It's not the curation that gets you...

in LeoFinance3 years ago

image.png


It's not the curation that gets you, it is the commenting. For real, it is like a full time job. I can fairly easily scroll through my feed and click here and there to throw out some manual votes, but engagement is what sucks you in and eats up a good portion of your day.

Monday's get a pretty bad rap in the US. Probably across the globe, I guess it just depends on what your work week looks like. I've come to dread them even more since I started taking the weekends off from all but the most basic tasks on Hive. I might tool around in Hive-Engine or check @risingstargame or @splinterlands, but it is very rare that I write a full post, comment, or manually upvote.

That means Monday's are a mad rush to catch up on all the stuff I missed over the weekend. Many times it is literally the middle of the day before I finally get caught up. To the point that lately, I have just stopped trying. These days I fire up my machine on Monday morning, scroll through the posts from the last three days and pick maybe one or two that I will comment on. The rest (although great posts I am sure) get left behind.

It just isn't feasible for me to keep up. At least not now while I am still pursuing my career working a full time job.

As you can see, it isn't the curation that I find most tiring, it is the engagement. Maybe I am the exception more than the rule, but I am kind of an introvert, so it takes a lot of energy to put myself out there. It's definitely something I would never be able to do in real life... but behind a keyboard, I am a bit more comfortable.

separator.png

There is a flip side to my title too.

While engagement can be more draining than curation, it can also be more beneficial. Curation rewards come and go, but building relationships and growing your follower base via engagement can pay you off in spades down the road.

Not only does it bring in readers who could become lifelong followers and friends (which usually means guaranteed upvotes), it can also lead to other opportunities for you...

I just experienced a great example of this.

For the past year or so I have been working part time with EOS DETROIT as a contracted staff writer. Just recently they launched FACINGS which is an NFT centric wholly own subsidy of EOS DETROIT.

Ever since I started on Hive three plus years ago one of the first things I did was setup a Discord account and started chatting and engaging in there. This led to me creating a Telegram account and also through Hive I started being more active on Twitter. Honing those engagement skills really paid off because recently I was invited to be the Community Manager at FACINGS. So basically kind of doing what I have already been doing (only on their channels), but getting paid for it.

Pretty cool huh?

Anyway, long story short, engagement is a lot of work, but well worth it. So stop reading this and get out there and make some comments!

source


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


@eos.detroit Staff Writer/BOID Team Leader

Join our Discord here

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I used to be so good at the engagement side of things, spending three hours plus a day commuting on a train helped.
Since Lulu had her fall I have been terrible I must admit, I spend more time with her and less on my PC or phone when she is up for the day, so the only time I have for commenting is mostly early morning as I get up a lot earlier than her, then add of recent i have bene trying to get out for morning walks any day its not raining that gives me even less time

That is understandable! It can be hard but necessary to pull ourselves away from the blockchain sometimes! You have to focus on what is important!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Life issues are always there and we have to tend to that which is most important to us.

Taking care of those closest to us is always at the top of the list.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

👍🙂👍

Yea engagement is definitely the more time-consuming part of everything. After all to vote, you just need to see a post and click. While to comment, you have to think about it then write it up.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I'd say that engagement is what makes this community the most popular on Hive. A matter of fact I have a post scheduled for this evening asking the community about how much whales love Leofinance.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That is very true! Sounds like a really interesting post. I hope you get a lot of feedback from it!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

That's the only reason that I make sure that I reply to every comment on my post. Need to respect the time of others who has read me and left the comment.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah, I am actually spending some time on my vacation this morning so I can reply to all of the comments that came in! Consider yourself lucky! :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I spend far more time Commenting than writing posts, it's hard for me to get more than an hour of free time to write a post so it's just cobbled together in bits and pieces over a few days. As long as I have my phone I could comment or reply when I hit a Wifi hot spot.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah, I can understand that. I probably spend more time commenting than writing posts as well!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Life gets busy, I completely can relate to the energy needed to comment and I definitely need to get better at that too. Know you are not alone and missing a week of commenting isn't the end of the world, all of us will be here to hear your great suggestions and opinions in our comment sections when you can.

Congrats on the new side job! You are really good at wording and making good posts so I know this won't be of any trouble for you.

Thanks, I appreciate that!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's a balancing act, one which I have been struggling with more because of work and lack of time, but, also because I have found too many good posts to read.

I don't like to leave a vote and no comment, but, a vote without a comment is better than no acknowledgment. Building friendships is a lot of work, but, I have found that it has been worth it and some of the people I have met here are amazing, and interesting and worth the moments spent.

I love engaging, but, lack time... does anyone know where I can buy any more time?

Maybe you can hire some minions to comment for you. That seems to be about the only way to buy time at this point I think! :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Engagement is really what gets me too and takes a lot of work. But building relationships and growing your follower base is so worth it!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It definitely is!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

So I do what it takes @bozz!

Engagement through commenting is also a selfless act. It is meant to help grow the entire ecosystem which benefits each token holder. While it is often a pain in the ass, engagement helps to motivate others to help grow this place.

Sadly we do not have enough of it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Very true! I have definitely reaped the benefits from it, so I always try to do my part.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Commenting was something I struggled but this year I have upped the commenting game I'm glad I did so as from that I have built more friendships on the blockchain.

!PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@bozz! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @chris-uk.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (2/10)

Yeah, it can really make a difference. I hear you though, it is definitely a struggle!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

We are glad you decided to up your game in this area. It is all helping.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Now you know why I don't comment so much!

I thought that was just because you were ornery! :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Bah, what makes you think I am like that? (growl).. 😄

Oh, just a guess.. :)

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

None of this is passive income.

Indeed, not when you consider the time involved!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.