You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Valuable content is an experience

in LeoFinance4 years ago

Yeah man, we have to give something new, a new information or a new perspective which will be helpful for the reader.

Whever I write about my personal experiences, I always try to think that, is there anything good in it for the reader?

Is that gonna change or enhance his knowledge?

You always does it perfectly.

Sort:  

I always try to think that, is there anything good in it for the reader?

What I have found interesting over the years is that a lot of the things that I thought might get picked up didn't and some people engage with areas I think are less important :)

Less important, and/or easier to get their head around?

I think that was shown a few weeks ago with your shortest post in a long time picking up a load of comments.

I think that was shown a few weeks ago with your shortest post in a long time picking up a load of comments.

Yes, but there was also an intention behind it - it wasn't the length of post that did it, it was the relationship I have with the audience too. Without that relationship, it wouldn't have got that engagement - and if I remember, some people mentioned that a post that short shouldn't get rewarded so high - so they are rating the value of the post, not the level of engagement it received.

For example that post https://hive.blog/hive-173737/@tarazkp/what-would-you-prefer-short-long-or-a-mix-of-content-types-on-hive
was 140 words and got 133 comments.

https://hive.blog/hive-174578/@tarazkp/why-wouldn-t-someone-join-hive
this one was 1500 and 264 comments

It isn't the length that matters, it's how you use it ;D

I am lucky though, but it has been a long and hard process of engagement, as you yourself know. yours and my content has various types of value and are quite different in approach - yet get engagement. Neither of us are overly large accounts and have come from very little stake wise until quite recently - so it isn't the "whale effect" in play - it indicates that we have done something that the community values in some way. You more than me :D

it wasn't the length of post that did it, it was the relationship I have with the audience too. Without that relationship, it wouldn't have got that engagement

True. A part of showing up each day and making an effort to talk.

... and if I remember, some people mentioned that a post that short shouldn't get rewarded so high - so they are rating the value of the post, not the level of engagement it received.

Yeah, engagement is seldom factored in it seems, but that could/should change in future.

I think part of the issue for me is that I try to look at my/a post without taking the author into consideration. And if I do that with my stuff, whilst taking the pending payouts into consideration, I think they are over-rewarded, and that puts me off doing anything the following day to repay, or not take out more than I think I should get.

And if I do that with my stuff, whilst taking the pending payouts into consideration, I think they are over-rewarded

I am not so sure. I think that we also look at the rewards in a different way through experience of 75/25 split, not the 50/50. This has an effect on my thinking at least and I have to adjust it in my head. If you then consider that the rewards that you get on your post are from people who are supporting where value and engagement happens, they are essentially supporting the ecosystem using your content as a proxy. I see accounts like yours much like community nodes, gathering points of value and engaged users looking to improve their experience. In many ways, you not posting might have a detrimental effect on the community.

. In many ways, you not posting might have a detrimental effect on the community.

Don't tell me that, I can feel the pressure already! Thanks though :)

... the rewards that you get on your post are from people who are supporting where value and engagement happens, they are essentially supporting the ecosystem using your content as a proxy.

An interesting point, I will have to think more on this.

Don't tell me that, I can feel the pressure already!

Every day you don't post, Hive dies a little bit inside.

An interesting point, I will have to think more on this.

I might write a post on it one day ;P

That happened to me also, The posts I hesitated post because it may be boring, got the attention sometimes

I think this is why it can be better just to be an open creator and create relatively freely and what is important to you.