Have you sold your Steem already?

in LeoFinance4 years ago

Most of us would have heard about the HF23 that happened recently on Steem. When the HF23 leaked as news there was also another announcement on Twitter about a new blockchain called Blurt. I don't know if that was reasonable or not but this pumped the steem price a little. The recent act by Steem witnesses has created a big panic situation among investors. Yesterday I wrote an article about how I was affected by this HF23 though not directly. Justin as usual lied on his twitter page saying that he had nothing to do with the HF23 but still his puppet witnesses were running the new code.

image.png

The statement was something like he did not break the glass but his hand did. It is so stupid and I wonder how there are still people who are believing in him. To be honest when Justin took over the blockchain, I had hopes on him because he already had enough experience with Tron. Later after seeing the way he did stupid things, I completely lost hope and with the recent change that happened on the chain it gives me a feeling that Steem is not secure anymore.

As I mentioned in my article yesterday if a group of 20 individuals can take away the funds from someone's wallet, then what security this platform is providing and how will the investors get a good feeling to invest in this blockchain. Today the funds were taken away from 65 accounts and tomorrow it can even be our own accounts. We all know this is a decentralized platform and everyone has the right to talk and share their opinion. If a bunch of folks can plan and steal away 23 million funds, what else should we call this than calling it a theft?

Someone rightly mentioned that when a new blockchain is created the new creators or new witnesses have the full freedom to choose whom they should be airdropping and whom they shouldn't be airdropping. Another good reason was that there was no guarantee that the new airdropped token would go well. There are many new projects that emerge very well with a big bang and end up having no value. It is just luck and the community support that made Hive get some value and purely it is based on demand and supply. If the value is looking good, it means that many people want this platform and are investing in this platform.

image.png

Source

The act that HF23 did was nothing but stealing user funds without their permission. It is something like breaking into a bank and taking away 65 people's bank balances along. Would they agree if someone else did that to them?

This situation has created a lot of insecurity among investors. People have been cashing out their funds from Steem. The problem we have right now is that deposit and withdrawal have been suspended on Bittrex and other exchanges. Luckily Steem-Engine works well that helps in making the transfer possible. People are now using Steem-Engine and Hive-Engine to convert their Steem to Hive. I have also been moving my funds slowly from Steem to Hive.

I liked one aspect of the HF23. We can all do a power down in just 4 weeks now instead of waiting for 13 weeks' power-down. That's one good thing to get our funds sooner. I personally don't feel like keeping any funds on the Steem wallet after this HF23 event because it is no longer secure. The witnesses can write another Hard Fork and try to nullify my account as well. The hard-earned money and my investment in the past 3 years would vanish in just seconds if that happens. I've been selling my funds recently from Steem and I would like to do as early as possible because there is a high possibility that the price can go down anytime after get to know about the 23 million stakes that were seized.


I'm not advising anyone here to get your funds out of Steem but I'm just giving a perspective as to how insecure the platform is and to think and act wisely. If you find the article informative, please vote, share, and follow. Also, please let me know your thoughts in the comments section.


Posted Using LeoFinance

Sort:  

Yes, we all should sell our steem as soon as possible. But I would suggest keeping some of the liquid Steem like 500 or 1000 in the exchange just in case if the price increase.

Yes but the problem is the exchanges are also not reliable. I'm holding a little on Steem-Engine and Hive-Engine. I also keep swapping them now and then for a little profit.

Yeah that is also a good option.

yeah will keep some in case it pops lol

Yes I'm also going to keep a little just to see what happens.

Yes, you never know what Justin can do for the price but still to be safe.

He might do some magic to get his followers to invest. So anything can happen.

Most people are selling STEEM some has need of money and some has some fear. Due to Corona losses.

Yes that's true. But now that we are having a strange situation, it is better to sell them and that's why I decided to power down and sell all my stake.

Which exchange has deposit open?

I'm not sure. Binance works with just one pair I guess. But all I'm doing is using Steem-Engine and Hive-Engine. 😀 The below site helps in swapping to Hive.

https://beeswap.dcity.io/

thanks a lot for the help one more thing, I have to ask did I have to sell the SWAP.STEEM token to receive the amount in hive in m hive account???

Yes, Swap.Steem is a steem equivalent on Hive Engine. You can convert that to Hive and then withdraw to your Hive wallet.

thanks big brother for all your help I have done the whole think.

Welcome, brother. 😀

Sold like half of my Steem and used it to get some sweet Hive Power. I will probably do that with the rest too. :D

That's nice. I guess that's what most of the people are doing. I also bought some Splinterlands card with my holdings and rest I moved to hive.

I will be using SE to convert Steem to Hive.
Steem is no longer a safe place for me

Yes that's right. I also used the same. Steem-Engine and Hive-Engine help for conversion. 😀

Are there any option left ?

What options bro? Are you asking about exchanges for trading? If that is the case Steem-Engine and Hive-Engine are available for swapping to Hive.

Na... I mean to sell steam ...and leave steemit...there are no other option

I personally don't have any hopes on Steem anymore. When Justin acquired steemit, I guess that is when centralization started and the series of events happened after that made me lose all the faith on that platform. There are some good reasons for my decision:

  • All big stakeholders quit
  • No new investments
  • Even if we post our payouts end in cents
  • No further development
  • No developers out there for any new projects
  • The blockchain is fully centralized and Justin controls it

What other hopes do you see?

So left with leaving Steem..

🙂

Ya that's right. 😀

That's a good sign but a very silly doubt, whatever steem wallet we had, it was migrated to Hive rit? Do I still have Steem left which I can exchange/withdraw 😧

You will have the steem which was there in your wallet, Hive was just a fork which gave you equal amount of coins which you had in Steem.

Woo... ur comment just made me rich ❤
I was in assumption that all my steem was converted to hive, And steem no longer exists. I started the power down and will soon find ways to convert them back to hive.

Yes, you can start the power down and wait for the exchanges to open up the deposits. Then you can convert that to the hive.

Cool sir 😊

Hive is entirely a new blockchain. Your Steem will still remain the same in your wallet. Steem and Hive are two different blockchains. You can login to your steem wallet, power down, and sell them or swap them to Hive.

http://steemitwallet.com/

I think most are stuck because there are no exchanges that are accepting STEEM conversions at this time.

Posted Using LeoFinance

I was able to exchange Steem for Hive today by buying DEC in splinterlands, transferring that DEC to Hive-Engine and trading for Hive. Mind you, if everyone did this there would certainly be a lot of downward pressure on DEC, but that would be great for DEC buyers. I'm sure there are other ways to convert using Steem-engine and Hive-engine right now, but that was the easiest route for me.

Yes that's a trick actually. Many people use that trick to move tokens from Steem-Engine to Hive-Engine. By the way beeswap helps too.

https://beeswap.dcity.io/

Yes that's true. But you can still use Steem-Engine and Hive-Engine if you want to convert them to Hive. That's what I have been doing. 😀

Where can I sell it ? Not working on blocktrades or Binance

You can use Steem-Engine and Hive-Engine for swapping it to Hive. That's what I have been doing. 😀 The below site also helps.

https://beeswap.dcity.io/

I guess It was a good idea to keep a few 100,000 Steem to get the 100,000 Blurt Airdrop in July.
More free crypto... so many new Forks.

Yes that's true but imagine 100,000 steem vanishing from your account with another Hard Fork. 😉 And moreover, there is no official update about this Blurt. From what I hard from their discord channel, they did mention that they have already taken the snapshot. And we cannot predict what will be the future of Blurt. 😀 If you get to know more news about Blurt, please share.

Looks like I made a good call. Late but good. :-)

Yes bro. Congrats on the swap. 😀

I have a bought big brother, If any how I will sell the steem is that going to affect to my hive account or hive I have here❓ ❔

Steem and Hive are two different blockchains. Selling your Steem will not have any effect on the Hive you hold.

ok thanks for clearing my dought big brother.

Cool no problem. Cheers!

thanks a lot I have transferred all my steem to hive and sp in on power down thanks a lot. I didn't knew about all this shits 😉 🤝 🙏

You that you found it at least now. Cheers! 😀

ya that is true but its all possible because of you big bother🍻 🤝 🙏

can you help me and guide what is this option in https://steempeak.com/
that is claim account creation token

Screenshot%20(142).png

Screenshot%20(143).png

That option is for creating account creation tokens. As the description says. If you have a certain amount of RC in your account you can claim that token and keep. That can then be used to invite your friends or someone who wants to create an account here.

ok then I think this is not an important one

I am powering down and wanting to sell my steem but I don't like any of the exchanges I have to use.

Someone suggested selling on Steem-engine and convert to Hive on Hive-Engine ....

I did that today through splinterlands. Bought DEC with Steem, transferred DEC to hive-engine and traded for Hive. Once this becomes known though DEC is going to see a lot of action lol.

You can probably try using Steem-Engine or Hive-Engine. That's what I used to convert my Steem to Hive. 😀

Not yet, but it is a possibility.

Good 😀

I wonder who is running blurt...

It is not fully sure who is running Blurt. I joined a discord server two days back and I couldn't get any useful information from there as well.

the timing of the power down change on steem is pretty funny. I started powering down steem when Hive started and converting to hive every week since, and when I went and checked my Steem accounts just now I have 4 power down weeks left. So if I stopped the power downs and restarted, nothing would change.

Yes same for me as well. But I do have a few more new SP on my account. Tomorrow is going there is going to be a payout for me. After that I would cancel my power down and reinitiate it.

pretty much going to sell steem to invest into something else, then will take those profits and power up hive

That's a good idea. All the best for that. 😃