 pero tutulala muna hanggang 7:30 and not speaking just stare. I need that too in processing myself on what will be my mood. If incase that it got interrupted most of the time cranky ako.

As we age, all our priority changes. I am amazed at how you handle life stuff with ease. Natawa ako sa mukang pera @tpkidkai . hahaha but we all need money at di naten maitatanggi yun kailangan tlaga yun sa buhay! ahaha

Our god is the source of our wealth, so let's continue to acknowledge His ways in our life. Thanks for sharing this @tpkidkai

It looks like it is in an easy mode but to be honest, it isn't hahah. More on the reklamador side ako lagi.

Agree with God being the source of everything. Thanks for the reminder Eli.

Malinis na bahay and of course paycheck! Kung pwede lang maraming pera always, dba
Alone time def you need one TP! Can’t imagine the stress level of having a family and raising a kid, but we all have our stressors and sometimes we just need to be with ourselves, yung free from all the things and thoughts

Being alone with a cup of coffee plus some boiled cassava is what brings me joy now po huhu. It feels like everytime the months is ending I can feel the heavy stone on my shoulder.
And speaking of those bills, I'm hoping too that I can earn some by the end of the month.😅.
Cooking some foods brings joy to me also especially if it's for snacks or viand. Nawawala pagkastress ko and those tangled thoughts in my mind while chopping, slicing, pounding, tasting and so on.

Legit, ang struggles at nakakastress lalo na pagkapadating na ang mga bills. Kahit onting time lang nababuy time ng kape para makawala sa mga ganung isipin malaking bagay na din,. Tama! who cares kung magkakahyper acidity ka ang mahalaga mas gumaan yung pakiramdam.