Bozzlife: Not a HPUD Post

in LeoFinance4 years ago

image.png


I was sitting here at my computer playing Diablo III trying to grind my way to paragon level 800 before the season ends and I realized I should power up some of my Hive.

The past couple of months I have been making a conscious effort to save up my liquid Hive and power it all up on Hive Power Up Day. I have been acquiring this Hive through a variety of methods... Converting HBD from my post rewards, selling Splinterlands cards for DEC and then converting that to Hive on the Hive-Engine, and selling my Blurt.

Much like I set the goal of reaching paragon 800 by the end of this season in D3, I have also set the goal of getting to 20k HP by the end of the year. I try to take a break away from Hive on the weekends just to refocus, regroup, and dedicate some time to my family. Because HPUD will happen on a Sunday this(next) month, I decided to do my massive power up today.

I am going to be holding off on converting DEC for the time being. I would like to have some liquid for when the land sale goes live next month. I have really been diving into the whole NFT thing lately over on WAX, so I am really excited about expanding my holdings in Splinterlands. I know that probably sounds contradictory given the fact that I have been selling cards, but trust me, that isn't the case.

I have only been selling cards I don't use. I play the daily quests pretty much every day (except weekends) and I have found that I only ever use a handful of the same cards. In addition to that, I can only progress up to Diamond II, so there isn't any benefit to holding on to useless cards.

image.png


As you can see, I had over 1000 liquid Hive that I was looking to power up. I like trying to hit nice round numbers so I decided to only power up 1250 which I was thinking would get me to 18,500. Yep, you are right, my math was flawed and that power up would leave me three HP shy of the 18500 number I had in mind.

No big deal, I should see those numbers where I want them to be tomorrow after I claim my post rewards.

image.png


I have to admit, it is pretty depressing moving all of this Hive into your account and claiming your rewards every day only to see your account value decrease because of the markets. It can be pretty deflating at times. I look forward to the day that the price of Hive reaches its potential and I pass out when I see the "Estimated Account Value" at the bottom of my screen.

At this pace I think I should easily be able to meet my goal of hitting 20k HP by the end of the year. If you would have asked me back in May I would have told you it was a long shot. In fact, I am a little sad it took me so long to even get this close. Even with the price of Hive being low, I thought my account would be growing more quickly at this point.

Anyway, here I am, still plugging away, doing my best to bring quality content to the blockchain and support those who produce it.

I had a hard time deciding which category this should fit in. It kind of has flavors of investment, gaming, and general Hive info. I think LEO is a pretty cool community with some great ideas and momentum, so I am going to place it in here.

Sort:  

every day only to see your account value decrease because of the markets. It can be pretty deflating at times. I look forward to the day that the price of Hive reaches its potential and I pass out when I see the "Estimated Account Value" at the bottom of my screen.

It's been like that for me for 2 years. Anything else and I would pass out. Don't put all your eggs in one basket, HIVE is a great token generator but there are other projects.

Oh, not to worry, I am spread pretty good across Hive and some other projects on the EOS and WAX networks.

You are on the right path. I wonder if the HIVE price is harmed by some of the recent post-fork issues. It can't help anyway. If I had spare money I would be buying more HIVE now, but need to be careful for now. Just earning more is good enough.

20k will be a nice milestone. Your posts do pretty well, so you can make a few thousand each year. The rate may even improve as you go on. We can only hope, but then we have to keep pushing to build the community.

I am saving up some funds to buy Splinterlands plots. May as well get in on that to see how it does.

!BEER 5

Yeah, I agree about the Splinterlands thing. I think it will definitely add a new dynamic to the game. I had been toying with the idea of getting out completely, but I think I will stick around a while longer now to see how it shakes out. I'd love to get to point some day where I can convert some rewards to fiat while still growing my account and not feel guilty about it.


Hey @bozz, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations @bozz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 14000 replies. Your next target is to reach 14500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

October 2020 is the World Mental Heath Month