My Thoughts about The Babysitter: Killer Queen (2020)

in Movies & TV Shows4 years ago

https://screenrant.com/babysitter-killer-queen-movie-every-reference-original-movie/

First of all, I didn´t know this film was supposed to be a sequel, I didn´t read the synopsis so I expected to be lost but to my surprise, this didn´t happen because the film leaves you a short summary so you don´t have to watch the first part if you don´t want to. I was expecting a cliche of the slasher genre from horror movies, I mean, your classic teenagers group that goes to a weird place and there is a killer that want their blood. I´m not saying it like it´s something bad, I love the horror gente and all of its cliche in the genre so I felt surprised that this film wasn´t like that, in the end, it turned to be a comedy, a really stupid comedy.

Screenshot taken by me while watching the film

Do you know that feeling when you watch or play something bad but you enjoyed it? Like you weren´t supposed to like it but in the end, you had a smile while doing it? That´s how I feel right now. Not saying this film is bad, it´s a comedy that doesn´t take itself seriously and I feel that is its strong point, sometimes you only want to watch a movie that doesn´t let you think too much, just chilling for a while and this film is perfect for what I´m saying, it´s a perfect film to disconnect your brain and enjoy what you are watching.

Screenshot taken by me while watching the film

The story of The Babysitter: Killer Queen follows to Cole, a teenager that had a bad experience while being a kid, experience that you can watch in the first part which names The Babysitter. The thing is, Cole is having a rough time because no one believes him, they say he´s crazy and stuff, in the end, he´s dealing with this while he goes to psychiatric institutions. With this said, Cole is a bullied person on high school, no one respect him but a girl called Melanie. Long-short story, they go to a place they shouldn´t and then, weird things happens.

Screenshot taken by me while watching the film

As I said before, I was expecting your classic horror cliche thing and while it´s a cliche thing, it amazed me the whole film doesn´t ever take seriously itself, there are a lot of jokes that actually makes you laugh, the film is filled with a lot of references of the popular culture too. The whole film taughs at itself whenever it falls on a cliche and it´s kind of refreshing to see that. I won´t say something like the characters have a lot of charisma but they are a lot of fun, they don´t even take seriously themselves.

Screenshot taken by me while watching the film

There is an interesting point on the film, its special effects. Look, I´m not a demanding person when we are talking about things like CGI and that stuff, but even for someone like me, the CGI felt awful and I want to think this ws made purposely in order to making look this film even more like a comedy but I really don´t think so. Although I have to mention, sometimes they managed to show awesome things, but that wasn´t all the time.

Screenshot taken by me while watching the film

This film also contains a lot of gore so I don´t recommend you watching it if you are sensitive to it since it´s explicit sometimes. I like gore in horror films so it wasn´t a problem to me, I think if a film like this doesn´t have its dose of gore, what´s its purpose?

I have no more to say about it. Simply that this film surprised me, in my opinion it has a very good humor that does not take itself seriously. The film, despite only being a comedy, manages to be interesting from start to finish, containing a good dose of gore, with a terrible CGI, so it can be assumed that it did not have too much budget. Still, bad things mysteriously make this movie shine.

Screenshot taken by me while watching the film

Well, this is all what I think about this film, I really had a good time watching it. Thank you for reading until the end, see you next time!

https://via-news.es/the-babysitter-killer-queen-mcg-2020/

Sort:  

ok, i'll check it out. I tried watching it once but didn't really give it a fair shake and wasn't actually paying full attention. After reading what you wrote I think maybe I should have given it more of a chance.

I'll head back in and load it back up! :)

I´m glad you´ll give it a try, I hope you can have a good time doing that. : )