My Hive Strategy for 2023

in LeoFinancelast year

I've been thinking a lot about my Hive strategy for 2023 over the past few days. As I've been talking about in my last few Weekly Review posts and in my last Hive Power-Up Day post, this year I am shifting my focus away from Hive-Engine tokens and back to Hive itself. This isn't to say I'm going to ignore H-E, just that's not my focus.

I think I have a working idea of my strategy, so let's look at it. This post may be more me thinking outloud than in giving any advice, so bear with me.

  1. Power up.


    Image by RoboAdvisor from Pixabay

    In the past few years I have been channeling a lot of my earnings into Hive-Engine tokens and other side projects, like CUB. This year I am going to use most of my earnings to power up instead. I haven't yet worked out a percentage for how much of my daily earnings I'll power up, but so far it's been 100%; I've been converting all HBD earned to Hive and I've either used that Hive for powering up or let it sit liquid in my account as I wait to see if Hive spikes (in which case I'll secure gains by converting to HBD) or for Hive Power-Up Day, whichever comes first.

    Among the advantages of powering up are:

    • I show my dedication to this platform, and that might attract some more upvotes from others who are highly invested.
    • It will also earn me more curation. Currently I get about 1.5-2 Hive per day from curation; I would like to increase this.
    • It will enable me to reward more people. (See, this isn't all selfish!😜) With the low price of Hive, my 100% upvote only gives about a dime. Often I vote closer to 100% than I should because I want to reward more than a penny or two. At the same time, I don't want my voting mana to fall too low so end result is I can't vote as much as I'd like. Having a higher HP will help alleviate this problem and help me reward more people.

    I already started off this year with a 2500 power-up, and I'm planning on at least a 1000 power-up on Feb 1st. After that, the amount I power up will probably be less, but I will aim to do as much as I can.

  2. Focus on Writing Great Posts


    Image by Joachim Schnürle from Pixabay

    This is kind of a given, but I thought I should mention it anyway. Action Plans need to even include the obvious stuff, after all.

    On one hand, I think I've been writing pretty good posts daily (with a few gaps) for the past five and a half years. I have never shitposted just to collect autovotes, and I have always aimed for at least 500 words, if not more, with enough useful info that the reader should be able to come away from my posts having learned at least one new thing

    That said, I want to up my game. I am increasing my post mimimum to at least 1000 words. I won't beat myself up if I fall below that, but it's the goal. In each post I want to go into a little more detail than I have in the past. Obviously I hope this might attract more curation of my own posts which have rarely been curated in my time on Hive, but I also hope I can teach more and give more useful information. One of the many hats I wear in real life is that of a teacher's; I really get a lot of enjoyment from sharing info other people don't know and teaching them something. As I wrote the other day I always get so excited when I write my haiku translation posts because I enjoy sharing all the background info on the haiku. That may not be surprising: I've been told more than once that my posts seem like lectures 😅.

    Anyway: better quality posts.

  3. Buying into tokens that give post support


    Image by Sasin Tipchai from Pixabay

    I know I said above that my focus is on Hive and I will be avoiding moving too much money to Hive-Engine. I stand by that. But that said, I will still be buying into good projects. Of those, I want to focus on tokens that give posting support. Many tokens give dividends for holding them. This is good, but I'm looking more at the tokens that give upvotes instead.

    I'm thinking projects like BRO or INCOME which give an upvote to token holders (while also requiring quality, so shitposting doesn't get an upvote). I am also strongly into Hive SBI which has always had universal basic income as the goal. (@josephsavage has done an amazing job with this program!)

    I guess some people may consider these things paying for votes, but I don't see it that way. The old vote buying on Steemit was a simple transaction: you pay, you get votes. This is more a dividend for investment, one that is paid out in upvotes. At any rate, if the whales of Hive decide to do away with these programs in the future, be that as it may, but while they are available I will take advantage.

    My motivation in this idea is to provide my posts with some kind of baseline earning. Seeing that number will help with motivation and also feed into my focus this year, as I will just use the post payout to power up to a higher HP. (Well, and to fund rewards for the community I run, Blockchain Poets. You are a member there, right??)

  4. Commenting more


    Image by Werner Moser from Pixabay

    I already comment a lot. I have the goal of at least five comments on other posts everyday, as well as replying to all coments on my posts. This is a difficult balance because if I spend all my time commenting, I have no time left for writing my own posts. Still, I am going to try to squeeze in some more comments everyday.

    The advantages of commenting are two-fold. First of all, people love comments on their posts. So by leaving them I am making other's happy and hopefully increasing their motivation to stay on this platform. I guess the second part of that is a little selfish as I do want Hive to continue to survive and grow and the best way to do that is keep people here, but I also like spreading joy. We have enough anger and misery in this world to bury us all in depression; we should all endeavor to lift each other up a bit to combat this. Second, commenting is a good way to network with folks. Not everyone spends time in Discord, after all.

    I'm not commiting to a number because, again, this is a difficult balance. I want to have time to do my posts. I'll just try to do more, so at least six per day (one more than previously) and possibly more if time allows.

Well anyway, that's my 2023 Hive strategy so far. I may add more or tweak some, but I think these will be the working guidelines for me this year.

Do you have a Hive strategy for this year? If so, what is it? Please share in the comments.




Buy Me a Coffee at ko-fi.com

Hi there! David LaSpina is an American photographer and translator lost in Japan, trying to capture the beauty of this country one photo at a time and searching for the perfect haiku.

If this blog post has entertained or helped you, please follow/upvote/reblog. If you want to further support my writing, donations are welcome.

  • BTC: bc1q6q86uq5qhffuk08gdenlg9wtq75cpvur359shj
  • ETH: 0x2Ce5c2b5F3f1a888b50A7bA9002E4F742784dF9c
  • Doge: D7McZi8SLd1QqRsNsFws21rYuRhjFRyN2q
  • Sort:  

    You are a teacher. That's why. I love haiku, so I followed you to learn and know more. Wishing you all the best! May you successfully implement this great plan, although, yes, you shouldn't be too hard on yourself. You are already doing great.

    I will also add some of your plans to my list because I enjoy Hive and wanna stay and thrive here. Thank you!

    Thank you for the well wishes 😃 I hope you also have great success this year!

    Good goals, @dbooster !
    More power to you!

    Posted Using LeoFinance Beta