You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Challenging Myself to Live 3 Months Below My Means

in LeoFinance2 years ago

kaya ko kaya?

Needs a lot of preplanning than it sounds.

Before I started making a budget plan, I needed a baseline data on what I was spending for the past year, within half a year, and past quarter. This helps me average out the expected costs and identify areas that I can reduced cost.

My workplace is within 20 min (1.5 km est) walking distance so that markedly reduces my transportation costs to 9/10 times but I have to wake up early and sometimes risk not taking a taxi when it's late in the evening. If you're planning to reduce cost for commute, it's best done in a safer neighborhood.

Then reducing the forecasted financial obligations that are non-negotiable, rent, utilities, taxes, and insurances. Utilities can be negotiable depending on your landlord. From the start, taken cared of na sa budget yung mga staple costs para makapag focus kanalang sa ma adjust pa na cost. And then setting some room for emergency costs like health and loans asked by peers (pautangin mo sila, ma sense nila na nagtitipid ka therefore maraming pera).

If you're strictly set on abandoning a social life, this markedly reduces your costs.

It's a psychological endurance, on one hand you're satisfied that what you do saves value while in survival mode but on the other hand it can be self imposed punishment. You're going to be surrounded by people who don't have the same discipline, probably feel envy when they spend on small luxuries, and all the stuff related to choosing the cheap road.

The food costs are something to mind, ideally, I should have consulted with a nutritionist on what foods I can substitute, my target weight, ideal weight and amount of food to take. Nakakakain ka nga ng masustansiya with just plain fried/boiled eggs, bananas, bread, milk and green veggies pero walang lasa compared to the seasoning na pwede mo maranasan sa fast food. But it's still nutritionally balanced, it just doesn't taste as good compared to the slightly expensive choices.

I destroyed my ATM card so that there's no way of backing out, and if I want to back out it would take 2 weeks for the bank to replace my card. This inconvenience to surrender may add to the conviction to go through with the process.

Kaya mo yan C, blog mo nalang journey mo, basta wag mo masyado galingan at mag papagutom ka ng di na healthy.

Sort:  

This helps me average out the expected costs and identify areas that I can reduced cost.

I'm one step closer! Good thing I've been tracking mine. Yeah, I'll blog it this October. Thanks, Adam!