What Does Poetry Mean To You?

in Self Improvementlast year (edited)

I came upon this question on the wonderful @warpedpoetic's blog, after he wrote a post responding to it, a couple of weeks ago. What he wrote, really resonated with me. At the end of the post, he put the question to his readers and I wanted to respond, because poetry has played such a huge part in my life.

It has been a life line for me, a way in which I can make sense of the world. I began writing when I was a teenager, when very little, made any sense. I was confused and hurt. Awash with so many emotions and with no one to talk to. I didn't feel safe within my own home, so I kept quiet. I even went through a period of not speaking to my parents, whenever I was at home.

This coincided with me going on sleepovers for the first time. Getting to see my friends families and the relationships they had with their parents. I then began to compare them, to mine. Of course I already knew violence was not good, it was more about the realization I had, of what I was actually missing out on. I felt so hurt and angry then.

I guess I wanted to punish my parents some how, especially my father, so I stopped talking to them both. That is when I started to write poetry. Which allowed me to share my truth, to express my pain and try to understand, why my life was the way it was.

The poetry of my teenage years was quite dark, which really is a reflection of how I was feeling. I tried self harming, but words were more powerful for me. They gave me the release I needed and the opportunity to express how I was feeling. I really don't know where I would be today, if I hadn't started writing when I did.

So, in a way poetry really saved me, as I explored some very dark places.

A poem from my early teenage years


Afraid to close my eyes,
I search for comfort in the dark,
but lead to an open door,
the fears which play inside my head,
the creeping senses,
which burn my mind,
Do I dare believe,
that all is as it should be,
or do the questions which I pose
request a truth,
a truth that only brings the sun to burn and die,
awake, a shadow dances within my mind,
confused for what it holds,
I seem to reach a peace.
But time, the only keeper,
which is held by none,
I lose the thought
and die within my sleep.

Poetry also opened the door to my creative expression. Sometimes when I write, I feel like I am tapping into a well of wisdom that surrounds us. The words just flow and I am the vessel that gets to share it.

My poetry now, whilst it continues to heal me, it also allows me to share my truth, to hopefully inspire others and plant some seeds. I really believe that we should use our voices to spread truth and awareness. To promote self empowerment and healing.

Poetry is what really helped to take me from the darkness of my youth, into the light that I now surround myself with, the light that I bring into the world.

I can see how much it has changed, yes I still write about the challenges I am faced with, but I always end each poem on a positive note, with a reminder that we are creators, creating our own world.

Poetry has been and continues to be a powerful tool for me, in the beginning it was only for me, but now I like to see it as a gift, a gift that I get to share with those who wish to read it and hear it. And moving into the realm of spoken world, has empowered me and awakened an even deeper desire in me, to inspire others to speak up.

I leave you with a poem I wrote and shared a few months back, called, Roar Away The Darkness, which I think ends my response of what poetry means to me, rather nicely. I also invite you to write a response if it calls to you. With a little call out to @tezmel, @riverflows, @joseitosanchezs, @driptorchpress, @owasco and @tarazkp

Drifting, into
years of silence
the oxygen leaves my lungs
and I plunge into the entrance of this illusion,
let it all crash down around me,
each piece gathering up speed,
as my head seeks the forest within,
the green foliage that runs through my veins.
I am in disarray,
seeking retribution for the waves of discomfort
that held me back.
I open the doors to this world,
the words begin to spin,
as I create,
spells that weave their way into the darkest of corners
illuminating the need for understanding,
breaking our pain into fragments,
dissecting our fear
of all that went before,
these fragile minds,
that now taunt our progress.
With each breath,
each step,
leading us to the core of our strength,
to ignite the beauty
that we hold so dear,
Let is all sail away
as we gather the power to unite,
each distance,
no longer a fight,
We gather,
to roar away the darkness and breathe in each new day,
embracing our courage, to break away
in order to reconnect.
I release the shame,
that tied me to these chains,
that dragged my sense of self into the shadows,
I let myself drift away,
allowing these gentle waves of recognition
to carry me, to my freedom.

Sort:  

🥰 I am glad my words reached you in your little cherished corner of this earth. Poetry remains everything and I'm happy poetry is saving you and it is saving me everyday. 🖤

Thank you @warpedpoetic, you inspire me a lot. Love to you my friend xxxx

I'm glad that I can be that person. 🖤🤗

I feel very similar. This is an excellent prompt, I'll have to think about it and maybe post something later when I get a chance. Thanks for the tag 😊

Yes please do and tag me when you post as I would love to read it. Thank you @driptorchpress xxx

Really powerful to read your words. I enjoy it a lot.. in my case,I’ve always been more on the side of drawing than writing, but I love reading the transmission of feelings through poetry.

Thanks so much @llunasoul, drawing is such a powerful form of expression xxxx

I'll admit I was sorta miles away while going through this post. Then, halfway across, it was like "yo, pay attention, this woman's answering the very questions that aren't letting you concentrate". My question was how do you heal?. Thankfully, I reread the post. This truly is wonderful, and so moving. And obviously not knowing who you were then, but seeing a fragment of how and who you are now, I'm so glad you didn't go down the dark road <3 Beautiful words.

Hey @honeydue, how are you? where are you?
Thank you for your wonderful feedback xxxxx

Hey! I'm great, two months gone now, and it's both speeding past, and feels like I've been here years. So weird, but also every day is just... I keep thinking back on all that's happened in recent years, and sometimes can't believe there are places of such beauty, and moments so happy. Still in Prague for just under a month now. But then Spain, and so hoping I get to say hi while there :) Maybe we can connect somewhere like Discord or something?

Yes Discord, trucklife-family #1742. we can chat there xxxx

Powerful words from a teenager. or even from an adult.

And how wonderful you found it, to use your voice.

It's really sad your parents missed out on how wonderful you are. :(

And yes... I relate to this deeply. There's something about writing poetry that makes the things that seem impossible to express, easier to say... and then release somehow ❤️

Oh I would love for you to write a post if you feel like it. Thank you for your beautiful words xxxx

I would love to! But am not sure of which topic.

If it's the family trauma (and resultant abuse 😔 ) it's in the making...

I think this is very important for people to understand how this might work now.

Or is it the poetry? :)

I think you may be the one who is more eloquent in this regard! ❤️

I just saw the prompt and now everything makes more sense.

Apologies. Been bordering on homeless for the next bit (that's me being dramatic but plans changed abruptly) after someone changed direction randomly.

I was going to suggest you start online conscious dance classes to share the technique with people. Live. You could use Twitch. I'd be happy to set the tech up for you if you like :)

I know the kids would love it!

I released a video on it in 2019 (I think) and got so many PM "thank you's" and a "please don't stop".

Kinda broke my heart at how many of them are silently struggling.

@trucklife-family

ah thank you, I don't really feel I have the skill yet to do that, as I have just began experiencing it myself, but thank you so much for the offer xxxxxx

Well let's see what happens next :)

Life has a wonderful way of opening up new possibilities at unexpected times!

Also... just so you know.

It wasn't you fault and there's nothing "wrong" with you.

And if you know this already then awesome.

But in case you forget I'll keep reminding you ❤️

The way you bleed on my inner teen's behalf is astounding... This mention has dragged me back from the dead and responding to this call can only mean you have awakened me from a week's slumber!

You are power. Continue speaking and living your truth... I love your bold self so much 💚

Love you my beautiful friend. Thank you for being you xxxxxx

Aww, your teenage years may have been filled with sorrows and despairs, but through poetry you have been able to express your creative and reflective self. Perhaps there is a power in writing. I firmly believe that writing heals and poetry is one of the best pieces.

I commend you for such excellent writing and poetic piece, dear friend @trucklife-family. Have a nice time and keep safe always.

Thank you @pinkchic, yes writing brings me so much healing xxxx