So How Much Does Your Wife / Husband/ Girlfriend/ Boyfriend Know About Your Crypto Investments??

in LeoFinance2 years ago

Untitled design.png

I have a thing about crypto. I don't want anyone to know I am into it. Crypto has become the poster boy for get rich quick schemes like the pyramid schemes of the 80s/90s. It has become hipstery. It was cool back in 2017/2018 but now everyone is in on it and I don't like that. So this is the reason I don't like talking about it. When my friends talk about it, I tend not to get into the subject. The only person that knows about it is a work colleague that is into it as well. I don't speak about Hive to anyone because Irish people are nosey and if anyone from the town knew I was blogging, they would be pulling apart every post. Hence the Barry Gibb photo and my silkylounge twitter profile. My wife knows a tiny bit of what I do but I don't tell her much and I would die if she read any posts. I decided in 2020 that I would not put a cent more into crypto as it was more a gamble not an investment after experiencing multiple rug pulls. So now I treat crypto differently. I invest the crypto I have accumulated into projects I like.Hive is one of them. I am not concerned how much my account is worth but I do want the platform to become popular. I love Splinterlands , again more of a hobby than an investment. Splinterlands is changing the landscape of computer gaming forever and I do not think we in Hive appreciate it as much as we should, to have them on the Hive platform. I think the future of the game is bright so I have recently purchased a license for a validator Node. It came to around $1500 with 500 vouchers. This ROI gives me 6 vouchers per day and SPS rewards are also coming( next Tuesday we think) 6 vouchers per day at todays prices is $1. The more nodes that are purchased , the larger the reward pool so best to get in early.

Screenshot 2022-09-08 at 20.54.24.png

So I am earning $6 per day which is $42 per week. I am just converting it to SPS right now to build up my SPS stake. When SPS rewards come online then I will start buying some decent cards from the vouchers. I have another source of passive income from the DRIP network which is paying me around €10 per day. I throw this into DEC and I am trying to max out the Chaos legion deck before it sells out. All in all I am probably making €100 euro in passive income per week. DRIP is at all time lows so this tenner per day will only get larger. The Vouchers will be high for a while hence the fact I pulled the trigger on the node last week before the Riftwatcher announcements.
But back to the point, my wife would not have a clue what I am making, how much my Splinterlands deck is worth (very little but I plan to change that) and basically she thinks they are all magic beans. She asks a few questions but mostly lets me off. She knows I am playing with monster cards which she does find quite nerdy. A 40 year old man playing video games cards does come across a bit mad but she's happy I enjoy it so thats all that matters.
If I did come out and told her how much of my money I put into crypto between 2017- 2020 I would say she would go mad. We get on great and don't argue much but I would say she would be pissed off over what she would perceive as a waste of money. Also the $100 per week could be used better than to spurge on monster cards. She is right in a way as I have put my money on the wrong crypto horse so to speak so this is why I decided to not put anything else in. Now I still have bags of certain coins and some have put me in profit overall but not as much as to say buy a car or a house.
So it is better she doesn't know for both our sakes.
So the question to you is does your other half know how much you are into crypto?
Does She/he know everything??
Tell the truth now. I know one or two of you will say that you and the other half have no secrets but I know its a pack of lies. You don't have a wife, you live in the basement with your corn flake beard and your jar of liver!

Sort:  


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @luizeba ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Because I try to tell her, my wife knows, whether she wants to or not. She doesn't understand much, but "trusts" that it will all end up okay, despite what she picks up from the media about it all being a scam. She has been supportive in giving me space to write and staying up late to work - though I don't think she'd be as understanding if there wasn't the potential for a return one day. :)

Yeah I get you. But when is that day? 5 years ? 10 years? Or when you hit a number or maybe more importantly a passive income number

I think a steady passive income number would be good. Steady though... Not moon only.

She doesn't know, even though I am here doing crypto in front of her. She does not want to invest herself in learning.

Probably suits you both the way it is. If I told my wife I purchased a digit Llama for 200 bucks , she would probably think I'm a lunatic.

I had the exact opposite experience. I told everyone. I retired from work and tried to start an online class to teach everyone I know how to get rich slowly here. I started a special community and started working on a game we could all play to get the hang of how it all works. It would’ve cost no one anything but an hour a week. No one even dropped by to read my posts, much less start an account and start playing along.

Now I may or may not discuss it if asked and I want a fleet of lambos just to show off before I buy a boat to spend the rest of my life aboard.

Fuck everyone I know. 🤣

Wow awesome story. Sorry to hear there was a poor showing. Well now you will be known as the crypto guy.

Lol. If I’m being totally honest the class was a place for me to organize my thoughts and solidify my own understanding as much as it was a gesture to teach others. Seemed like a win win but it worked on my end none the less so the poor showing wasn’t particularly detrimental to that side of things.

I identify as the wife of the household so...pretty much?

I went crazy at the beginning of 2017 telling everything to my relatives, they thought I was crazy and dumb. Now I don't tell anybody, not even my girl.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's better that each. No one cam be disappointed then .

I don't talk to anyone about crypto because they simply don't wanna know anyways. A few friends know about Bitcoin and that's all. Both my parents are aware though, just in case something happens to me they can access my funds. The less ppl know, the better.

Interesting angle. I never thought of being a victim of crypto theft by putting my name out there.

Or in case the government ban crypto and that grumpy old neighbor decides to snitch on us ala 1984

I think the right phrase would be sweet FA as no one knows what I am doing or what the values even are. they laughed at me when I started my Hive journey saying I was making cents. They would be shocked if they only knew. They would wonder why I wasn't selling lol but I need an outlet first which leads us back to question 3 or 4 in your post last night. I will get a COTI bank card when it is ready or the right time or another one as there will be 10 to a dozen one of these days. I may leave the keys or instructions for them if something happened to me, but don't plan on going anywhere just yet. That reminds me that is something I should do sooner than later.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

All them rugby concussions, your days are numbered. Give the wife the keys quick!!

Lol. I am safe from that as my brain was hardly used before I found Hive. Still in good nick and remember most things still and a blessing I retired from the sport early enough. Must be terrible being a cabbage and not remembering jack shit.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I do not tell my people what i have in Hive cause they do not want to hear about it. to them it is a scam, so better to say nothing.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah I feel a bit like you as well. What's the point? What they don't know won't hurt them. Thanks for the comment @salexa5 😀

Are you crazy!?! I don't tell the wife anything. She doesn't need to know how much I've lost on Rugpulls, Scams, FOMO, YOLO ahem I meant crypto investments! I mean someone showed me a JPEG of Oranges to invest in so I sent them 500€ straight away to their Latvian account. I've even lost count of my "holdings" meself!

!LOL !CTP

😂 😂 😂 hahaha. love it.

The oranges is sadly a true story. I still have the JPEG though.

I brought some electric grid plot in LA as well. Came to nothing like your oranges. At least you have your JPEG.

We live and learn!