Friday Finance 12/9/2022: The Home Stretch

in LeoFinancelast year

finance Friday.png


It is time again for another Finance Friday/Friday Finance. This is a series I started where I talk about random bits of financial stuff that I have seen, gathered, or experienced during the week. I hope as a reader you find it informational, entertaining, or both. I also hope it can generate some good discussion and edify the Leo community.

It's a bit hard to believe that we are already in December. It feels like just the other day that I was complaining about the heat and getting ready for our next camping trip. Welcome back to another Friday Finance post. Even though I struggle for content some weeks, I like having a regular post where you know what you are getting ahead of time.

Not that many people read it. I honestly think that @whywhy is the only one who does and by their own admission they need to be drunk to do it! :)

XRP

I saw an article the other day that the SEC and Ripple have submitted their final briefs requesting judgement in their favor. While this isn't the final step in the process, it does bring us one step closer to closing the door on this case that has been looming over crypto since 2020.

It's safe to guess that whatever happens here is going to have some far reaching impact on the crypto markets and could direct the course of regulation in the future.

With BTC finally inching back up into the 17K range, I wonder if a bad outcome here could finally take it down to that 12K level that many people have been talking about.

While I am not exactly a fan of Ripple, I have been occasionally checking in on this case. It has the potential to impact all of us. It would seem both sides are pretty confident in the case they have put before the judge. Time will tell how the chips fall.

If we get a bad judgement here and something happens with the traditional markets, we could be in for a whole lot of hurt.

NFTs vs. DeFi

I've been thinking a lot lately about what my portfolio is going to look like after the next bull cycle happens. I know, I know, it's likely a long way off yet, but it doesn't hurt to have a plan right?

If you have been following me for a while, you know that I have a pretty significant investment in NFTs over on the WAX blockchain. It's no shock that the price of many of my assets has significantly fallen over the past six months.

A combination of the NFT space cooling down and the current bear market has not been good to my NFT portfolio. There is a good chance that many of the projects I own NFTs in will never amount to anything. There are some that are still developing and that is a hopeful sign.

I'm wondering though if NFTs are where I ultimately want to stake my claim though. The space still feels really young (all of this does to be honest), and I have a feeling the NFTs that I hold today probably won't be the "Splinterlands" of tomorrow (with a few exceptions).

Leading up to the next bull run, I can see myself liquidating an average portion of my NFT assets and moving those funds into DeFi or something more impactful like my Hive account.

I still feel that the NFT space is going to be huge one day. I think there is a ton of potential for growth, but I also think DeFi is probably one of the biggest areas where crypto will see expansion in the future.

Maybe I am wrong, but at this point I am looking for the best ways to ensure passive income during the next bear market. Hive and DeFi seem to be the better bets. Prove me wrong! :)

Christmas Time!

My wife and I stopped buying Christmas presents for each other a long time ago. It's not that we don't care, but with no kids and the available budget to pretty much buy what we want, when we want, we didn't see the point of going out and buying random stuff just so we can say we gifted each other something.

What that means is Christmas morning is really just another morning in our house. Given that fact, you might think that I don't get too excited about this time of year. In fact, nothing could be further from the truth.

This is the time of year when my traditional investments pay out dividends and capital gains. That for me is just as good as opening a present on Christmas morning. I love watching my account increase due to compounding interest and reinvestment.

While I know the increase isn't going to be as much this year as previous years, the price is still down, so that means I should be able to get more bang for my buck.


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


All pictures/screenshots taken by myself or @mrsbozz unless otherwise sourced


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


All pictures/screenshots taken by myself or @mrsbozz unless otherwise sourced

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Still love these post, especially after a beer, or two. But even sober as today(having a bad cold so my mind is already gone), it´s always a nice read.

Thanks, I appreciate it!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I think NFTs are a bit underdeveloped right now with use cases. It's going to be tough and I just don't think most people are entering it out of money. It just seems like speculation at this point because most NFTs aren't useful.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I think the rush has passed and projects are going to be more particular about what they put out and when.

Congratulations @bozz! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You distributed more than 91000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 92000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Round of 16 - Recap of Day 4
The Hive Gamification Proposal Renewal
Our Hive Power Delegations to the November PUM Winners
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!