You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The French Dispatch [ENG | ESP]: a story made of stories | una historia hecha de historias

in Movies & TV Shows2 years ago

I didn't like this film, I saw it because of its directors and especially because I loved The Grand Budapest Hotel, however, I found this movie to be too convoluted and too weird for my tastes. It was actually one of the biggest disappointments related to films in recent months for me.

Sort:  

You're right about that: it's convoluted. I believe one the main things that some people may see as a flaw is that this movie doesn't tell a story. In Grand Hotel Budapest (or Isle of dogs) there's one story and the many characters that appear do it around that single journey. But The French Dispatch tells several stories, short stories, all related to one person in a not so close way. Besides, the script is not as easy to follow as that other. So, I understand your disappointment and in case you haven't seen it I recommend you Moonrise Kingdom. I think you may like it. Greetings.