You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Man Eating Woman

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Oh man... I'd never once considered that even if pay were equal, there would still be an outsized portion of rich old dudes controlling capital.

I think men can be more risk-tolerant because a.) we do generally earn more and b.) we can live on a lot less.

Anecdotally, if things go extremely badly for me, I could still work and live in a tiny home, or someone's couch or an RV... but my partner needs way more space and time in order to work (ie, proper bathroom access, wardrobe, etc). Working remotely has definitely evened things out a lot between us... which is amazing, but it's unlikely to be a permanent change.

I definitely hope that younger generations are learning a lot more about investing and the power of compounding, etc... I'm definitely trying to bring more women into the blockchain space to help out.

Sort:  

I'd never once considered that even if pay were equal, there would still be an outsized portion of rich old dudes controlling capital.

The pay thing might not be quite what it is reported to be. However, what would be an interesting thought experiment, calculating how long it would take if all things remained equal, except the risk tolerance was reversed.

And yep, I think part of the reason men can do with less is also part of the risk thing. Maybe men are more able to be uncomfortable - though women can definitely take more high-end pain :D

Everyone needs to improve their financial knowledge in the next generation - hopefully we are helping them :)

I'd say more able to be uncomfortable, more able to make a decent wage with less and honestly, currently more able to generate disposable income to get back on their feet quicker - since I'm sure pay is not equal across all sectors in all countries.

I love the idea of that thought experiment... the world could potentially be a very different place with more equal distribution of capital... different projects funded, different problems solved. Could be extremely interesting to just tweak a couple of numbers here and there.

different projects funded, different problems solved. Could be extremely interesting to just tweak a couple of numbers here and there.

For sure and it all comes down to financial literacy. My daughter will have it, if she knows nothing else :)