Booked a small profit on DOT for a short term trading

in LeoFinance3 years ago

Polkadot is one of the hottest coins in the top 10. I did get a chance to purchase some polkadot which the price was low. Thanks to my friend who gave a shout-out at the right time and made me buy at least a little DOT tokens. The profit that I'm talking about in this article is not the one that I booked with those holdings that I bought long term.

image.png

I have two types of DOT holdings. I have some staked on CUBfinance that is yielding me CUB tokens every day. The other set of DOT tokens are the ones I use for trading purposes. I have been a bit successful in the past in trading DOT tokens. I buy them when the market is red and sell them when the market is Green again. The main intention here is that even if the market goes down further, I wouldn't worry much because I'm happy to hold my DOT tokens for the long term.

So it is ultimately a small buy and sells the game to see some $ profit. Usually, I'm not very good at trading but recently after hearing from a lot of people that we cannot grow our stake if we don't buy the dip and sell the pump. I have been trying to do it for quite some time. It's been 3 times already on DOT tokens and I was a bit lucky to grab some profits. I used to think that maybe if I try the game on other cryptocurrencies, I would even grab lots of profits but DOT price is something that I have been observing for a long time and I know when to buy and when to sell.

Similar trading on Hive would also work out well because I also observe Hive prices more frequently. It would be good to purchase Hive at a cheap price and then buy it back when it goes down. Actually, I should be doing it the other way. I sell it first when it is high and then buy it when it goes low. This way it would be a good deal because anyway I don't mind holding Hive for the long term and at the same time, it is not going to burn my fingers if I book some profit out of Hive if the market goes sideways.

Polkadot_OG.png

In the last dip, I purchased DOT tokens for 35$ per coin, and then the day before yesterday I booked my profit by selling them for 40$. My intention was actually to wait till 45 USD and book my profit but two days back the market scared me a little bit. The price of many coins dropped and DOT went back to 36 USD. I didn't want to bite my nails if again DOT goes below 35 USD. That is one of the reasons why I booked my profit sooner than my target price. A 5 dollars profit per coin is definitely great and maybe if the market is going down again, I will also have some liquidity to purchase coins cheap again. Now I'm waiting for the next dip to happen.



Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Good job acting on your plan even if you got out a bit early. I don't think its a bad idea to realize some profits and if you are worried, you can always just sell most of your position and leave a little bit of the house money on the table for the ride next time. Of course that isn't financial advice.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yes the profit would have been double if I sold it now. But I didn't want to take the risk. A small profit itself is well and good.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 57 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
8

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 80 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

5 dollar per token is a good profit.
Are you planning to reinvest this profit back into the dot or some other crypto ?
Good luck with whatever strategy you are thinking of.
Have a good day.
!luv 1

Today I reinvested the money on Hive for a short term profit. Hive is below 50 cents. If it goes anywhere above 55 cents I would book profit again and exit. If the price goes further down, I'll keep the hive forever or maybe even power up.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Bravo!! ... No I won't sell my Dot coins now...but I also agree that you need to sell at tops and buy at dips.

I am learning how to spot tops pretty well...but not sold and then wait to buy dips, because I am not much of a trader but Hodler.

But eventually, i would sell my coins and wait for the dip and buy again especially coins coins like DOT and Atom that have solid fundamentals