Not so spicy

in CCC4 years ago

Spices.

I can't say I use them frequently although my cupboard is filled. I like the natural flavor of food which means I rarely use salt and even started eating French fries without salt.
Since I stayed in hospital last Summer and I do not like to end up there to catch more dirty viruses I started to use salt more frequently. Not because of the salt but the iodine added to it. I have no idea how much salt I need to consume to get enough iodine but a bit is better than nothing. I really eat bad and if not that healthy. Vegetables, fruit, and meat are expensive. I made a list of vegetables and fruit which should have the highest vitamin c level, I bought vitamin C tablets and I hope it will do.

The only spices I use are cinnamon and ginger. Mainly if it's winter and to bake cookies and the cinnamon for applesauce and apple pie as well. I use some herbs but herbs are not what I call spices, at least not in my language. There was a time I used black and white pepper but the black pepper mill broke and only white powder is left. It's in a bag and not easy to use the right dose. All my spices are dried and most are old too. The only ones I bought a few months ago we're cinnamon and curry. Over here spices don't grow and if I buy them it's about once a year in an amount that will be sufficient for a longer time.

PhotoGrid_1593705401607.jpg

PhotoGrid_1593687063332.jpg

This is my entry to the CCC contest Thursday contest 3.03
My Thursday Favourites 3.03
Theme: My Favourite spice/s hosted by @marble

CCC = #hive-166850

This is an Invitation to join #ccc. The community CCC supports members by encouraging and upvoting each other and by hosting contests. Contests are hosted by @team-ccc and it's members. See @team-ccc for contests running.

Sort:  

Does sea salt have iodine too? I have been using sea salt, hoping it is as natural as it can be. Sometimes just one or two spices is enough :) Oh you use curry too right for your curry dishes?