My First Time Going to the Cinema After Years



cl6rn15oo02d72okf5obd96pu_20220812_125603541.webp
cl6rn1rce02cz0wkf692y3t4y_20220812_145813667.webp
cl6rn297r02d429kfh6dkak39_20220812_145819089.webp

I watched the latest Indonesian Box Office movie; Pengabdi Setan 2.

The last time I went to cinema was a few years ago. I watched a few cartoons but kept falling asleep during those days. Yesterday was my first time going to the cinema again. I can say watching it from the cinema offers a different experience and is more intense, especially when watching horror movies. In Indonesia, there are about 2 cinemas that offer different movies and experiences. The one that I went to is the basic cinema called XXI, while in the past, I used to go to CGV that even offers a bed seat where you can comfortably watch a movie on a comfy bed with a blanket. Honestly, I was just going to the cinema out of the blue. During the day, I was watching Pengabdi Setan 1 which was released years prior to this one. In English, the movie is translated as Satan’s Slave.

Just when I thought that the movie would be a crappy horror movie, I got hooked watching the 1st one. The mystery in this movie is world-class Hollywood and not just some shitty tier- Indonesian typical movie. When I look at the director, it is no wonder as it is a movie by Joko Anwar, a prominent figure in the Indonesian film industry. Anything from him is no joke.

By all means, I am not a horror fan but his movie was something I can make an exception of. Pengabdi Setan 1 and 2 are a mixture of horror, mystery, crime, history and borderline Fantasy. The setting of both movies was during the 80’s. It also brings up some topics that I used to hear a lot as a kid, “petrus” or mysterious executor. Back in the day, anyone who had a tattoo could be subject to execution and they all just mysteriously disappeared. As my mom puts it, it’s like an abduction and killing but done by the established govt at the time. Somehow, it was justified under the reason of lowering the crime rate. These days, many places where those victims were executed became some sort of haunted place. When my family and I passed through a certain jungle in the country, my dad would mention that the place was a place where these mysterious executioners would bury the bodies. With those interesting settings that I already was familiar with, the movie became sort of engaging to me.

Satan’s slave revolves around the narrative of people who worship the devil in hope to get children. The movie specifically focuses on a family of 6 whose apparently all are the satan’s children. The movie is full of plot twists that were about to reveal slowly from the 1st one to the 2nd one. Even the 2nd one leaves one too many questions that I am hoping for the 3rd to come out very soon.

Are they all bound to be sacrificed? Can they even leave the cult or once they make a deal with the devil, there’s no way out?

All these aren’t even answered fully in the 2nd part. So, I am definitely anticipating the 3rd one.

Some of the characters themselves were ambiguous in terms of, you can’t quite describe if they are some sort of gods, deities, or just simply human being. But obviously there are the spirits, satans, and the children of satans that are human. Only a few of seemingly prominent characters left untold.

The cinematography was also one-of-a-kind. It was successful in building the tension in the movie and even when I watched it, I was so absorbed in it. The freaky creatures were creepy and I closed my eyes just enough to peek at what was going on. Overall, it was the movie that I can’t shut up and would love to recommend everyone to watch it. Not to mention, watching from the cinema was also different experience.

The music throughout the movie was also intriguing. It was not too creepy but enough to build the atmosphere. Some of the music also matches the 80’s with some Indonesian classics playing in the background.

Even this morning, I had a conversation with my housemate. She mentioned some conspiracy theory going on about the movie and its relation to the other movie from the same director. The movie is indeed quite a sensation until almost all the places I see use the term Pengabdi (x) to do some form of advertisement. I hope you can find this movie with English subtitles somewhere as this movie is hard to miss.

thumbnail.jpg

Mac's Pinmapple Travel List

thumbnail.jpg

Don't hesitate to upvote for more content like this ! You can also support me below!


image.png𝘔𝘢𝘤 𝘪𝘴 𝘢 𝘴𝘦𝘭𝘧-𝘦𝘮𝘱𝘭𝘰𝘺𝘦𝘥 𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘫𝘢. 𝘈 𝘵𝘺𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘢𝘭 𝘪𝘯𝘵𝘳𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘵 𝘪𝘯 𝘭𝘰𝘷𝘦 𝘸𝘪𝘵𝘩 𝘭𝘪𝘵𝘦𝘳𝘢𝘵𝘶𝘳𝘦, 𝘣𝘰𝘰𝘬𝘴, 𝘵𝘦𝘤𝘩𝘯𝘰𝘭𝘰𝘨𝘺 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘱𝘩𝘪𝘭𝘰𝘴𝘰𝘱𝘩𝘺. 𝘛𝘩𝘪𝘴 𝘪𝘴 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘱𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘰𝘯𝘢𝘭 𝘣𝘭𝘰𝘨 𝘵𝘩𝘢𝘵 𝘤𝘰𝘷𝘦𝘳𝘴 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘫𝘰𝘶𝘳𝘯𝘦𝘺 𝘥𝘦𝘭𝘷𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘪𝘯𝘵𝘰 𝘱𝘩𝘰𝘵𝘰𝘨𝘳𝘢𝘱𝘩𝘺, 𝘵𝘳𝘢𝘷𝘦𝘭, 𝘯𝘰𝘰𝘵𝘳𝘰𝘱𝘪𝘤𝘴, 𝘱𝘳𝘰𝘥𝘶𝘤𝘵𝘪𝘷𝘪𝘵𝘺, 𝘮𝘪𝘯𝘪𝘮𝘢𝘭𝘪𝘴𝘵 𝘭𝘪𝘧𝘦𝘴𝘵𝘺𝘭𝘦, 𝘤𝘺𝘣𝘦𝘳𝘴𝘦𝘤𝘶𝘳𝘪𝘵𝘺, 𝘢𝘯𝘥 𝘭𝘢𝘯𝘨𝘶𝘢𝘨𝘦𝘴. 𝘐𝘯 𝘩𝘦𝘳 𝘧𝘳𝘦𝘦 𝘵𝘪𝘮𝘦, 𝘴𝘩𝘦 𝘦𝘯𝘫𝘰𝘺𝘴 𝘭𝘦𝘢𝘳𝘯𝘪𝘯𝘨 𝘷𝘢𝘳𝘪𝘰𝘶𝘴 𝘵𝘩𝘪𝘯

For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

I cant wait to watching satan slave 3, its make me corious about Raminom and Wisnu. I have big question about mysteri and conspiration of Satan Slave 2 😆

It seems that Wisnu could be the same role as Ian. They both speaks the same language and could be a plot twist with that. I am mostly curious about the resolution from the story.

I also feel that this satan slave universe should finish the story quickly, because there are too many interesting storylines. Even I still don't understand even though I've watched it 2 times.

Phew!, A cinema where you're given a bed and a blanket? Wow, that's like the comfiest cinema experience one can wish for with a bottle of coke and popcorn to go with it or ice cream. I don't think we have that here yet, or maybe I haven't really been to places and I haven't frequented cinemas that much.

I like horror if it's a good story. When I watched fear street I was just drawn to the fact that they were teenagers..when I watched ,IT the first part I was drawn to the fact that they were kids...but then if the killings are good, soundtrack and whole setting then it's something to enjoy
... judging by how you're so excited about this one I'm sure it's pretty much what I should enjoy (you have good taste in movies)..can I stream it on youtube?..cuz I'm not sure they'll have that in the cinemas here.

Thanks for sharing ❤️

That kind of cinema is pretty common in Asia and it's definitely comfy. You can stream it on youtube but there's no Eng sub, not that I know of. The 2nd one has to be somewhere too but watching it at the cinma was a different ballgame. Also, when I am pretty excited about a book or a movie, it's most of the time underrated and has exciting story.

Ohh shii...I'm not sure I can watch it without a subtitle unless I'll learn the Indonesian Language,haha..but it's not bad to let this one pass me by...yhhh I get most times things that don't receive that much hype àctually are the best to enjoy...


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @macchiata ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I like terror, even more so if it has mystery and, fantasy? wow. Lately I'm watching movies off the Hollywood stage. This film that you have reviewed makes me very curious. I'll write it down, because it looks very good. I like feature films that have these elements. I must see the first installment, of course. Hopefully I can find it subtitled in Spanish 🥲.

I don't think they have spanish sub but they are available on youtube. So, maybe you can turn on CC caption but it wouldn't be too accurate.

I haven't been to the cinema in months and the pictures you shared just made me miss the atmosphere of the cinema so much. There's this feeling that comes with going to the cinema to see a movie. I can't quite explain it now but it is a good feeling and having a bed? now that's not something I've seen before.

I too am not a big fan of horror. I immediately have this thought in my mind that it's going to be crappy but maybe I'll see this one since it comes highly recommended from you.

You should go whenever you can. It's interesting to watch movies from cinema than the comfort of our place.

It seems you had fun at the movies after such a long time. I haven't been to the cinema for nearly three years now. but to be honest, I was not a movie-goer for a long time, before Corona hit town.
I like my home cinema :o).

I looked the movie up and there were three identical titles. One British flick from the 70's and a movie with the same original and dubbed title from 1982. Could it be, that the 2017 film was a remake of this movie?