We went to the movie theater together for the first time

in Movies & TV Shows3 years ago

3AE7CE02-6BE9-4CBA-A11F-4FAEE5C12BF8.jpeg

Saturday movie date

@flowerbaby and I recently made plans to go see a movie together. She sent me the trailer to Chaos Walking and we both thought it looked really good.

Last night we took a 3 minute walk to our closest movie theater and went to the 6:45pm showing.

Although we have watched countless movies together as a couple, we have never actually been to the movie theater together. We started dating just before everything got weird for businesses thanks to the big sca... I mean COVID. For awhile it was literally impossible to go to the movies and then we just got used to not going once they finally opened back up.

Luckily the theater just down the street from my apartment is open now. It was kind of sad though, there were only three other people in our showing besides us.

There were more people going to other movies, so the theater wasn’t totally empty. It still was nothing like what the theater was as a kid. I remember having to wait in lines out the door for a ticket. Barely having enough space to find seats on an opening weekend for the most anticipated new movies.

It was nice having privacy and space, but it’s upsetting knowing the theater business probably won’t survive much longer. Much like drive-in movie theaters, theaters like we grew up going to won’t be around forever.

Combine movie streaming with strict regulations and movie theaters don’t have much of a chance. Lucky for them they got nearly $40 from us for our two tickets, a giant tub of popcorn, and two slurpees; I got blue and she got red.


91B1A2D5-7AC5-43EA-A634-578E94FC6A43.jpeg
Source

About Chaos Walking

A dystopian world where there are no women and all living creatures can hear each other's thoughts in a stream of images, words, and sounds called Noise.

814BE011-6FED-4376-B325-98D3936D0B5F.jpeg
Source

  • Directed by: Doug Liman (The Bourne franchise, The Edge of Tomorrow)
  • Written by: Patrick Ness (A Monster Calls), Christopher Ford (Spider-Man: Homecoming)
  • Starring: Daisy Ridley (Star Wars, Murder on the Orient Express), Tom Holland (Spider-Man, The Devil All the Time), and Mads Mikkelsen (Doctor Strange, Rogue One: A Star Wars Story)
  • Runtime: 108 min

C54F4FCD-A763-4ECD-93A2-2B98C4CC8F5F.jpeg
Source

This movie is a wild adventure into a dangerous new world. Set in the year 2274 on a planet outside of Earth, it is centered around Todd Hewitt (Tom Holland) and Viola Eade (Daisy Ridley). It is based on the sci-fi trilogy Chaos Walking, adapting its first book, 2008's The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness.

FA42C6C5-2669-43DB-8EB7-7787249127FF.jpeg
Source

The movie has a unique take on how all of the thoughts of men are broadcasted to the world in the form of the Noise. Tom Holland particularly has manny hilarious things going on inside of his mind that had us cracking up together multiple times throughout the film. It’s interesting seeing how each character attempts to shroud their thoughts.

Chaos Walking was honestly the perfect little date night movie. A bit of sci-fi, some action, light comedy, suspense here and there, plus much more. Be prepared to get attached to Todd’s loyal dog Manchee.

03500A4F-5B16-429F-BAA2-77C4458FDB41.webp
Source

The Spackle are the indigenous species on this foreign planet. Thankfully they do actually get some screen time so you aren’t left totally in the dark about what they are like. I did however crave more knowledge about what this species is. Perhaps they will adapt the next two books in the trilogy so that we can learn more about the Spackle.


543541A9-E815-4B69-9084-DDF2DCBD47F5.jpeg

My rating

The reviews for Chaos Walking have been all over the place. Some people hate it due to poor execution, many of these haters could be fans of the book. Others who have given negative reviews must be hardcore movie critics. Then we have the opposite end of the spectrum, mega fans of Tom Holland and Daisy Ridley. They will love anything those two are in no matter what. I personally don’t have a major attachment to either of the actors, nor am I extremely harsh on movies. This enables me to give a balanced opinion on the movie.

I enjoyed this film quite a bit and so did @flowerbaby. There were some things that I wish they’d have elaborated more on, but I wasn’t disappointed with the movie. I would definitely recommend Chaos Walking. Don’t think it will be the best sci-movie of all time, but do expect to enjoy yourself throughout the entirety of the production.


I give Chaos Walking an 8/10


Thanks for checking out my blog 😎🤝

hiveordieextendedart1.png

Hive Artwork by: @daltono

A52263FDB98347129E6ED094932D3BD9.gif

Orca Artwork by: @jesusmedit

Join my fanbase on hive.vote ✅☑️Message me on Discord 💬Follow me on Twitter 🗣🐦Create a free Hive account 🗽
click heredaltono#5080click hereclick here
Sort:  

What fantastic pictures brother, I'm glad you allas enjoyed the movie, that movie looks fantastic, I have time I do not go to the movies because of problems of covid-19. everything is closed and nobody wants to work with this pandemic as this, I'm glad that where you live is not so closed.

Its a shame what this shutdown has done to the world.

Everything I have read about movie says that it is a very average movie. However, I still have to watch it to make my own conclusions.

Seeing it for yourself is the only way to know if you enjoy it or not. Everyone has such different opinions on everything, hard to go off of someone else's word.

I have hard good things about this movie. I want to go to a theater and get some popcorn. That is the one thing I miss about going to the theaters.

We both really enjoyed it. I bet if you were to go in with a nice buzz, you'd have a total blast. Don't go alone though, company makes it even better.

Also get the bag of popcorn and not the bucket. We had way too much of it. As good as it was, I forgot that there is a limit of butter/salt before the body starts being like wtf.

You’re slowly turning into my personal movie recommender. I read this trilogy in high school and really liked it. I had totally missed that there was a movie adaption in the making. Sadly I can’t see it in any Norwegian cinemas. I think they’re careful with which movies they take in these days.

Last time me and my gf went to the movies we were the only ones on the viewing. It’s a shame to see but it enhanced the horror experience for sure.

My girl loves to watch movies, so we need up digging to find the good ones. She wants to read the trilogy, is it worth it?

I’m sure they’ll have this one on streaming apps soon. I do get a horror movie would have increased intensity in a big empty theater.

I really liked the books and consumed all three in a couple of weeks. There was a noticeable decline in them though. The first was the best and the last was the worst. Still overall a great and recommendable trilogy. There’s a lot of feelings that I think would be portrayed better in the book than the movie. Of course I say this without having watched the movie.

Having a strong imagination is huge for enjoying books. Often times movies don’t take things as far as my mind can. There are some who struggle to visualize what they read, movies are a blessing to them. I luckily enjoy relaxing with a movie and reading. I may try to get the trilogy for my girlfriend, she always seems to be reading something, much more than I at least.

If the movie has just released I’m guessing book stores will have the books for sale as well. At least I’d they’re smart about it.

I want to read more than I actually do. I should dig out my Kindle again. Maybe finally read the Witcher-books.

Congratulations @daltono! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day