How to keep yourself sane as a crypto investor

in LeoFinancelast year

Keeping ourselves sane as crypto investors and finding equilibrium is not an easy task as you might think, but it requires respecting some rules and being conscious of the risks that this type of investment brings to us. While I have compiled a list of things to consider in order to keep our minds healthy and reactions appropriate based on the events on the market, I am trying also to answer if I am following these rules or not. At the same time, I am encouraging you to do the same and maybe provide more rules that we can pay attention to in the long run.

crypto_sane.jpg

Invest in blue-chip crypto assets at first. It is clear that when we are in the new world of crypto we shouldn't dive into some dark corners in the hope to find some shining gems, but first bet on the right horses and chose those assets that proved their value. For example, we can consider Bitcoin and Ethereum at the top.
Do I follow this rule? Yes.

image.png

Manage the risk associated with holding and securing crypto assets. When investing in crypto there are also some security aspects to consider as we would need to store our assets in a wallet and ensure that we back up the phrase and do not forget the password to access the funds. Here we can take a step further and use a hardware wallet, but still, we will need to back up our keys/phrases and ensure to know the password. Holding assets on exchanges proved once again not so secure after the FTX downfall.
Do I follow this rule? Partially.

image.png

Size your portfolio properly. Too many assets might make your portfolio unmanageable, while fewer might not help it balance in the bear market periods. I would presume a good size portfolio one structured from up to 10 assets.
Do I follow this rule? No.

image.png

Don't put all your eggs into one basket. It is important not to be a maximalist or bet everything on a single asset, even if that's Bitcoin. We need to diversify the assets in order to manage the risk for unexpected price movements.
Do I follow this rule? Yes.

image.png

Do your own research (DYOR). It is good to do your own research (DYOR) before investing in anything even if it is easier to follow someone's token shilling. But in the end, we are the ones to suffer when we make bad decisions, so we need to own them.
Do I follow this rule? Partially.

image.png

Take profits or liquidate positions during a bull market. I didn't do this in 2017/2018 bull market and I repeated the same mistake during 2021/2022 bull market. I am promising myself to take profits in the next bull market, let's hope I will know when it is the most opportune to do so.
Do I follow this rule? No.

image.png

Use the bear market to strengthen positions and even accumulate more. Here different strategies can be used in order to build a stronger portfolio during a bear market and I am doing Dollar Cost Average (DCA). Simply buying on a weekly basis, regardless of the price on the market.
Do I follow this rule? Yes.

These are some of the rules that can keep someone sane while investing in crypto and navigating the market. As you see I have my wrongs, but I think there is still hope for me in the future as I understand more and more the crypto markets and how these are playing based on different conditions. While I have realized the weak points, I am currently in process of strengthening them and improving my portfolio through specific actions: hold my assets into my own wallets and not exchanges, put the assets at work using decentralized ecosystems, focus on fewer assets, and grow them within the portfolio, perform DCA and so on. I challenge you to respond on how the above rules apply to you and think about what you could do better. Learning from our mistakes is imperative and only by going through such a process we can be successful in the end.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Take profits or liquidate positions during a bull market. I didn't do this in 2017/2018 bull market and I repeated the same mistake during 2021/2022 bull market. I am promising myself to take profits in the next bull market, let's hope I will know when it is the most opportune to do so.

6-12 months after halving. I need to remember that :)

Right, the next one is in 2024 I think.

If only we had a token for sanity. I'm sure we would all be doing much better /s

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah, that could be a new protocol :))))

Very useful and practical rules, just like you said, I believe people shouldn't establish on dark corners, expecting shiny thingys, a lot of people are buying into outrageous APR with the hope that they can make a lot of money, and they biy into scam crypto projects.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Assets that confirmed their worth for years over and over again should be at the top of anyone's portfolio.

This is probably one of the best posts that I saw on LeoFinance lately!!! All these "rules" that you have listed are VERY, VERY IMPORTANT to know and follow! Must read for everyone, newbies, and oldbies... :)

I remember that 5 years ago I didn't follow ANY of these rules... lol... But, as time was passing by, I began to implement slowly them... I was especially proud at Take profits or liquidate positions during a bull market. that one... I did the same mistake as you in 2017/2018, but as it was so hard time for me (the bear market that followed), I said to myself that I will never repeat the same mistake... And I did take some profits when we had that "mini-bull market" with BTC to 60K!

But, I have to work more on Size your portfolio properly that one... I would add to that your rule that it's important to "re-size" your portfolio when some of your assets go up in price... take profits, spill it to another one, etc...

Once again, thanks for the post!


I have picked this post on behalf of the @OurPick project which will be highlighted in the next post!

Comment Footer.jpg

Much appreciated and we never stop learning and improving. Not taking profits probably is one of the most painful as that affect our ability of future investments and also knowing how to play the market cycles.

Those are some good rules. I would also suggest making a plan or goal for a token beforehand and stick to it. It's especially true if people are trying to trade.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah, that's a good idea to establish goals for each asset as all have different ways of providing revenue.

For me, on the top of the list is securing and managing crypto assets. It’s kind of complex so I always brush it at the back of my head, leaving it as a pending task. I also don't normally do enough research but I do size my portfolio with a structured format on a couple of assets. DCA is indeed a must because it makes the journey a bit easier and less stressful in timing the market.

I'll also add, zooming out and rewinding, taking in a new/fresh perspective on things. Often times, when we get immersed in something, we tend to focus on the details and forget the big picture or missing the whole board.

All true!

Market is quite some time away from being at its peak again. But no doubt we will see a bullish market well into the future. Great advice for those experiencing this for the first time.

Yeah, some things are good to remember and if not applied try to correct them. We can all do better.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @behiver ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

This post has been manually curated by @bhattg from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating your Leo power to @india-leo account? We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Do your own research

The most underutilized tool in cryptocurrency.

Cheers,

!BEER

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta