Movie Review: Purple Hearts (2022)

IMG_20220815_151730.jpg

Best romance movie ever!! I could re-watch this movie multiple times and not get tired of it. When I first heard about the movie, the first thing that came to my mind was that this movie will be an emotional movie considering how marines or military funerals are done, but when I saw so many reviews about the movie and thought why don't I give it a try. I did and it was an amazing experience for me.

'Purple Hearts' is a movie that was adapted from a book with the same name written by Tess Wakefield, published on the 25th of April, 2017 with 320 pages. People always say that book-adapted movies are not always as good as when one reads the book first. If the movie is exceptional, how will the book turn out to be? I am so curious and I will be reading the book soon to kill my curiosity.

This movie is an American Drama/music/romance film that was released on the 29th of July, 2022 by Netflix. It was directed by Elizabeth Allen Rosenbaum who also directed movies like Pretty little liars and The residents. If you have watched the above-mentioned TV Series you would know how good Elizabeth is. The movie's screenplay was written by Liz Garcia and Kyle Jarrow. They both did an amazing job. Some of the actors are Sofia Carson, Nicholas Galitzine, Chosen Jacobs, Linden Ashby, Scott Decker, and some other notable actors that might be familiar to you.

Little Synopsis Of The Movie

The movie begins with the life of an upcoming singer/songwriter/bartender, Cassie who is struggling with life and an illness, diabetes type 1. The movie gets interesting when Cassie's childhood friend, Frankie, with his marines friends, walks into the bar where Cassie works. Surprised to see him, Cassie went into his arms when one of the marines, Luke, caught her attention after which they exchanged glances. Luke tried to charm his way to get close to Cassie but it irritated her instead.

IMG_20220815_162121.jpg

IMG_20220815_162502.jpg

Cassie, still battling with her illness discovers she was drowning in medical bills, rent, and other welfare bills, and decided to go talk to Frankie to marry her so that she could benefit from the health allowances given to the family of the marine. Frankie respectfully turns her down because he was already involved with another. Luke later saw this as an opportunity to settle his drug debts when he went to Cassie to convince her to marry him. Cassie agreed and they got married before Luke and fellow marines were shipped out to Iraq.

IMG_20220815_162729.jpg

IMG_20220815_162418.jpg

On the night of the wedding, Cassie and Luke got emotional and consummated their fake marriage. Cassie thought Luke was into her until the next morning, he pretended like nothing happened last night. The next day after the wedding, Luke was shipped out with his fellow marines to Iraq. Cassie and Luke made a promise to each other to make their fake marriage work for their benefit. While Luke was gone, Cassie continued to pursue her music career dreams with her band. Everything seems to be going well until one day, Cassie receives a call from the marines that Luke had been involved in an accident that had his legs shattered and he will be shipped back home in a few days.

IMG_20220815_162945.jpg

IMG_20220815_162313.jpg

How long can they keep up the fake marriage deal? How long before the truth is out in the open? Will they both be charged with fraud? You have to watch the movie to get your answers.

My Opinion About The Movie And Recommendations.

I will go straight about my opinion about the movie. First, let's talk about the Plot (storyline). The plot is an interesting one and I consider it one of the best. I love the plot so much because it has all the features of a good, hot romance story. The suspense, the chemistry, sacrifice, and love. The actors did a fantastic job with the plot.

They acted well by blending with their various given roles. For example, Cassie and Luke have this chemistry that you think is for real until you remember that you are watching a movie. Their love went from strangers to enemies, enemies to friends, and enemies to lovers. They both expressed what fictional chemistry should look like! Their chemistry made me a sucker for romance😭. I will give the screenplay writers credit for writing an intriguing script. They did well!

Let's talk about the soundtracks for the movie. All the music used in the movie was all original tracks, written and sung by Cassie herself. All the songs conveyed what the movie was about and the message embedded in the plot of the movie. I love all the songs and Intend to download them all to be added to my Playlist. The songs are all powerful and meaningful.

The director did a fantastic job with the movie. She made the movie suspense-filled and at the same time sensual with twists that keep the viewers on the edge of their seats waiting and curious about what the next scene is about. If some viewers were interviewed, I think they would all agree with me that they can't get enough of Cassie and Luke. The end was a sad and beautiful ending with a message, 'if though life offers you a lemon, you have the power to make it sweet and make your own path.

Rating this movie, it's five stars and 10 out of 10. I would recommend this movie to everyone and most especially, romance, drama, music, growth, and emotional movie lovers. I also recommend that this movie is not to be watched by teenagers from 13years below. Hurry now and watch this movie if you haven't. I am off to read the book. Hahaha.

FUkUE5bzkAZT3HzV5tJDiU2ik81PCd4JCyhWnRcDN8XJsVFY3UNB8DCXBQ89wxARNuUQjVjdVcBiemT7Jmc7ixGETUUxVYg8Y6mKBrRD8ZAMtT8Mv5iAWYEEqEAaATAztuFuz3sRhZ5KNSUbyhUZS1LcXpZxdPssmuBK.gif

All images above are from the movie screenshots
Poster image source

Thank you for visiting my blog 🤗

Sort:  


~~~ embed:1559929641258942467 twitter metadata:Z2VudGxlc2hhaWR8fGh0dHBzOi8vdHdpdHRlci5jb20vZ2VudGxlc2hhaWQvc3RhdHVzLzE1NTk5Mjk2NDEyNTg5NDI0Njd8 ~~~
The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @kemmyb, @gentleshaid ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I liked this movie a lot, the ending was a bit flexible, but it is a great production that conveys a lot of emotions as such. To be exact, the plot itself composes a possible relationship, but at the same time distant. It's all for an illegal business, but it ends up being true in every sense of the word. I loved the scene where she sings to him, it touched my soul. 😊

Hehe. I am glad you could relate to how I feel about the movie. I can say re-watching movie just makes it all over again. I appreciate your positive feedback. Thank you for the visit. I appreciate 😊.Gracias
!CTP

I'm looking forward to seeing this movie and haven't had time yet!
Everything I've read about him so far just makes me more excited.
Thanks for sharing.
!1UP

You can earn passive income by delegation of tribe tokens to "The Cartel".

cartel_curator_final.gif
Click this banner to join "The Cartel" discord server to know more.

Hahah, it is actually an exciting movie to look forward to. You will enjoy watching it no dull moment, that I can assure you. Thank you for the visit and support. I appreciate your comment here.!CTP