Bridgerton on Netflix - A big hit, but not for me!

It is incredible how Netflix manages to create TV series and shows that people speak of all across the world. It has happened with Orange is the New Black, with Stranger Things, with with movies like Bird Box, Extraction, and several others. And guess what - it has just happened with Bridgerton.

The first (and final?!) season of the show was released on Netflix about a week ago, and it consists of 8 episodes. Each episode last for about 60 minutes and they take us back to England in 1813. It is important to notice, as lots of people also have commented on, that it is not a historical correct England, something that can be seen clearly by the large number of colored people in high ranks everywhere. But, I don't think they ever wanted Bridgerton to be served as a history lesson.

bridgerton2.jpg

Costume drama...

I am NOT a fan of so-called costume dramas, or dramas taking us back in time. I never managed to watch Downton Abbey, and the typical "Keira Knightly" movies in which she plays some lady who lived a few centuries ago, are all hard to digest for me. And so is Bridgerton. But, I am sure that many will enjoy it, and especially women/girls.

My wife told me that she had seen a meme shared in some women group that was titled: "Eight reasons to watch Bridgerton." Do you know what was on the MEME? Eight pictures of Rege-Jean Page, playing the Duke of Hastings in the show.

Yes, he has received a lot of attention from girls, and he has given them some extra inspiration to watch the show.

But, then you have me... a guy who is not very fond of such shows.

I must admit, I watched the full season, but I am happy it is over, and I do hope this will be the end of the story. It must, of course, be tempting for Netflix to put on a new season considering the giant success of this season, but I, personally, hope it will come to an end here. But, for the millions of fans worldwide who would love to see Rege-Jean Page and Phoebe Dynevor again, it might be that Netflix will do them the service of producing a new season.

bridgerton.jpg

What is it about?

We are taken to England and we meet the Bridgerton family, a wealthy family who has some beautiful ladies ready to be given in marriage. But, who will be the lucky man to take the oldest daughter, Daphne? That is mostly the story of the first season, but it is spiced up with a secret writer sharing "news" about what's going on every day. Nobody knows the true identity of the writer, and that just makes it all the more interesting to read her opinions, thoughts, and to try to understand who the writer might actually be.

This might be for you...

If you like costume dramas, if you like love stories with drama, if you wonder what it might have been to be a young girl about to be given in marriage in the start of the 19th century, this might be it...

But... this is not really for me! I'd rather watch something else.

My score: 6/10

If my score was to be about how much I enjoyed the show, it would have been lower. But, it has high quality, so I couldn't manage to give it a lower score. It was a 4/10 to me, but knowing that people love it and that it is a good production, made me give it a 6. My wife, however, would probably rate it at an 8/10.

Have you seen it? What do you think? I would love to hear your thoughts!

Where to watch Bridgerton?

Bridgerton is a Netflix original production that can be streamed on Netflix worldwide. There are several VPN services able to give access to Netflix content in other countries, but those are not neither to stream this. But, a Netflix subscription is needed, as this cannot be found on other streaming services, nor on normal TV networks worldwide.

Sort:  

I've read good reviews of this series, but so far it doesn't appeal to me either. Maybe I'll see it someday

It is good, in its way. But it is just like a pizza with shrimps that might be delicious - but if you don't like shrimps, it doesn't help you much! So, that is kind of my relationship with this series!