Popular delegation combinations to @brofi . Analysis using Association Rule Mining

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

Good evening to one and all reading this . Hope you all are having a great day .

Today we are gonna talk about something new and interesting - The Apriori Algorithm to see what's the popular delegation combinations to @brofi .

Association Rule Mining

Association Rule Mining is used when you want to find an association between different objects in a set.

Now you might have seen on Amazon -

"Frequently Bought Together" . Right?

image.png

Source

This is done using algorithms which comes under Association Rule Mining .

One of the popular algorithm is - Apriori Algorithm .

Some of you might have heard about Apriori Algorithm but I guess most of you know about "Market Basket Analysis" .

It is this Market basket analysis which helps supermarket people place the items together ( Like bread , eggs and butter ) .

The Algorithm behind Market Basket Analysis is "Apriori Algorithm ".

Today we shall use this to see "Tokens Delegated together" instead of "Frequently bought together" .

Number of tokens that is currently delegated to @brofi

Right now there are 29 tokens delegated to @brofi . If you delegate tokens to @brofi , you get BRO as dividends everyday .

Now not all the users have delegated all the 29 tokens .

There are total of 374 unique delegators to @brofi . Some have delegated just 1 token ,some have delegated 2 and some more than 5-6 .

Now our aim is to figure out what's the popular delegated token ? Is it LEO ? Hive ?

Single token is easy to figure out right ? But what about popular combination of 2?
Is it LEO and HIVE ? Or LEO and POB ?

Let's figure it out .

Popular tokens which atleast 10% of all delegators have delegated .

So I have given the minimum threshold as 10% . So atleast 10% of 374 which is 37 users must have delegated for it to show up .

Combination of 1 ( Single token )

SlnoPercentage of users delegating the tokenToken
158.021NEOXAG
247.059PAL
341.711STEM
439.037CCC
533.69CTP
630.214LEO
728.342CINE
824.599WEED
924.332HIVE
1019.519LOTUS
1117.112SPORTS
1215.241POB
1310.695FOODIE

Note: I have removed the decimal point in percentage for simplicity.

Now what does this tell us ?

  1. There are 13 tokens out of 29 which 10% of the total users ( 374) have delegated
  2. Out of all the users who have delegated to @brofi , 58% have delegated NEOXAG .

So I hope you got an idea now ?

Now next Let's see -

Combination of 2

Now which are the popular combinations of 2 tokens ?

Sl NoPercentage of users delegation the combination of tokenToken combination
137.701PAL , NEOXAG
230.749CCC , NEOXAG
329.947STEM , NEOXAG
427.807CCC , PAL
527.005CTP , NEOXAG
625.668STEM , PAL
722.995STEM , CCC
822.727CTP , PAL
921.123NEOXAG , CINE
1020.321CTP , STEM
1119.251CTP , CCC
1218.449WEED , NEOXAG
1318.449LEO , NEOXAG
1418.182LEO , PAL
1517.112PAL , CINE
1616.845WEED , PAL
1716.31LEO , STEM
1816.31LOTUS , NEOXAG
1916.043STEM , WEED
2015.775STEM , CINE
2114.706SPORTS , NEOXAG
2214.706LEO , CCC
2314.439CCC , WEED
2414.439HIVE , NEOXAG
2514.171LOTUS , CCC
2613.904LOTUS , PAL
2713.904CCC , CINE
2813.904LEO , CTP
2913.636SPORTS , PAL
3013.102CTP , CINE
3113.102CTP , WEED
3212.567NEOXAG , POB
3312.567LEO , CINE
3412.299LOTUS , STEM
3511.497LEO , WEED
3611.23SPORTS , CCC
3711.23SPORTS , STEM
3810.963LEO , HIVE
3910.963WEED , CINE
4010.428HIVE , PAL
4110.428LOTUS , CTP

NEOXAG has once again occupied the top 3 position here with PAL , CCC and STEM .

What does this tell us ?

  1. The top pair PAL and NEOXAG has been delegated by 37% of the users .
  2. There are 41 token combination which atleast 10% users have delegated .

Combination of 3

Sl.NoPercentage of UsersToken combination
124.332PAL , CCC , NEOXAG
221.658PAL , STEM , NEOXAG
321.39PAL , CTP , NEOXAG
418.984STEM , CCC , NEOXAG
518.182STEM , CCC , PAL
617.112CTP , CCC , NEOXAG
717.112CTP , STEM , NEOXAG
816.578PAL , NEOXAG , CINE
915.775CTP , STEM , PAL
1015.508CTP , CCC , PAL
1114.973PAL , LEO , NEOXAG
1214.439CTP , STEM , CCC
1314.439PAL , WEED , NEOXAG
1413.636STEM , NEOXAG , CINE
1513.369LEO , STEM , NEOXAG
1613.102SPORTS , PAL , NEOXAG
1713.102WEED , STEM , NEOXAG
1813.102PAL , LOTUS , NEOXAG
1912.834CCC , NEOXAG , CINE
2012.567WEED , STEM , PAL
2112.567WEED , CCC , PAL
2212.299WEED , CCC , NEOXAG
2312.299LEO , CCC , PAL
2412.299LOTUS , CCC , NEOXAG
2512.299LEO , STEM , PAL
2612.032CTP , NEOXAG , CINE
2711.765STEM , PAL , CINE
2811.497LEO , CCC , NEOXAG
2911.497STEM , CCC , WEED
3011.497LEO , CTP , NEOXAG
3111.23CCC , PAL , CINE
3210.963CTP , STEM , WEED
3310.695WEED , CTP , NEOXAG
3410.695LOTUS , STEM , NEOXAG
3510.695LEO , STEM , CCC
3610.428SPORTS , CCC , NEOXAG
3710.428LEO , NEOXAG , CINE
3810.428LEO , CTP , PAL
3910.428SPORTS , STEM , NEOXAG
4010.428CTP , PAL , CINE
4110.428SPORTS , CCC , PAL
4210.428LOTUS , STEM , PAL
4310.16CTP , CCC , WEED
4410.16LEO , CTP , STEM
4510.16LOTUS , CCC , PAL
4610.16LOTUS , STEM , CCC
4710.16WEED , CTP , PAL
4810.16WEED , NEOXAG , CINE

Nothing special here to be honest when compared to combination of 2 . Most of the combination of 2 resides here , that's what Apriori algorithm depends on .

Apriori Algorithm - "The itemsets inside the frequent itemsets are frequent"

Combination of 4

Sl NoPercentage of usersToken combination
115.508PAL , STEM , CCC , NEOXAG
214.706PAL , CTP , CCC , NEOXAG
314.706PAL , CTP , STEM , NEOXAG
412.567CTP , STEM , CCC , NEOXAG
511.765CTP , STEM , CCC , PAL
611.23PAL , STEM , NEOXAG , CINE
711.23PAL , LEO , STEM , NEOXAG
811.23PAL , WEED , STEM , NEOXAG
910.963PAL , CCC , NEOXAG , CINE
1010.963PAL , LEO , CCC , NEOXAG
1110.963PAL , WEED , CCC , NEOXAG
1210.428PAL , CTP , NEOXAG , CINE
1310.16LEO , PAL , CTP , NEOXAG

Combination of 5

Sl NoPercentage of usersToken combination
110.963CCC , PAL , NEOXAG , CTP , STEM

There is only 1 in combination of 5 .

What does it mean actually ?

Let me explain the steps -

  1. It searches for the users who have delegated 5 tokens atleast ( any 5 ).
  2. Then it searches for all combinations of 5 which has been delegated by atleast 10% of the total users.
  3. There is only 1 combination which has been delegated by over 10 % of users which is mentioned above.

you can see that neither LEO nor HIVE is in this .

What does it mean ? It means that 10% of users or more haven't delegated 5 tokens in which LEO and HIVE are a part .

What can you learn from this ?

Well you can see the popular tokens delegated to the @brofi and reflect on yourself .
Ask yourself these questions

  1. 58% have delegated NEOXAG to @brofi . Have I been curating NEOXAG myself manually? If not , is it sitting IDLE in my wallet , then I can delegated it to @brofi .
  2. What are the popular combination of 2 , 3 , 4 ,5 . Have I delegated it all ?
  3. What are the combination which only 10% of users have delegated ? I will delegated to that because less users for that particular token combination = more BRO ?
    asd

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I'm almost sure I'm delegating all of the 13 tokens 😅 so that's totally relatable for me 🙂
!PIZZA !LUV

Connect

Trade


@brofund! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @ykretz.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (1/10)

Honestly does not surprise me what the top combos are - those tokens have been around longer than most. Am scratching my head a little on the CTP though, I thought it would have been WEED.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Well yeah you are right about that .

Am scratching my head a little on the CTP though

A lot of users hold CTP and since CTP tag is used on most of the posts they just earn it and don't curate much so they delegate it to @brofi .

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I haven't really delegated out my NEOXAG or PAL because I felt like it would reward the people I vote on. But it really does look like I should consider it.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah that makes sense since most of the users use #neoxag and #palnet tags .

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Is this a system that eventually eats itself to death? If there are no consumers on those platforms/various front ends because it's more profitable to be paid to look away instead of being paid to look and enjoy content, things tend to fall apart rather quickly. Saw that happen on Steem with the vote selling and delegation pools. As a content creator (currently on break) I'm looking at these numbers thinking placing my work inside those tribes now is pointless considering sometimes half or more of the potential consumers are now being paid to no longer be there to fill that important role. Initially the part of the point of some of these tribes/communities was to help provide more visibility/organization but if very few are looking, or if all that stake is centralized into only a few hands (meaning most of the seats in the stadium are empty except for a few chairs in the front row), then there's not much point in placing the work there. On the other hand, as a consumer, and to be funny, I decided to delegate my LEO token away to a curation bot, then laugh about how they're now paying me to NOT enjoy their platform. Quite similar to a retail store paying me to not enter and make purchases. When it comes to business sense, that concept is comical. There's no denying that. It's also the fastest way to go bankrupt, and that's common sense.

I don't hate this project, by the way. But someone should probably, at some point, at least point out how these delegation projects often interfere and do more harm than good. Maybe the individual earning now sees no harm, but over the long term, projects like these basically make those tokens useless and play a huge role in ensuring very few eyes actually visit those locations online.

You make some great points here, I'm going to wrap my head around these issues for a while and see if I can make some slight adjustments so this is not the end result... I don't wanna make these tokens useless.

When it was thought up, I figured people who didn't use their tokens would delegate them, while the users who actually do would keep theirs...

I agree with both sides on this one. I am physically incapable of going to POB, CTP, NEOX, STEM, SPORTS, LEO, HIVE, PAL, CINE, etc...front-ends and commenting /curating on each of those platforms. However, I DO want to support them so I stake their tokens when I get them. I am almost exclusively using LeoFinance right now because I love the community and it's all I have time for. So, I've delegated most of those other tokens to brofi but I've kept almost all of my LEO for my own curation efforts. If they weren't "pool 2", I'd probably undelegate the little I have (100 LEO, I think) and use that as well since I get more rewards having it under my voting power. But, it gives me BRO so I've sent that little over.

Maybe there just needs to be a maximum amount or something? Just throwing out an idea. I haven't thought through the consequences of what that would mean.

AMR's engagement/delegation project requires delegators to actually comment on these front-ends in order to receive any returns. If they have delegated CTP, for instance, and they rank in the top whatever? in engagement, they will then receive an upvote for comments made on that front-end as a percentage of where they rank in engagement on that front-end. In other words, the more they engage, the higher the vote they receive. It incentivizes engagement.

That said, I haven't delegated anything to his project because I only engage on Leo right now and my curation power is better spent curating things myself. And since I don't curate any other tribes right now, any delegated tokens I sent him would be "wasted" as far as giving me anything in return.

It's a constant balancing act with these things. If more people became active on other tribes, there would probably be less delegated tokens as they would be worth more to those individuals curating themselves.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hey just a small correction .

The delegators need not engage. They delegate , that amount is used to reward the top 25 or top 50 engagers . At the end of the week the curation reward ( 100% , I don't take any cut ) is paid back to delegators with some bonus ( sometimes ) .

So there is no link between delegators and engagers actually .

It's just like , those who want to curate top engagers but doesn't have time can delegate to my project and I will do it on your behalf since it benefits the community and I will return back the curation rewards to you for helping out the community .

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Oh. I thought I saw some votes from your curation accounts on some of my comments and that it was because I was in the "top whatever" of the engagement numbers. I'll have to relook at that when I have time.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yes that's correct. If you are in top 25 engagers for the previous day on LeoFinance or other tribes then you get the upvote based on quality of your comments .

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I 100% believe this project means no harm. It's just a very delicate balancing act. What started with just one turned into several front ends that all inherited one of the platform's biggest blunders. When you see onboarding attempts for Hive or a new tribe, what are they seeking? Content creators, or content consumers? Because they push to only attract creators, the creators outnumber consumers, and because of that, what's being created more often than not goes unnoticed. They show up, they leave. No market; no consumers. Revolving door, everyone scratching their heads, wondering what's wrong...

Well, it's very simple. Content is nothing without consumers. Do even more to eliminate consumers and even less to attract them, kinda like what we're doing here, and yes, of course, we'll be running into problems.

Consumers, these days, spend a lot of their own money on content online. This platform offers them a better deal than some of the largest corporations on the planet, straight out the box. We squander that potential, tell nobody, and pay people to look away? That just seems a bit off to me.

As a first step, @brofi has begun rewarding manually selected comments on posts, to help encourage consumers who also choose to comment. I hunt through trending every now and then anyways, and whenever I see a good comment I give it a 1% from brofi.

We will try and get a few trusted comment hunters available to diversify the definition of a "good comment", as well as a broader selection of content searched through (and consumed).

These are just the first steps and will come up with more in the future.

Honestly. At this moment I just appreciate the fact you took my concerns seriously and will take steps to offset some of the imbalance things like this can create. When I brought it up years ago with the vote sellers, to put it plainly, I was treated like a lesser human. At least you're showing signs you'd prefer things don't get out of hand.

We got the market cornered on 'curation reward' (I prefer to call it consumer reward but it doesn't matter). Google it, that leads to us (unfortunately it leads to two outdated steemit posts I feel like hijacking with a comment and placing a link to this place then voting to the top of their comment section so consumers can see). We're literally one of the only places on the planet someone can 'get paid to be entertained or informed'. For most people here it doesn't even register how big of a deal that is, how disruptive it can be, or anything. I'm convinced if we managed to attract those billions of people, they'd be encouraged to automate everything, turn around, and leave forever. So stupid. If you ask any one of these talented artists/entertainers/creators around here familiar with this industry what they think of this, you won't get an answer, because most leave. Many tried to explain but the crypto crowd has tokens in their ears and can't hear a damn thing. Drooling over pennies trickling in throughout the year LOL! Arts/entertainment/information generates billions annually with no signs of slowing down and it's all consumer driven. The capable come here knowing full well they can make money for everyone but get treated like leeches instead.

Without consumers, the true talent leaves. Why does a busker perform at the subway station? Because people. Even they know. Don't you hate it how even operating a service like yours becomes difficult, since finding actual decent instances of quality to reward can be nearly impossible at times...

LOL... Pardon my rant. I come from a good place and mean well.

33% of $ASH pool here.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 63 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
!BEER
1

Did the transfer service stop?

👍🏾 nice