Watch out for scammers

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

Screenshot_20210118194004.png

I don't know how these scammers find me on discord, but every now and then, I receive these weird messages from random accounts that are obviously up to no good.

answer from @erikah: You have your Discord handle listed in every single post of yours and not only. Bots are working
Fair point but I'm betting it is bots and not people because every scammer that reads my posts will know that I'm bad market by now

The idiots behind these schemes are getting craftier by the day and would use just about any means to nab unsuspecting suckers into their schemes.

Screenshot_20210118214719.png

A combination of my experiences in life and my time around the crypto space has given me a third eye for all these types of things. I've developed the ability to sniff out these things from a mile away, and I figured I'd share two essential tips that could save you or someone you know from being a victim.

Don't be greedy

Amongst all the reasons people get scammed for, greed tops the list. I remember the Twitter hack event last year that led to so many people losing their bitcoin. I mean, how stupid can you be to actually believe that every top figure in the world will ask you to send bitcoin to an address for some doubling or some shit.

Don't be curious

Listen, I know the scheme looks nice and all but whatever you do, don't even bother. Go with your gut from the onset and don't convince yourself to click on any link or even reply to the message.

Stay Frosty

In my experience, these two are probably the top reasons why people give away their money for some of these ridiculous schemes.

There's been a lot of positive movement in the market lately, and Bitcoin has been hitting the news more often. The scammers are also paying attention and will most likely try to capitalise on the situation.

In whatever you do, stay vigilant, don't get curious, ignore messages and know that if you see something that seems too good to be true, then it probably is too good to be true.




Please check out my Freelance gigs:

Signup for Oropcket with my referral link

Contact me


Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I don't know how these scammers find me on discord

You have your Discord handle listed in every single post of yours and not only. Bots are working.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

lmao yeah, there's that but surely they can't be people that read my posts. I just can't believe that someone who follows my posts will actually try to scam me

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

There are bots browsing the internet (the whole internet) for specific information, like email address, Discord handle and so on. It's not done manually.

I bet you get spam emails as well.

Sometimes. It's the same approach I use for them as well. Ignore the cunts and move on

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I get these on discord all the time.
I normally just say fuck off cunt and block them/close the dm xD

Lol replying them is mighty kind of you

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Its fun to diss people haha xD

don't convince yourself to click on any link or even reply to the message

I think, that's the best way to defend yourself.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I have also received such on my DM at Discord on several occasions and the magic about all this is that it is always very tempting and makes you to feel as if there is an atom of Truth attached to what they are saying.

My suggestion would be to block any account that sends such to you because that is what I've been doing since.

I get these sort of messages from time to time. It's their handle that gives them away most times. Plus, I am not big on gifts from people I don't know. For all the airdrops I have received in this life, they came either unexpectedly (from platforms I have affiliation with) or from meaningful activities.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

"free money" doesn't exist. If I didn't hustle to put it there or be in a position to have it there, it is a scam

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I've lost count of how many of these messages I have received in the last few days! There will always be someone to take advantage of people who are desperate for a quick buck. If it looks like a scam it most probably is. Just block it and delete it and move on.

Easy as that. Curiosity and greed usually gets people

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yes, most definitely!



Made in Canva

@lisamgentile1961
___