Ancestral Pain - Singing Songs Of Old

It's been a week since I put my back out. A week of spending most of my time resting in bed and right now I am beginning to get impatient. On the one hand, I really appreciate the opportunity too rest. Sleep has not come so easy, as I need to change my position regularly, so I have been focusing more on just being.

BgxWBRxjvNho1d5owNvLc9kLkZETgqoQLu9zcBbNBbDDEp9W4DbuZJuhrUjm9PUjkX9dxN5UeRHX5j4h5TxgYv8SFUZr9eSjBiRRqD9xJ9FuMdbLvdP6c4BKNbtVRAyzr6crrLPjqwGwtZAq8A8kwqjDSw38fNskx5YttFHJneg85rv.webp

Society really encourages us to focus more on doing, than being, so when Life knocks you off your feet, it's important to grap that opportunity and flip things around.

I've had some friends come to visit me, bringing me cooked food and fresh fruit and veg. I've shared with them, the healing session I had last week and how I have been connecting some dots, which have played a huge part in leading me to where I am now.

Three years ago, when I was experiencing some heavy physical symptoms, that left me exhausted. I went to see a naturopath, who told me that there was a lot of ancestral trauma, attached to me. I was intrigued to learn more, but it never happened.

Then, a few days ago a friend visited me, she told me that when one if her friends first met me, she felt a lot of heavy ancestral around me, that was connected to the famine. For some reason she never told me at the time.

Then yesterday another friend came to visit me she had offered to look at my birth fhart to see of there was anything there, that could also be contributing to my back issues. When she arrived, she told me that she would like to offer me so ancestral healing session, as she saw a lot of trauma there, that is connected with me.

This will happen in a few days.

I have been thinking, about what I could do, to help shift some of that energy. Setting that would also soften me.

I love to sing and recently when I was in Ireland, I sang some Irish songs and I felt a huge connection to the words I was singing. I felt as though my voice was coming from a much deeper part of myself.

IMG_20230410_170836_433.jpg

This is a part of my heritage as well. Some of the songs my ancestors would have heard or even sang.

So many of the old songs, speak of death and suffering. Of losing the ones we love or indeed the country we love.

These last few days, I have felt a strong desire to reconnect with and sing some of them. To tap into that ancestral pain that we all carry within.

So today as I lay on my bed, I took a pencil and notebook and began to write down the lyrics of a couple of songs that I would like to learn and sing. When we sing, we are opening ourselves up. Whilst tapping into our creative power.

One of them is called "I am stretched over your Grave". It is a favourite of mine. It is about the pain of losing someone you love. The lyrics are so rich to me and I really resonate with them.

For I smell of the Earth and I'm worn by the weather.

Usually when I sing, I like to sing songs that spread a positive message. But now, now I feel the call to sing the songs of my ancestors so that I can help to release some of their suffering. Suffering that so many of us carry with us.

4bEjbgCbFMvAGbwxD9CJfJUznpDy21P1gb5kciUwoKrnYbGbNVgJCYqgbJ9zC7NMqywPCP5pmJ7Z9vxwKSXoEY3LVe7cLMcTXvX8VcJhK2rCRHek5hdeGmp131U8ngRJroPgAbFG2qA1fExE8PdkxP43986jZQUkhu5G47urW8M8KeXkQe.png

54TLbcUcnRm3sWQK3HKkuAMedF1JSX7yKgEqYjnyTKPwrcX4JSV3cTPgexLgxZfFPkpqdm5FDQnjZqeewD5m9ajhHWHgMe8zQfUBt14j3Z7j9jKq4CWk9tK6RWfDG5Fr2zkn5Kn3p.png

Sort:  

Perhaps singing these tunes would be a continuation, or is somehow related, to letting your anger loose as you did not long ago? Sorry about your back being out again. I know how difficult that must be for you.

I really feel a calling to reconnect with my roots through music and song. I feel like I touch on deeper depths when I sing them xxxxx

I find ancestral trauma fascinating. It's a lot about how parents raised their kids who raised their kids etc with trauma - you can't go through something so full on without giving some of that to your kids. Jewish descendants are particularly known for it. But it's also epigenetics too - did you know that the grandchildren of people who suffered through the Irish famine were far more likely to have diabetes? It seems to skip a generation. Mind blown.

I'm sure this is going to be an incredible revealing session for you and I can't wait to hear how it went.

Yeah, it really is fascinating. Ireland has a lot of ancestral trauma, and yet that is what feels the creativity that is so alive there.
I have the session tomorrow xxxxx

I hope singing this tunes and trying to connect with that creative power finds a way to heal you and also be revealing for you. I'm sorry you've been indisposed and I hope this provides a means for you to get better. Would love to hear all about your experience, friend.🤗

Thank you @jhymi xxxx

🤗🤗🤗

I, too, reckon there might be some connection between singing and freeing your feelings. I sing a lot when I get down, but also when I'm really happy, so maybe there's a strong emotion (even anger?) that's trying to come out there.
I hope your healing session does just that, and I hope you find the strength and openness to confront whatever it is in your past (or your ancestral history) that's keeping you tied in place. Again, sorry to hear about your back (I can't imagine how inconvenient that must be, particularly for someone as active as yourself!), and I hope you feel better very soon!

Thank you beautiful. I really am.learning a lot about surrendering right now. I do see this as a wonderful opportunity in which I get to really go deep xxxxxx

Hey there Truck, take it easy and rest as much as you can. Sending you healing wishes across the blockchain.

Ah thank you @julescape I hope all is well with you xxxx