Are you comfortable with your wealth being 100% visible to the public?

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

4E5DF14A28A248C5B23805D0B244609A.jpeg

A gold digger’s paradise 💰

Imagine you walk into a bar and the net worth of every individual inside the place is hovering over top of their heads in the form of a hologram. Right away everyone knows who has a lot of money and who has very little. This may not matter to some, but others may target the wealthy individuals so that they might be able to benefit off of that financial success. It may be as simple as them wishing to get close with that successful person in hopes of being showered by gifts. Perhaps it’s a bit darker and the financially unstable person may even have plans of finding a way to rob the person of their riches. Even if you have safely hidden private keys that can’t be guessed by a hacker, kidnapping and extortion is a thing.

Luckily we don’t have a dollar amount above our heads at all times, but something similar is already upon us thanks to cryptocurrencies such as HIVE. I can remember when I first joined Hive and was just looking through all of the whale accounts and their giant wallet amounts. I discovered millionaires and the like without hardly any effort at all. This was back when I had pretty much no idea what I was doing on Hive. Even then I was able to find the most wealthy people so simply.

Now there are leaderboards such as http://hivebuzz.me/ranking that make it even more elementary to track down the largest accounts. Sure many of the accounts are anonymous, but others have their name and location right on their profile.

I of course have no ill intentions towards those types of people. Generally speaking, I am a do-gooder. However I am no fool though and I know this world is filled with snakes ready to sink their venom into any and every opportunity to get ahead. It’s ultimately up to yourself to watch your own back, maybe if you’re lucky you have a team to assist you in that matter. Either way, nobody is invincible in this mortal world of ours and we cannot fully let our guard down at any time.

Privacy vs Transparency 🕵🏻

There is no need to hire a private investigator to figure out how much HIVE one holds. It’s as simple as going to their wallet on their profile where you can discover exactly how much their account is valued at during that precise moment. The value changes throughout the day as the price of HIVE fluctuates. It’s just as easy to do the exact same thing for a LEO wallet. Not every cryptocurrency is quite as easy to access wallet holdings, some even keep make it nearly impossible to find out.

Hive is not a privacy coin, but there is still the ability to remain anonymous if you choose to do so. It requires a lot of effort and careful maneuvering through your transactions to not accidentally leave a trail that reveals your identity. Every action is stored on the blockchain and can be traced, it’s just a matter of following the maze of actions.

If you’re really paranoid (or smart) you may even have many different accounts which you spread your bags throughout. If for instance you have millions of dollars, it may make sense to have hundreds of accounts. This way if something were to happen to one of them you would still have the others.

Come on I’m family 🏡

I’m sure we have all heard stories about the one person in an average family who finally makes it. They work hard all of their life to become successful and once they gain that elevated financial status, suddenly everyone else connected to them thinks that they should get a piece of the pie too.

Let me borrow a thousand dollars, I swear I’ll pay it back. Come on man, we are family.

This line may be cliché, but it’s a real thing. Not just family, but close friends and associates may think that your hard work equals their easy hand out. You are indeed closely connected after all, shouldn’t there be some trickle down?

Perhaps a small percentage of people reach that ultimate level of wealth and have no problem donating here and there to those in need. Others may get lucky to reach a level where they can just barely afford to do anything they want for themselves and aiding others would then take away that newfound freedom that they worked so long and hard for.

Luckily for me I have such a tiny amount of people with their tentacles attached to me. The ones I do have in my life I love and would happily help in an instant if they were in need. Especially my parents, if it weren’t for them I would have probably dwindled away to nothing by now. Never do they ask me for a thing and I don’t expect that to change once my account value goes to the moon and they realize I’m able to shift tides with the click of a button.


Just think about it 🤔

Hive is technically less than a year old still and the value of HIVE is extremely low as of today. There just isn’t much chance in this remaining the case. We are clearly beginning the shift from Web 2.0 to 3.0. With that will come an increase in value for that which we are investing much of our time and money into. This will be due to the surge in the amount of eyes on Hive which translates to more users. Luckily Hive is built to scale and already sports a robust offering of dApps and fairly strong decentralization with nodes spread out all over the world.

It won’t take very long for the new users to realize how easy it will be for them to find out who the most wealthy and influential people on Hive are. Except by this time it will be more common to see many accounts holding millions of dollars rather than thousands. Imagine stumbling upon an account worth billions, I’m sure there will be tons of people who become obsessed with that person hoping for an upvote or something.

It won’t be long before it’s normal for your friends and family to be daily Hive users. They will be earning HIVE and HBD just for posting and curating their everyday social media lifestyle. It’s already happening with the tight knit community that uses Hive daily. The future Hive community members will be curious how they can more rapidly increase their earnings. This will lead to many undoubtably asking for help or even as much as a free delegation. Some may deserve it, while others will simply expect it. Either way you won’t be able to deny how much money you have, unless you’re trying very hard to hide it.

Ready for what’s next❓

With all of this being said, can you handle everyone in your personal life knowing how large or small your wallet is? Will you be able to handle the people closest to you in your life showing off how wealthy you are to people you may not even know or trust?

This is going to be the way of the future, best prepare for it as early as possible. You can rise to the challenge and accept the responsibility that comes with being publicly fortunate. Another option is to make a strong effort to remain in the shadows and hope nobody spots your abundance. Either way finance of the future is going to be a lot different than what we are used to.

I say bring it on!


Thanks for checking out my blog 😎🤝

If you found this article thought provoking or informative feel free to leave a comment, upvote, maybe even reblog it if you’re feeling extra nice today.

hiveordieextendedart1.png

Join my fanbase on hive.vote ✅☑️Message me on Discord 💬Follow me on Twitter 🗣🐦
click heredaltono#5080click here
Sort:  

Would it make sense to make an alternate account in order to spread out your "Public Wealth". Also, is create a 2nd account against any rules etc? This was an interesting concept to consider. I'm only 2 days in but I can see how one can build their wealth here fairly significantly in 1 Year. I'm amazed this place is not more popular than it already is. Will be amazing once this all catches on. I'm ready !

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Well I know plenty of others who have many different accounts. I can't say which ones are owned by the same person, no way for me to know without digging deeper. Even then I may not be able to find out.

Wouldn’t you feel safer knowing you had thousands of dollars on multiple accounts rather than millions in one? Not that it’s unsafe to have that much in one, it’s more of a fail safe to spread them out. Ultimately it’s up to you to keep your keys secure, which is totally manageable.

There aren’t many rules that I know of, probably why I’m so happy here. It's 100% acceptable to create as many accounts as you'd like. If you have enough resource credits, you can even claim free account creation tokens yourself. It's a function that is there, so it's meant to be used. Either for yourself or others. You are in charge of your account, so it’s up to you.

It’s only a matter of time until more and more people are on their second day just like you are now. Everything works so well here already. It’s as if Hive is a Ferrari sitting in a hidden garage waiting to be uncovered and driven.

ah, thats a great analogy. I've told some friends about this, hopefully they'll try it out !

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's a good idea to create a second account on your own and store the information for it offline except the active and posting key. That way there's guarantee no one will get access to it. Of the keys never make it online except here you can rest assured it won't be phished. I'm going to eventually go down that path I think.

Also welcome to hive and Leo finance! You've caught the wave early so that's great. Your best bet is to comment on peoples posts like you are now. This is how you'll gain followers and make some tokens!

No.

Simple answer. I understand why that is how you feel though.

I considered this to be an issue right from the beginning. Wallets should be private and the owners should decide if making them public. I don't see public wallets helping transparency too much.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's a unique choice for sure. It hasn't been an issue for me yet and I honestly haven't heard of too many instances where large stake holders have been targeted. Once there is a larger user base there will surely be a bit more conflict around this issue. I trust in the community and the witnesses to remedy any major issues that surface from this transparency.

I’m going to start spreading it out between accounts I think. I don’t have a lot by any means but just directing some accounts to vote on the things I do at my rate and then having funds on there to stay in sage keeping is a good idea. When I first started here I used my master password for like two or three weeks to log in lol. Big fail there! I need to know that with a new account no one has the info except me.

It's a matter that is totally in your hands, whether you choose to keep a singular account or multiple.
If you start a new one, I'm sure you will be better equipped to manage it now that you are very familiar with how everything works.

I am totally disagree with making public your wealth, it only gonna attract people who only will care about your money

I know some people who choose to hide their wealth and others who flaunt it. People from either side remain successful and also some end up becoming a failure. I think it's a matter of how each individual manages their own situation.

Although it's wise to look out for those who wish to capitalize off of your positive situation.

This article is a very interesting one having a lot of thought and truth in it. Somehow having our worth exposed in the public indirectly shows a bit of our identity and truth be told, the more richer I get here, the less I have to share personal stuffs.

I am imagining if Hive gets user base as high as Facebook, that means billions if users with a High Hive Value but at the same time there would be scammers and probably more people with the same location as I who might want to find me in person and attack me for my keys, come to think of it. It would even be more easier for them on Hive meet ups and gatherings.

This is what happens when I spend lots of time throughout the day letting out my thoughts into a post.

I don't feel any need to hesitate to show who I am while my account continues to grow. If anything I become even more comfortable.

Take celebrities for instance. It's easy to know that they often have loads of money. Sure they have to deal with paparazzi, but most end up living their lives just fine without major issues. Every once in awhile a crazy fan shows up, but you don't hear about too many of them losing everything to a scammer. It does happen though, don't get me wrong.

Perhaps knowing that all that is needed is one password to overtake someone's fortune would encourage more bad behavior. This is why proper safeguarding is essential both now and especially in the future.

I feel as though there will be some sort of innovation to solve this issue of potential losses. Perhaps it will involve some sort of bio-modifications that keep your keys within your body. Even then I know people are crazy enough to skin a human being alive.

Who knows. Thought provoking stuff to say the least.

Lol.... Bio-modification.. Yeah some can go that way far.

It might cause my family to talk to me after all these years.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Lol sad isn't it, so many people just care about someone's financial situation.

How exciting right? You will finally have some worth in the eyes of your bloodline. Maybe you will even have some people to delegate to who love you. Family is forever after all 🤪

I'm thankful that my close family is legit and has always been there for me. I’m truly lucky. Outside of that it's pretty scarce and I never see or hear from people. It’s the world we live in.

untitled.gif

I don't have much in here yet, but yeah, I've always been uncomfortable with the fact that outsiders can see how much we have in our wallets.

Maybe it would be a decent feature to have the option to hide it on our account page. Not that I particle want that to be implemented.

It could still be discovered by exploring the blocks. Plus whenever someone upvotes a post you have a solid idea of how much money is in their account right away. Sure you can vote with different percentages, but it’s simple math to figure it out.

There really isn’t much way around it besides splitting the holdings up into several accounts. Otherwise it’s best to just get comfortable with the publicity.

Hive growth does not stop like any hive. By the way ... that footer is great ... and radical.

On the inside of a hive, things are so much busier than they seem from the outside.

Thank you! I designed it myself. I too love the design, it's totally my kind of footer.

Congratulations @daltono! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 9750 replies. Your next target is to reach 10000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz hosting #HiveChat on Twitter on January 26, 2021 at 12.00 GMT
Next Hive Power Up Day is February 1st 2021