Tom Clancy's Without Remorse | Thoughts and Opinion

Hello everyone. I think this is my first post in this community, or at least in a long time. As a personal challenge, I've been trying to post more often, and I've decided to talk about the things I interact with outside of Hive. Lately, I have been very occupied and also a little stressed because of the amount of work I've had on Hive and outside of Hive. So @grisvisa and I have decided to spend some time watching TV series and movies. In the past few weeks, we finished watching Vikings. In addition, we saw the first season of Invincible and watched the second season of The Twilight Zone. So maybe I'll make a post about those soon.

coverremorse.png

Last Friday we decided to watch Tom Clancy's Without Remorse. It's funny because the other day I made a post where I shared that I liked this type of movies, you can read it here. I have to admit that I first knew about Tom Clancy thanks to the video games, especially Rainbow Six and Splinter Cell. I haven't read the books, but I've heard that they are very good, one of my uncles had a couple of books by Tom Clancy and one day when I was at his house I read a little, and I liked it.

I may not be the best judge in movies, but I liked this one. As I said in the post that I wrote the other day, I like it when an ex-soldier whose family was killed looks for vengeance and does the impossible to find the people responsible for the death of the family. I've seen many movies with this theme, and they are packed with action. Gris doesn't like them because she gets nervous, but she watched this one with me.

This movie has the typical plot, a badass soldier that is the best at his job. However, for some reason, it is involved in something that is above him, innocent people pay the price, and then he looks for revenge and in the way he dodges thousand of bullets. He eliminates half an army, and in the end, a plot twist reveals the true person behind all the evil.

I know this is very cliche, but maybe I'm like a little kid who feels safe knowing or at least assuming what is going to happen. Sometimes I am surprised, but most of the time, I am like, "I knew it!" so it's fun. My opinion of these types of movies is that we should enjoy them and not try to look for every error and inconsistency that may ruin the movie and the fun.

image.png

About the movie

Our main protagonist is John Kelly, a soldier that is very good at his job. However, he and his team, which Officer Greer leads, are involved in a mission that will eventually change their lives. To not spoil the story, I'll say that John's life is put upside down and he is so broken that he tries to look for the culprits one way or another.

My favorite scene is when he is in his prison cell and is about to be neutralized by four prison guards in riot uniforms (helmet, shield, and body armor), and he alone kicks their asses almost without a sweat. That's when you realize that John is truly a badass, intelligent, strong, and very tough.

The movie has good effects, in my opinion. There are scenes with a lot of destruction and that I think are well achieved. Maybe the story is not as good as other movies, but what could we expect? If it's an action movie, it should be fun. However, it does not have to make 100% sense.

It has some tense moments, and at times it can feel slow. However, the movie is not very long, less than two hours, and for me, the time went fast. However, I think my wife @grisvisa cannot say the same because she prefers romantic movies.

image.png

Final Thoughts

I will recommend this movie if you like action, violence, and predictable stories. However, if you are a nervous person, I would not recommend it. I think that the actors generally do a good job, but maybe people who know more about cinema would find them dull.

Do you know more movies like this one that you would recommend? I watched one by Denzel Washington. I can't remember the name in English, though.

You can watch this movie on Amazon Prime Video.

Images taken from imdb.com


banneralientoeng.png

@aliento a project by @eddiespino and @grisvisa

Sort:  

Damn, this is my kind of movies. This movie is for the entertainment it gives. I am not really into looking at the tiny inconsistency in it but there for the action and violence involved. I am bookmarking this post so that I can come back to check those other movies you mentioned.

Yeah! I want to see more movies like this one, but my wife already told me that she has to pick the next two because she had to endure this one hahaha. Thank you for your comment.

I've seen several movies where Michael B. Jordan stars and lately he's been bringing good content, especially action movies, which seems to be his style. Although this movie I really did not know it seems to be one of those where everything is complicated but in the end every obstacle is solved showing us that everything is possible and if as you say, you can not ask more from an action movie just enjoy it and have a good time.

A hug and good to see you here!

😎👍🎬

Hey! Thank you for your comment! Yeah, this movie has a big plot twist, and it's complicated. The end can be quite political for some, but I liked it. There is another Amazon Prime Tom Clancy's production, but it's a series called Jack Ryan. I haven't seen it but looks promising.

Jack Ryan? I think I've heard about it, he's a spy trying to get information out of the Venezuelan government? Fuck I think it's that one or maybe another one but the name rings a bell.

Hahaha or maybe I'm super wrong, I'll have to look into it.

By looking at the trailer, it looks good:

Yes, I know what it is... Nice!

Season 1 was the introduction for Jack Ryan. I've seen the other movies with Harrison Ford. All of them were excellent in my opinion. This new version of Jack Ryan is equally excellent.

I have a similar trade-off with my wife as well. Action or SciFi in exchange for romance. Great explanation about the movie. I look forward to watching it.