Twitter and Crypto, Crypto and Twitter. But What About Blockchain Twitter?

in LeoFinance3 years ago

As much as I'd like to have that long awaited microblogging app from Leofinance at hand to be able to live this current bull market online, as it consumes itself, looks like it's still a dream, one that many have already probably forgotten.

Twitter is still an option to keep in touch with the crypto world and the crypto twitter is quite active as a community on the social media platform, and quite an influential one. Earlier today I had problems accessing my account on twitter.

I thought I've been hacked or something, but who would hack me... I rarely get a like on my posts on twitter so that couldn't be true. After it all got to back to normal and was able to enter the virtual world I saw a tweet about this situation, a quite interesting one. Looks like the same time twitter was down, crypto was also down.

Well, not down like the social media app as blockchains never go down, but charts don't lie and most of the market has lost in valuation during that specific time frame. Now twitter is once again down and we once again have a small dump. One could say that it's just a breather after the recent rallies, but too much coincidence I'd say.

Untitled.png

It makes sense though. This shitty social media app has had the power to take down Donald Trump and send him to oblivion so why wouldn't it influence crypto prices. After all, most of the ones involved in these markets are active users of the app.

There are folks with legacies of followers that can pump and dump coins and even one man, such as Elon Musk can take a shitcoin to Mars, or bring it back to earth. The world of events is no longer TV and traditional media dependent and when you have a whole digital world on the rise that's somehow kept connected through a social media app...

Once that app is no longer working properly, that world is going to get shaken. The crypto world acts as a community as well and this community has created most of its play grounds on twitter thus the correlation between its out of service time and the crypto cooling effect.

As I am writing this post I still can't access my twitter account and and the whole ctypto market has lost nearly ten billion in total market valuation in just a few minutes. To some extent the centralized power of social media is still quite influential over this type of assets.

What if this crypto community would have chosen a blockchain based social media app instead, wouldn't the situation be different? I'd say yes and I'd also say that this space needs a decentralized social media app more than ever. Nobody can take down decentralized blockchains and mute a community active on such a platform.

The crypto markets are still quite immature and looks like some are FUDing at the snap of a finger, or the push of a paus button for twitter's servers. The sentiment is often times fueled by influencers and the whole space is somehow dependent on the connectiveness between its participants that for the moment is provided by twitter.

Long live twitter, but please Khal, give us project blank. You won't regret, I promise... What do you think, is the crypto market's performance of today related in anyhow to the twitter outages?

Thanks for attention,
Adrian

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

That is true
This morning I tried tweeting one of my posts and discovered it was down for a while until I left it, returned a few hours later, and found it working
If your specualtions about the coins market going down as a result of the decline of the twitter platform is true, then we do need a decentralized social media platform as you said
I support this motion

We definitely need a blockchain twitter.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I guess so too

Good point, Adrian, and things might change in that regard. If there will be a wish for decentralization. But keeping tweeple in the dark about blockchain advantages might be a back strategy of Twitter. So, if they don't want to come upfront and benefit from the blockchain decentralization as a company and they like it in the...S...we'll use it to advocate for Hive #LevelUp
and that #melonflasc will soon be seen for who he is...I had a pervy joke about him but I'll keep it to myself

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The crypto community is not even aware how much it needs a blockchain based microblogging app.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

No, not yet. I'm sure. That's why it's beneficial for all to wake them up ;)

See you around

I'm not sure if we will never have a fully decentralized app or if we even really want one.

A fully decentralized platform would mean. No one person but a collective of people or everyone owns the domain name, they own the hosting. While there have been some moves in this area I feel like it's going to be a LONG time till we get there.

CDN systems like THETA and TFuel have built a somewhat decentralized system but yes it has issues with the site going down etc if a node where to go down or not enough people are watching a stream etc.

To be honest with you I would have rather seen Projectblank over DeFi.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

To be honest with you I would have rather seen Projectblank over DeFi.

Same here. It would have had more success imo and more utility as well. There are tons of Defi out there, but no blockchain microblogging app.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

So there is only one question: what can we do to help?

  • do you need more devs? do you need more money or both?
  • I think there is a bunch of problems we can solve on chain and on discord.
    I think the community would be willing to invest in this project. :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

The hate i have for centralized social media is just unbreakable. Deleted my Facebook account long ago, just waiting to close down Twitter once we get project blank.

It's true that these rich niqqas take Twitter as their play ground, so if Twitter is down, they'd all most definitely retire to drain the market as though they've got nothing else to do.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I no longer have facebook or instagram for about four years.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Blockchain Twitter
A Great Idea with good marketing will make crypto in another place

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I read or heard it somewhere Khal said Project Blank's release date was pushed back to end of Q3. I didn't see myself this message from Khal. But if they are using this time to push a mobile app at the same time, plus the bidirectional posting on Twitter and Project Blank, end of Q3 sounds very reasonable, even if people are understandably anxious.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It would have been great to have it during the bull market.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah, but a microblogging app without a mobile app is not very useful for the masses either.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta