How to use Hive Power to get more LEO

in LeoFinance3 years ago

DSC_0460.jpg

LEO is the hot topic around the town now, and if you're like me, you really started to pay attention just after the price rally where one LEO is actually worth almost 2 HIVE now. The supply is much smaller though, so that's part of why the price is above that of HIVE's. Anyhow, I bought some at around 1 HIVE to become a liquidity provider on the Uniswap pool.

Yeah, I had no idea either what that meant, but I just thought I'd be early on something so I jumped in. Well, someone hacked the thing (don't ask me how). Luckily though, LeoFinance team jumped in and covered all the losses that some liquidity providers. Now, they launched 2.0 version on Uniswap, so I guess it all ended well. I'm taking a backseat though, and will just use the LEO for curation.

But to the point, like everyone else now, I now hope I had bought LEO when it was just 0.2 HIVE or something. Lucky me, I still had the airdrop from back in the days, and I can increase my stack some with curation. But another thing way to add to my LEO stack is now by delegating HIVE POWER to @leo.voter. It is a curation account of LeoFinance's team (I suppose), and they pay Hive Power delegators with LEO. I'm getting 2.3-2.8 LEO per day for 10k Hive Power delegation.

The way Hive Power can be utilized; it reminds me of what @tarazkp said some time back in the days that HIVE would become like an index fund and an investment vehicle that could open doors to earn other tokens built on HIVE via delegation of Hive Power. If more applications such as LeoFinance pop up, Hive could certainly be a powerful asset to have, even if it doesn't get the mightiest price increases (which it still might do as it's been highly volatile), it allows to earn tokens that could surpass HIVE itself in performance.

The Leo team seem to be serious and know what they're doing and how to reach outside the Hive ecosystem to create growth. It creates an example for other communities to follow.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I am jumping on every investment oriented piece there is on my feed now. I am ashamed that I didn't pay much attention back when everything was cheaper! Lol.

And wait. They had an airdrop? Sigh. Where was I? This is the same way the Uniswap one passed me ☹

It was that time when the tribes emerged. Palnet came first, which gave PAL tokens based on Hive (or Steem back then), and LeoFinance came sometime after and gave an equal amount of Leo tokens to Pal tokens you were holding. Hadn't sold my PALs so I got the LEOs.

I missed the Uniswap airdrop as well.

Posted using Dapplr

That LEO VOTER delegation gives you one of the best returns there is - 16% even before the probable more rapid future increasing price of LEO compared to hive!

Seems good to me.

Posted using Dapplr

Oh wow, I was not aware of that! I happily received some upvotes from leo.voter in the past, but I did not know that it was paying in LEO for delegated Hive Power. That's pretty awesome, thank you for sharing!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You're welcome!

Posted using Dapplr

Cool concept but a slippery slope. I'm reminded of our past here, back when plenty of folks delegated their SP at the time in order to receive ROI when votes were purchased. That concentrated or centralized VP into fewer and fewer hands, effectively removing majority of actual consumers from the equation, which then turned the platform into a ghost town. Years later we still haven't recovered.

Well, the LeoFinance team isn't selling votes with the power, so I see it not such a threat as the bid bots. Though I can understand the argument of stake getting centralized.

Leo seems to be making a change for that ghost town, they have some of the best engagement numbers and an increasing user base.

Posted using Dapplr

It's a balancing act. If delegating away for any reason offers more of a return than simply holding and curating, people will once again enjoy being paid to look away from Hive. It's their choice but if one community begins eating away at another community, in the end everyone's shooting themselves in the foot, for piss profits. I'm not saying that'll happen here again I'm saying hopefully it doesn't spiral out of control because I don't want to be here next year sayin I told ya so like I did with bidbots. I just hope people learned from the past is all.

I regret not having bought more tokens in the past, when we were in steemit the price of each Leo was for less than 0.01 steem and what I bought after 2 months of launching the project, well things happen

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Always could've had more, at least we have something :D

Posted using Dapplr

Thanks for the tip!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You're welcome!

Posted using Dapplr