How to calculate how much your post's rewards are worth!

in LeoFinance3 years ago

I was curious (I'm always curious!) about how much the "Hive rewards" meant for each author. I made a spreadsheet, and made a few discoveries.

Quick lazy way to calculate: just multiply by 0.47.

Here's the breakdown for my last post:

calcoolations

Basically, it's ((hive+hp)*hivePrice+(hbd*hbdPrice))/2 = your monetary value. And if the monetary value is not shown, just check if there are any beneficiaries, and if not, chances are you're getting around 47.4% of the displayed value.

In my case, the displayed value is $15.28, and the total calculated by the formula (displayed only on hive.blog and ecency.com, and only before the post is paid out; otherwise you have to check your wallet on ecency to see your rewards earned).

Following the formula, I get 7.441 by adding the values for hive, hp and hbd. That is ~47.4% of the displayed value.

Quick spreadsheet reasoning:

I made some excel research to check some stuff. Please note that I did some crazy stuff without annotating it! The only thing you can get from it is, basically, that you'll always get around 47.4% unless your case is special.

eksell spreadsheet

Weird stuff I found...

Here's @acidyo's reward breakup on Ecency

  • Please note that he earns rewards twice for the same thing. The first time, he earns only HBD and HP. All rewards I've seen for other people are usually HBD + Hive + HP. Why does he get HBD and HP?
  • On the spreadsheet above, you can see that any time someone earns only HBD and HP, and no Hive, they get around 42.7% of the displayed value.
  • However, right afterward, he goes on to earn 281.787 (which is 100% of the post's displayed value!) in HBD. Why? Dunno. That post had no beneficiaries. Someone please explain!

image.png

image.png

I don't know what trickery he used, but he got a lot of money where I would have assumed he would have gotten only around $133 out of that 281 displayed value! (281*0.474)

Anyway, this is my reasoning, and I hope it's kinda helpful.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Hive Engine Tools has a handy tool that shows both the HBD and Hive Engine rewards for a post.

Click the radio button for "Hive Engine Payouts" and enter your account name. It will show the rewards for your outstanding posts. It shows the primary rewards as HBD.

I also like the Payout Page on PeakD. It shows the sum of outstanding rewards. It showed the upcoming rewards for your posts were 22.507 HP and 13.101 HBD . It seems to be accurate.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

oooh, useful tools!

and it seems I won't get liquid hive?? 😢😢 I saw if you don't get liquid hive you lose around 9% of your potential reward! gotta forcefully devalue HBD 😈😈😈

img_0.4644216884018752.jpg

I think it simply shows the value of the estimated rewards in HBD. You still get HIVE and HBD.

The rewards are actually in VESTS. This tool is probably just showing VESTS at HBD.

Looks like a display bug from @ecency. The 70 HBD and HP is what I got from my last post, the reason there's no liquid Hive in those rewards is cause the Debt Ratio only started to affect post rewards recently with the downtrend of Hive and the rest of the crypto market.

That 281 HBD afterwards is actually a display bug and did not actually happen?

So weird! Hahah. Thanks for the clarification n_n

And I saw some posts from like 9 days ago that had liquid Hive rewards. I found it strange. Maybe the debt ratio was fluctuating up and down these days and making these rewards disappear for a few posts.

I find it strange that the monetary value is around 42% when hbd is worth more, and 47% when it's worth less. It's like it's profitable for posters for hbd to be cheap.

That operation is indicator of how much that content has earned overall, not necessarily deposited to authors account.

why does it only show sometimes?

Thank you for your explanation :)

Content reward? It should show always after payout, you can sort them like this:

view-rewards-on-ecency.com

Will try this in my next post payout

Congratulations @cryptosharon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 5500 comments.
Your next target is to reach 6000 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 25