What do YOU want your account to look like this time next year?

in LeoFinance2 years ago

destinationg90599ab53_1280.png

It's the New Year and everybody is thinking about goals. If you scroll through LeoFinance on a daily basis like I do, you'll probably already have seen over a dozen "Goals" articles.

Why?

Well, first of all, because they work. Putting goals in writing helps get your brain working on achieving them. If you don't have a plan, your brain will continually run in circles looking for the best opportunities it can come up with at the time. Those may or may not take you in the right direction. If you put concrete goals down on paper, your brain now has something to focus on: namely, how do I achieve these goals.

Second of all, it's the blockchain. One of the greatest things about HIVE and LEO in my mind, is that they allow you to basically memorialize where you are in life at any given time. I fully expect to be going back through my blog with my grandkids someday, showing them what life was like, and how I (hopefully) achieved the success I achieved. These goals posts can provide a roadmap to that success. Like I said, hopefully in 30 years some of my offspring will enjoy reading about their grandpa from 30 years ago. It may or may not happen, but that's the dream.

The third good reason to post your goals is it helps make you accountable. Most of us don't really have anyone forcing us to take care of our financial future. It's actually one of the reasons we're all here: to try and set ourselves up for that future. Putting things down on paper forces us to pay attention to how things are going. Are we getting closer? Do we need to try something different? Are the steps we're taking going to get us to where we want to be? Having those goals forces us to pay attention to what's happening with our accounts and gives us some guidance on what we need to focus on to get the results we want.

So, with all that said, here are a few of my goals for 2022.

  1. Reach 50k HivePower (with 100k the next goal). I'm at 25k so that basically doubles it. It's aggressive and will require some work, but I think I can get there. To achieve this one I will need to start posting more, something I want to be doing anyway. This should help incentivize that.
  2. Reach 50k LeoPower as well (again, 100k the next goal). I'm just over 30k there so I think it's well within reach. I do a lot of manual curation on LEO and as my LeoPower grows, so does my vote. I think I can get close to reaching this one through articles and curation, which just happens to coincide with what I need to do to reach goal number one.
  3. I want to get up over 10k CUB. I've got close to 7k now. I may want to go higher than 10k but I want to work on the other two goals first so, this one could happen slowly. It helps that I'm in the pools so I may be able to get there just from farming. We'll see. There's also PolyCub to consider if and when that gets launched so....monies may be diverted.
  4. Probably my biggest goal is to get started saving HBD. It's hard for me to put money towards something that has no real upside. I mean, HBD isn't going to go to $10 or something. It's supposed to just stay around $1 and pay 12% interest. 12% is a massive rate for a stablecoin. If a person could find a way to get 1 million HBD, they'd be looking at $10k a Month in passive income. Pretty sure I could live off of that. :-) So, the goal this year is $25k. That's a big number starting from scratch but I think I can do it. I still work full-time so I can hopefully peel some away from that every month to save, plus I have some smaller investments out there that I can hopefully convert at some point. We'll see. That's why they're goals and not achievements. That will be on next year's goals post.

So, those are my goals for 2022. I'm planning on doing a monthly update so if you want to follow along, the more the merrier. It's another one of the great qualities about HIVE. I watch some of these people I've gotten to know achieve success and it is fun for me as well. It's awesome watching people you know succeed and it helps motivate me to get there with them.

Thanks for reading! If you haven't done one of these for yourself, I highly recommend it. Even if nobody reads it, you'll at least have it to go back to and check your progress. It's the journey that matters. If you enjoy that part, you'll reach your destination sooner than you think.

Happy 2022!!!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Wow. Those are some pretty solid goals. Makes me want to do that as well! I've been wanting to put more into HIVE, but I've been waiting for Splinterlands to go up already so I can take profit haha I should probably decide my HP goal for the year, because all I have are SPS goals xD

Yes, I think it's a good idea to get one down on paper. Even if it's very modest, it at least gives you a frame of reference when you're looking at your accounts. Like if you want 2000 HP, then when you get some liquid Hive you'll have an idea of what to do with it rather than just throwing at the next thing that comes along. It just helps create focus.

Plus, I think you could achieve whatever put down. You've obviously reached some of your SPS goals fairly quickly so it works.

My SPS goals are "collect the airdrop until it's done." lol

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Those are some great goals you got there! My initial feelings towards setting goals are that there are way too many factors that just aren't under control, but I think I agree that it does make you accountable and help you become more focused in achieving your goals. Think I'll do one soon, cheers!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

there are way too many factors that just aren't under control

Yes, but that is why you set the goals: so you can have some idea of what you want to do when those factors occur. Plus, who says those factors need to be negative. You could win the lottery or have an unknown relative leave you a pile of money. If you have goals, at least you'll have something to focus on when you're making decisions as to what to do next.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's a very good idea to make goals and work towards them too.

I have been able to make few goals too, which are mostly about myself,like forming new habits that will have a long term effect on my life and investments too.

Wish you luck on your yearly goals, those are really huge number which I'm sure you will crush in no time and aim even higher in the future.

Have a great day ahead

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I hope so. It would be fun to look back in a year and see that I've accomplished them. I feel fairly confident I can reach the first three. It's the $25k in HBD that will be difficult. The rest of them I'll be gaining on just by normal curation and posting, even if I don't actually buy any of them. The HBD I actually have to take dollars out of the market and salt them away. And then leave them alone, even if another "opportunity" comes along. It's going to be tough...

Yes, some of the best goals you can make are about personal habits. Budgeting your time, especially. It's all about focus and anything that helps you create it can have long-lasting positive effects.

Get something out there. Like I said above, even if your goals are very modest, at least they give you something to work towards. And then when you achieve them, you get some satisfaction and its easier to set new goals.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Personally I dont think about it. Instead I choose to focus upon the activity that I take.

My goal is to keep posting content that aids the platform in moving forward. Also, I want to get my engagement up so that it is one of the forces that helps leads others to do the same.

All of this is in my control. What comes into my account, other than my curation rewards are beyond what I have power over. Once I hit the publish button, it is out of my hands.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I agree with your outlook, but you're also in a different place than most of us. Financially, as long as this platform stays in business, you've reached a level that can probably sustain you for the rest of your life. You are a very shiny example of what most of us would like to become. That allows you to just focus on engagement and helping build the platform because you know if you keep doing that, the rest will take care of itself.

Most of us are trying to reach levels we're not used to for the financial side of things. That can be pretty scary. It really helps to have some numbers in mind so our brain can get used to the idea of actually getting there.

I'm totally with you on the engagement. Whenever I feel like I'm struggling, I just try to put my head down and curate; let the chips fall where they may. That way I'm always moving forward, even when it doesn't necessarily feel like it. With these goals I've set, I realize I absolutely must post more articles if I want to get there so...it will hopefully force me to create new habits that help take me where I want to go.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

This is a solid set of goals. I will help you achieve that with my upvote. Also, if you are tagging proofofbrain, you may as well also tag vyb. You just get more rewards from me that way.

Thank you! I appreciate the vote.

I didn't know you could tag "vyb". I'll definitely keep that in mind as I would actually rather use that than pob. Is there anything wrong with that?

I don't think the CUB goal is that tough if you leave your 7k CUB in a kingdom to compound. If your in the farms instead, the APR should still push you over.

Those are some ambitious goals so good luck. Especially the HP and LP ones.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yes, I think I'll be able to get the LP one without too much trouble. The HP and the HBD especially are going to be the tough ones. Hive at least builds on its own plus curation and all the drips I get, but HBD is $25k of hard cash. That's a big number. I maybe have to readjust but I'm hoping some of my other investments out there can get converted over at some point this year. I'll need some pretty significant help from the markets though...we'll see. I set an "easy" goal with CUB, a fair one with LEO, a stretch goal with HP, and a very difficult one with HBD. If I accomplish them all, it will definitely be a good year.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I still think that right now the best way to get 1 million HBD is via accumulating HIVE.

Just 100K HIVE at $10 is 1 million HBD afterall ;)

HIVE still has so much upside and remember also earns you a similar rate via curation.

Keep stacking that HIVE!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I am, believe me. But putting something aside that is low-risk is just smart. There are very few reasons NOT to do it. There is some opportunity cost for sure. But the 12% helps mitigate that somewhat. Plus, the ability to have something liquid when opportunity arises (as it invariably does in crypto) could allow you to make potential short-term trades to grow it much faster.

Of course, if you allow yourself to get too greedy on that, you risk going back to square one. lol

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I'm trying. These goals mean I have to. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by. I appreciate it!

Ok, so I love goals. I set some up for myself not long ago.

These goals are... very high. I am going to follow you because I want to see how this is done!

By the way... I live in South Africa. $1 is R15.60 at the moment. So assuming this country does not go to hell, $3200 a month here is a ridiculous pay most professionals do not earn for a job. That is the kind of money that only comes with massive capitol. If is far above my salary so...

Of course $10,000 a month you could probably end up buying a house each year. Lol