Netflix LOU: Movie Review

in Movies & TV Shows2 years ago

This is a review on the latest Netflix movie titled Lou

png_20221003_092216_0000.png

For some time now I stopped opening my Netflix app as I thought all new movies on there were boring and stereotyped.
It's quite hard to find a mainstream action film on Netflix these days. Make me contemplate whether or not to terminate my subscription.

Some days back though, I went on and saw a couple of new releases. One caught my attention in particular; LOU.

Though a thriller, I was happy that it had some action and the fact that the protagonists were females made me quite interested in seeing it.

The film is a female thriller—action action movie that was realised on Netflix on 23rd September 2022.


About the movie

The story takes place in the 80s. It starred Allison Janey as Lou, a seemingly uptight woman who lived out on this populated but remote island. She has a house in the woods but pretty much keeps to herself.

She is a grumpy old lady — and when the movie starts, we get a glimpse of the skills she has when it comes to tracking and hunting.

lou-movie-screenshot-5 (1).jpg

source

Near her lived a young lady — Hannah who is played by Jurnee Smollett. Hannah has a daughter she takes care of but she looked to be slightly on edge most of the time.

Very early in the film, a huge storm approaches and with the chaos of a blackout, Hannah's daughter was kidnapped.

Hannah unwillingly gets help from Lou as they set off in pursuit of the kidnapper.

The journey, however, will end up testing their limits and reviling unknown secrets of the past.


Casts

The movie was named after the protagonist Lou played by Allison Janey.

Allison Janey was the standout character in the film as this was the first time she has been seen in such action and she did phenomenally well.


Jurnee Smollett starred as Hannah; the Mother of the kidnapped child.

The daughter Vee is played by Ridley Asha Batema.

Logan Marshall-Green plays the role of the only other person in the film with enough dialogue to warrant being a Character — Phillip; the dangerous kidnapper.

The film surely featured some other actors. But the above mentioned are the only major characters.


Cinematography

Anna Froster's action movie intelligence plays a great role in making the movie stay entertaining throughout. She has previously directed great action sequences for the television shows: Marvel's Jessica Jones and Westworld, and working on every explosion-filled Roland Emmerich movie except The Patriot, Foerster and has developed an innate feel for the kinds of visuals Lou needs.

Unfortunately, there were only a few action sequences to unleash Anna's full potential.

But still, the use of rain, campfire, shadows and other small elements heightened each scene.

The fight scenes were utterly brutal and realistic.

The movie sure has great cinematography!


My thoughts & opinions

So what do I think?

I think the movie is good in general. There's nothing really spectacular in the script/storyline though, but the cinematography and acting were on point.

Though the creators wanted it to be more of a thriller, I honestly think it would have been much better if it was packed with more action.

png_20221003_082802_0000.png

The character Lou made the movie. I think investing more in the character Lou would have made the movie a lot more interesting.

Regardless, it is a good movie and it's worth spending an hour watching.

I'll rate it a 5/10.


PS: All graphic designs in this article are owned by me; edited on Canva.


Thank you for reading, please feel free to leave a comment ❤

Sort:  

I started watching this movie but didn't see it to the end. I think I could predict some scenes which made me bored. I would rate it above 5 anyways. But I can understand why alot of people would rate it below

Congratulations @kemi123! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You made more than 200 comments.
Your next target is to reach 300 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-09 - Winners List
Be ready for the 10th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I have this movie on my watchlist because the female lead sounds intriguing. Thanks for the review. I will probably watch it this weekend.

You are welcome

Me llamaba la atención el tráiler y a la vez no, dices que es generalmente buena pero una puntuación de 5 es baja 😆...
De todos modos me gustaría verla en algún momento, aunque ya tendré en cuenta ciertos detalles por esta publicación, sinceramente no espero mucho :c

Firstly I'll like to thank you for giving the movie an honest rate,we don't see that everyday on hive. Netflix do have good thrillers you just have to look deep.i love movies with haunting and tracking scenes just like the famous "apocalyto" movie.
Thanks for the review.

You are welcome

I've kept seeing this one in the top watchers of the current time but still haven't watched it :D But thanks to your review, it will be my next watch for sure!

Do let me know if you enjoyed it.