Movie Review : Edge Of Tomorrow (2014)

Hello Lovely Hivers,

Today I'm going to be doing a review on one of my favourite films of all time :

Edge Of Tomorrow

edge-tomorrow-2-sequel-writers-director.jpg
source

So recently I seem to have adopted the habit of watching movies. I did watch movies occasionally but I never was so much into it.

Not until recently though.
I would jumb into my Netflix app immediately I feel any form of boredom.

Some days back I was scrolling through Netflix and I saw the movie : Edge Of Tomorrow.

I was surprised I had not seen it before. It is a 2014 film.

I have always been a strong Tom Cruise fan! I even had a crush on him when I was little and that is why I was surprised because I had seen almost all his movies.

Except this one of course.

I didn't hesitate any further, I went on to watch it and this is my honest review:

k75bsZMwYNu2L3iBMXq5y7xeiy1isFJsZxnMZSXuXEsxe4ee1cUkGyPif8ef4kj4QubNTwLseV2NZbTNZy6P1qxReUd94FRyJmM99siQsM52fx8YNAGPHDwg2P1ZKhzNwpTiVgCeFR8rLuRef3rJMZgnXrchSic6a (1).png

ABOUT THE MOVIE

Edge of Tomorrow is a 2014 science fiction action-filled with emotions type movie.
The movie was about a non-combact officer in the military-William Cage who was forced into the forefront of a war between humans and aliens.

It was sited to have happened around 2015, aliens called mimics arrived in Germany via asteroid and went on to conquer the most part of Europe.

Edge-of-Tomorrow (1).jpg
source

By 2020, the United defenses came up with a global military resistance to combat the aliens.
After series of losses they finally scored a victory over the mimics at verdun using some sort of mech suits.

William cage was demoted to a private and sent to front line battle in France with a J-squad team.

He had no combat knowledge.

Edge-of-Tomorrow.jpg
source

He went on to meet with Rita Vrataski on the battle field.
This is the other main character.
She was the one who made the victory at verdun possible.
But she had a secret.
One Cage would go on to discover when he encountered an alpha mimic in the battle.

This encounter produced a whole new chain of events that I couldn't have foreseen.

No more spoilers 😉

k75bsZMwYNu2L3iBMXq5y7xeiy1isFJsZxnMZSXuXEsxe4ee1cUkGyPif8ef4kj4QubNTwLseV2NZbTNZy6P1qxReUd94FRyJmM99siQsM52fx8YNAGPHDwg2P1ZKhzNwpTiVgCeFR8rLuRef3rJMZgnXrchSic6a (1).png

CINEMATOGRAPHY

I think the cinematography was just great. And that's a common theme with every movie Tom cruise is in. It is filled with great action scenes.

Alot of work went on in the production of the film and you can tell from every little detail the scenes carried.

The suits were based on real designs and Tom Cruise did his own stunts.

It was filmed at same place as Harry Potter.

CASTS


Some of the top casts include: Tom Cruise, Emily Blunt, Bill Paxton, Franz Drameh and others.
I think all the cast did a great job on their roles.

Brad Pitt was said to have been considered for the role of William Cage but I'm glad Tom got it. 🤗

k75bsZMwYNu2L3iBMXq5y7xeiy1isFJsZxnMZSXuXEsxe4ee1cUkGyPif8ef4kj4QubNTwLseV2NZbTNZy6P1qxReUd94FRyJmM99siQsM52fx8YNAGPHDwg2P1ZKhzNwpTiVgCeFR8rLuRef3rJMZgnXrchSic6a (1).png

MY FINAL THOUGHTS

Though I may have a little bit of personal bias as regards to Tom being one of my favourite actors, I honestly believe this is a really great movie for anyone who loves action packed-filled with emotions type of movies.

It is surely not the regular sci-fi movie and u like most films this days. The ending is pretty satisfying.

I will rate it a 9/10 🤗
★★★★★★★★★☆

It's definitely a must see if you haven't.

Credit: I got the review format from @olujay's awesome review on Day Shift. Check it out here

Thank you for reading

Please feel free to share your thoughts in the comment below.

Best regards,
ᔕᗯEETᔕOᑌᒪ.❤

Sort:  

I haven't seen edge of tomorrow. I might be the last man that haven't watched it. I would look it up on my free time.

@olujay is a fantastic writer, I wish I can write like him sef. I love his top notch engagement too!

The only thing I can better him at is chess :)

Great post my friend!

Trust me, you should see it. Movie make, BTW I've started The Alchemy of souls. Just in the first episode now sha so I'm yet to be thrilled

Haha... thanks a lot, brother.

I leave chess for you my bosses. Now that you mention it, it has been quite a while since our last game.

Oh yeah, let me know when you are ready. Will you be participating in tonight's Hivechess?

If I reblog this, this will be the what, 5th sci-fi movie I’ve reblogged to remind myself to watch but haven’t actually watched. Great review there. Olujay is a pro at reviews. Any friend of his, I assume writes great movie reviews.

Hehehehe. I completely understand, sometimes to see movies sef can be tiresome.
But I urge you to try this one, you won't regret it

Alright. I’ll do my best to try this one. Maybe I’ll let you know when I do.

Congratulations @sweetsoul! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 100 HP as payout for your posts, comments and curation.
Your next payout target is 250 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because post and comment rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Be ready for the 9th edition of the Hive Power Up Month!
Hive Power Up Day - September 1st 2022
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

I liked that film a lot!

Nice! Me too

I have never presented an exaggerated love for science fiction (especially if it occurs in space) but this seems interesting, when I first saw "Independence Day" I realized how much I like films of humans against beings of space, although obviously it has to have a good construction to finish convincing me, I will certainly give this film a chance. Good post, I send you a greeting and a hug from a distance. n-n

Independent Day is a really cool movie as well 👌. I'm pretty sure you'll love Edge of Tomorrow, no doubt you would.

One of the best remakes of a manga that I have ever seen, I love both of the works, but this one is particularly great as a film and how it experiments with the ending of the story :)

I had no idea it was originally a work from a manga 😅. Glad you enjoyed it just as much as I did 😀

The Edge of Tomorrow is a film that I would watch over and over again. The fact that it had that unique "time-travel" concept fused with that jacket technology is something that piqued my interest fromt he beginning.

You sure did your research. I did not know Tom did his stunts himself, and that the movie was shot in the same place as Harry Potter. Well done.

I see that you are taking steps to learning and getting better. That's great. However, let me hand you a tool that would help you. If you would like to know how an author came about their posts (markdowns and all) you could do so with hiveblocks.com

Let's take my review on Day Shift. If you would like to view the markdowns and all, you can just do so by swapping the frontend name in the link, like "peakd.com", to "hiveblocks.com."

Like this:

https://peakd.com/hive-166847/@olujay/movie-review-day-shift-oror-not-your-regular-pool-eng-esp

to this:

https://hiveblocks.com/hive-166847/@olujay/movie-review-day-shift-oror-not-your-regular-pool-eng-esp

Then you should see something like this:

Screenshot (186).png

This way, you can easily see how any author came about something on their post.
I have also made a review on this film, Edge of Tomorrow.

Wow! That's awesome! Thanks alot for the tip. It's really helpful

Thank you, I will find time to watch this movie!

I really enjoyed this flick, amazing action with the cool element of time and weird alien beings. It was among the best films of its genres during the time it was released. Hopefully more stories like this one are produced in the future because everything about it was very original and innovative.

Yeah. It wasn't the regular sci-fi experience. Glad you enjoyed watching it

I'm still waiting for the second part, but every time I see it I'm extremely impressed, especially for how well done it is and the interesting plot, it's not like the typical alien invasion, this is different. By the way the soundtrack is another level, thanks for sharing this review.

Personally, I feel satisfied with the way the film ended though. Glad you enjoyed watching it just like I did

This movie is like a great pack where it has a little bit of everything, its drama, its action and going back in time makes you wonder a lot of things.

Yes! It's super nice.

Love the emotions it made me feel in the end