Public speaking makes me nervous

in LeoFinance2 years ago

Yesterday I wrote a post telling about how I was invited to talk to a group of people about cryptocurrency, that meeting was this morning...I was super late deciding to write that article and should had it posted a week ago.

It was fun! I was slightly nervous, but our small group felt warm. My goal while preparing for this meeting was to keep it simple. Just an effort to help them grasp what crypto is. About half-way in, two thirds of the group looked like a deer in my headlights.

I think I probably learned more then they did, in that it can be really difficult to explain to someone that virtual assets can have value. It just seems to be a difficult concept, especially for some members of the older generations. I'm not really sure how much information I was able to impart, but it was still possibly enough to start the cogs rolling in their thinkers. I'm even going to make an early prediction, I think I'll get to onboard at least two people from that group onto leofinance, and the hive chain. I'm also hopeful that one of those people will write content...and it will be amazing quality content.

The most difficult question I ran into, "is crypto a pyramid scheme?" my answer was, "no more than the stock market is". I pointed out that if anyone gives money to a business really early in the development and it ends up growing, that investor makes more money. I guess basically all business is a pyramid scheme in that sense. I did not point out, and I wish I had, that there are cryptos out there specifically designed to be a pyramid scheme.

I will be giving more presentations to other small groups of people in my local community, as I've been asked to. I don't actually feel like I was particularly good at it this time, but I am confident that I will learn to be. More experience answering questions can only make me better at it. I welcome all of you to reach out to me in comments or on discord with any pointers you have for educating the masses.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I've got to say even after all these years, i still get the nerves when speaking to a crowd formally. 😄
!PIZZA

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@blitzzzz(6/20) tipped @cervantes420 (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Congratulations @cervantes420! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 100 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 200 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from April day 21
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!