Standing Liberty Quarter - Why Stand When You Can Be Held?

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

1621526357936_0025654.png

Molly Seems To Have An Opinion ..

Well, she always does. This time she says, Why STAND when you could easily be HELD? I sort of agree with her on this one. Maybe my thoughts are a bit different then the ones you are currently thinking, or maybe not if your tendency is usually that of the HODLing nature.

Molly likes being held.. when she wants to be held. That is when she perceives danger to be imminent, when it's cold outside, or if she decides she wants held for no other reason at all but to be held. It's her world after all!

And NO, She is not into wine.. She prefers whiskey
IMG_6907.JPG

Speaking Of Being Held.. Who says it's not a good thing? Somethings are better held than not held.. If you know what I mean. Like the remote control! Better to be held than to have your significant other with all of the control. If I don't 'Hold' the remote then I end up watching women pick out wedding dresses for countless hours, instead of seeing what oddity 'American Pickers' will turn up. Serves me right for not HOLDLING!!! (cry,cry)

Hive text divider.png

The Silver Coin ..

So this rings true with coins too. Hodl your silver coins, because if you don't, they will be gone and there is no good reason for that. Well.. Maybe there is, but then it wouldn't quite fit into this story I'm writing here, so amuse me if you would. hehe.

I held onto my silver coins.. And one of which I am showing you here today. It's a Silver Standing Liberty Quarter. I wouldn't call it a rare coin, but at a total weight of 6.25 grams, it contains 5.625 grams (90%) of silver! That's worth holding onto in my opinion. After all, it's silver and silver is for stacking!!!

1917 Standing Liberty Quarter - Variety 2
1621520685789.png

I picked this coin up at an antique shop.. I usually don't buy coins at an antique shop, because they are over priced most of the time. This doesn't keep me from looking, and on occasion I do find something worth my while. I paid $1.00 USD for the coin back around 2005. I believe it's value has increased now that I have held it for about 16 years. The bullion value along is something like $5.00 USD now. (I should have bought more)

This coin came in two varieties.. One with Stars below the eagle (Like mine) and one without the stars. Mine has the stars and thus is 'Variety 2'.

IMG_0409.JPG

The details on my Standing Liberty are not the best, but not the worst either. There is still a good deal of detail in the eagle feathers, head, and along the edges of the coin. The same goes for the obverse of the coin.. good detail in the human figure and her clothing, the shield, the date and the outlining design around the edge.

IMG_0408.JPG

The edge of the coin isn't in bad shape either. The edge is what is called 'Reeded'. The reeds are formed well and there is very little along the lines of damage or wear to them.

IMG_0407.JPG

Hive text divider.png

Sort Of Off Topic..

BUT..... I find the best place for taking photos of my coins (or other) is on a black piece of hard matt paper, placed on a sunny windowsill. This is where Molly hangs out, but sometimes she lets daddy use the space for blog photos. Thank You Molly!

IBXJ2164.JPG

I just place the coin and the paper on the sill, trying not to disturb "Your Highness".. Surprisingly she tolerates this invasion of space relatively well and without incident.

IMG_0410.JPG

Hive text divider.png

Other Cool Coin Facts - Thanks To Numista ..

Capture_7952875.JPG

Source - Numista

Capture_98745798436.JPG

Source - Numista

Capture_8745989432876.JPG

Source - Numista

Hive text divider.png

Is There A Lesson To Be Learned??? ..

Sure. I think so. I think that lesson (In My Wacky Opinion) is that sometimes it's better to be held than to stand. I already asked Molly and she agrees with me (right now at least.. and her opinion changes minute by minute).

HOLD on to your coins, your silver, your gold, or whatever it is your stacking.. Until the time to let them go, is right for YOU.

IMG_0406.JPG

Hive text divider.png

IMG_9275 (2).JPG

“Tell me again about the girl whose hands
have no color. Whose hands are completely
white. This time make them damned, or
untouched, or have her open a red umbrella
or point at some maple leaves and damned
near cry. Those hands. As freakish goes,
I wish I had a tail. Maybe then you’d know
how much I like you. It shakes me through,
damn through. It shakes me. When she carries
a peacock feather. When she touches her neck
or thighs. You’re a person. It’s not so bad.
You have hands. You are a person with hands
to hold things. Things you like. Tremendous
things. Tell me what you will hold today. I
know there is room for everything. There is no
need to be ceremonious. Tell what gets let go.”

― Rebecca Wadlinger

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

text16.png

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

The Orchid Lovers Community!

Love Orchids? Consider joining our community. We look forward to seeing you there!!!

The Orchid Lovers Community

A place for people who Love Orchids!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

For a $1 you may have gotten a gem!
Where did you find it... an antique shop?
The details are outstanding on that one, @bdmillergallery!
Where have you been?

I made out okay on that deal. It may have been $1.25 or 1.30 not sure, but close to a buck. Yup, at an antique shop near Philly area of NJ. It was such a good bit ago, that I am not sure if they are even still in business. I think a lot of those types of places went through some hurting through Covid times.

Thanks for looking at my post! Yeah I've been in and out in a limited fashion. Work is crazy right now and unlike Hive, it pays me the big bucks.. lol.

Hope all is well with you and yours! 😁

Your Standing Liberty looks a lot better shape than mine, though I don't see many Standing Libertys at my LCS in Vancouver Canada, usually Washingtons are the common fare they have when I asked for US Constitutional quarters.

And I am more a Rum gal.

Thanks for sharing @bdmillergallery and Molly!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I didn't remember it looking as good as it did, until I got it out for this post. Then I was like.. "Dang! That is in pretty decent shape."

You would think for the production run amounts, that you would be able to find more in your coin shop. Oh Well... If I find a few more I will send you some 😁

Molly and I like Rum too.. "Yo Ho Ho and a bottle of Rum!" 😁

untitled.gif

Molly...always worth to read any post of yours lol...and drop a comment repeating myself about how cute this lil bundle is 😂 ...if it annoys you just let me know lol...you better not 👊

YOU PUPPY STALKER YOU!!!! Hehehe.. You're never annoying. I'll tell Molly that you think she is cute and then I expect her to feel more entitled and sort of like royalty. Like Joy, she is worth the fuss 😊

😂 Guilty as charged.

Molly would love Joy...and he would love her. Don't tell anyone but Joy is falling for the little ones 😉.

I'm dreaming of my Molly every night since a week or so. You know, those real ones. I miss her but it is nice to see her in my dreams 😌😞

That is a really cool coin! Yeah, Jovi is pretty picky about when she wants to be close to you and when she doesn't. We were surprised last night when she snuggled up next to my wife. That usually doesn't happen too much these days. She likes her alone time!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Oh.. I see how it is.. you auto vote my post 40% then come back to change it up to 2%!!! 😲 haha.. obviously I am just yanking your chain. I will pay you back when your Green Thumb fails this summer.. hehehehehe.. I know, I am so bad!

Sometimes I think that old coins are so much cooler than new shiny ones. Its the wear and tear that I enjoy. Just enough to add some interesting detail.

Jovi is so stinkin cute and reminds me so much of Molly and her personality.

Ah! Sorry about that. I have you on autovote because you always post such great stuff. I missed it and manual voted you. It should have been like 2% Hive and 10% Leo or something like that. I will get you next time.

untitled.gifI was only messing with you. I figured you would laugh about it. DO NOT get me the next time around, change it now! Hahaha no really. Just kidding with you. It was funny that I noticed but the reason was I had looked at something and saw $5.00 pay out then it went to $4.65 and I was like what? I looked for the dreaded down vote and saw none. So my curiosity got the beat of me. Lol.
Really it was just a joke. You’ve always been so good to me. I just have a weird sense of humor, that’s all. Here’s a virtual whisky to make up for it...

Haha. That would surprise me too! I do feel bad though, you deserve better than that!

Nah. Don’t be silly. Some days I don’t even think about the crypto payouts. I’ve found that even if Hive would dive (although I would be sad about it and my investment) I would still be chugging along. It a sort of therapy for me most of the time. And the friendships I’ve made are truly priceless. I just wish you and a few other lived closer so we could get together and have some real good laughs about stuff. Oh well. Maybe a Hive club camping trip!! Molly wouldn’t like it though, unlike Jovi.

Congratulations @bdmillergallery! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 61000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 62000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Account creation and Account Recovery steps
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!