The Midnight Sky review (Netflix original movie)

I recently discovered that Netflix has planned on releasing new movies every single week on the platform in 2021. But, I also realized that there are quite a lot of Netflix original movies that has been released in the last year that I haven't seen yet. And The Midnight Sky with George Clooney is one of those.

the midnight sky.jpg

I am not a fan of space movies, and thus, I was quite skeptical to The Midnight Sky. I didn't know much about the story, and I hadn't even watched the trailer... thus, I was like a virgin sitting down to stream the movie. Was it worth it? What is The Midnight Sky all about?

What is The Midnight Sky all about?

The earth is damaged and almost everyone has died. The only place where people are actually capable of living is at the South and the North pole. At such a station, everyone is leaving, except for George Clooney who is staying behind the try to get in contact with a space station and its crew which is about to return to earth. He needs to warn them and let them know the truth about the state of the earth (which has changed totally since the crew left years ago to see if another planet would be capable of turning into a new place for living).

As he remains alone at the station, he suddenly discovers a little girl which he needs to take care of while trying to save the day and the crew from the space discovery project.

Is The Midnight Sky worth watching?

Once again, I don't like space movies. I slept myself through Gravity, considered Interstellar to be a bit less boring, while I don't even understand how I managed to watch Brad Pitt for two hours in the extremely boring Ad Astra.

girl.jpg

So, to be honest, this movie can be compared to Interstellar to me. It is less action, but somehow, I found it more interesting than both Gravity and Ad Astra. But, the further the movie goes, the slower the story progresses, and thus... it is getting more and more boring. The first hour is the best, the last hour is quite depressing.

So, what would I really say about the movie? If you love space movies, then this might be something for you.

If you want to look and imagine what George Clooney might look like as he grows old, watch this movie!

WOuld you like to see some action, have a good time, and experience some adrenaline? Go do something else and avoid The Midnight Sky at all cost.

My score: 5/10

Have you seen The Midnight Sky? How did you like it? I would love to hear your thoughts.


For more Netflix news, do not forget to follow me here and also check out https://netflix.fromabroad.org/