Progress Report - January 2021

in LeoFinance3 years ago

February 1st, 2021

Monthly Progress Report January


My monthly progress reports serve a couple of purposes:

  • The first one, and primary reason for doing them, is that it allows me to see where I have been, where I am going, and where I am falling short in my personal goals.

  • The second purpose they serve is to let people, new accounts and old, see an honest representation of an account built from scratch and not really knowing anything at all about cryptocurrency.

  • A New Year I am looking forward to the end of March, and the marking of a full year on Hive.


Monthly Charts and Tables

The Monthly Progress Report Table:


Monthly Table

Ah the beginning of the year, clean almost empty charts. Under Financial Stuff you will note that the Current HP total column has a number, that number is the total HP earned above the ending amount for December 2020. The difference in that number and the Total HP Earned is other small amounts from contest and Token drips receive,. all those little 0.012 and 0.002 drips do add up, some of which are powered up when sent.

The end of month spike in HBD price may have a small effect in that I convert all my HBD's as received and then at the end of the month to do my pie charts I convert the total HBD to Hive so as to be comparing apples and apples. Most of the time I would receive about an 8 to 1 ratio, with the spike on a few small amounts it was 11 to 1. So that conversion number may be off by 20% in the pie chart:

Earnings Pie Chart

I was not a very active Hive Soul during January, but I still managed to get my votes out and the curation helped keep my account growing. I hope to do better than 4 post for February, and bring my pie chart back to a 33 split between the three.

Monthly Account Growth

Looks to be flattening a little bit but still a very nice uptrend. Of course until i begin to take funds out it should continue to grow. Almost 5000 HP growth since the inception of HIVE, and 2000+ HP growth since the final Steem conversion. So I am pretty happy with the amount of steady growth.


Engagement Charts and Tables:


Engagement Levels Chart Not a very stellar performance, and a little bit of room for improvement. It would be great if I could maintain that Aug-Sep-Oct output, but a slight improvement back to Dec levels will be nice.

Posting was down also:
Posting ChartLowest output since Hive started, I need to return to at least the October level of postings, two post a week would be nice but I am not going to force myself.

Engagement League Activity
That is week 40-44 of the league, new year and the 39 week long chart was getting pretty long so a new beginning. It must be noted that for week 42, (1/17), I did not make the list and the comment count was done manually using the peakd tool page.

Week 42 was the first time since joining the Curation and Engagement league that I did not make the list.

Back in August I made a commitment and set a goal to to reach 20,000 comments by years end. A few other joined in, and I think I am the only one that did not reach their set goal, I am still working on it, and maybe by the end of February I will be there, only 481 to go.
comment commitment countdown


Conclusion and side notes:

It is a new year, we have made it 10 months on Hive we are nestled tightly in our crib with lots and lots of love and hand holding and soon we will be out crawling all over the floor and exploring like never before.

I am looking forward to the one year anniversary of Hive. Steem seems so far in the past now, with HF 24 we had a nice solid break from Steem, the foundation layer is being carefully crafted and not rushed so as to avoid becoming an over patched weak foundation.

The spike in HBD was nice, it may have helped a few fence sitters decide to take a look inside and see what our community growing into a nation looks like. I hope it did/does drum up some coattail effect. I wonder also if HBD stays above the $1.00 mark as it is so far if we will start to see part of our rewards in HIVE? For me that would be nice.

Well pretty much it for now, and if your wondering the drips I get are from archon, and dhedge.


Related Progress Report Links:


Tiny Picture links back to my blog:

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 42 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
10

Congratulations @bashadow! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 1 badge.
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the February 1st Hive Power Up Day

I was wondering the same thing about receiving Hive rather than HBD, if the price of HBD stays relatively strong and above 1.00.

When it comes to figuring out what your Vest earnings are, do you do the math on your own (I know it's relatively easy to do if you plot a starting figure) or do you pull that from somewhere else? I guess what I am getting at is it is nice to see how your investment is growing and I have no clue how mine is making out. I should really start my own spreadsheet again. I had one for a while then started to forget to plug in the numbers. SHAME on me. lol 😁

Your numbers are looking good!

I get all/most of my numbers manually from the peakd tool page, every couple of days I enter the numbers on my spreadsheet. I tried keeping track of all my tiny HBD conversions to HIVE, but it got pretty tedious, so now I just convert the HBD number to HIVE at the end of the month, not real accurate especially when there is a spike just before the conversion, but still pretty close I feel.

I'm pretty happy with how my account is slowly growing. in another year and a half I will have been here for five years banking the steem/hive, then I will decide if I want to get an exchange account so I can by and sell with fiat.

@bashadow my friend!

That's an awesome report, and I see a positive uptrend. I even dare say, that for the first time in my life, I am ready to invest in HIVE. My wife @lionmom said the other day, "Why do you wanna invest in Polkadot or Cardano? Why don't you put your money where your mouth is? Why don't you invest in a project that matches your convictions and ideology?"

To that, I did not answer because I knew she was right, the "why" of any investment is so important, I hope she writes an article about it soon.

I made a lot of money thanks to HIVE and its predecessor, it's time to give back.

A little time to vote and a little more time on replies, and a lot more time on posting, when I do one, is pretty much it. It did help that Hive forked from Steem, and I was able to double up my Hive, but pretty much it is only time I have invested. I would like to invest some fiat, but I have another year and a half before I learn to use the exchanges and convert Fiat into Crypto or to convert crypto into Fiat.

But with the slow steady rise lately of Hive I may have to look a little earlier, but I really want to stick to my 5 year learning plan.

It's really super easy to buy with fiat(says the guy that doesn't do it alone and is helped by his wife)

That is what people keep telling me, but when I first started I set a 5 year goal, and I know if I go ahead and make the plunge, I will be buying and selling and trading. This way I lose no money, just have a potential to make some. Although I know in a year and a half I will probably be bemoaning the fact I did not buy any more when it was only 11 cents.

Did you dab into Hive Engine tokens a bit?

Yes I have, and I am trying to build some of the Fund style tokens. Archon, dhedge between them I get about 0.020 Hive a day, not much, but still it is some. I also have some of the H-E Index fund, while they don't really give Hive they do give me some other Hive Engine tokens. LBI will be doing drips of tokens soon, and it is based on just the LEO token and it's offerings, not sure how that will play out.

So yep, I am dabbling in the Hive Engine tokens a little bit.