After several years... mining again!

in LeoFinance3 years ago

image.png

Long time ago, I was a miner. I had experience mining BTC, ETH, RVN and a lot of other shitcoins. Some of them helped me make a profit, some of them just caused loss in electricity bills. I was just wandering around when I randomly stumbled upon a mining ad. Which made me wonder "huh, I have an old gaming laptop that's been sleeping for a year, doing absolutely nothing, what should I do with it?" so I wanted to give mining a shot. To my surprise, even my old laptop can crunch 6 MH/s on KAWPOW (Ravencoin) algorithm. It gives roughly $20 a month. Yes, you didn't see that wrong. 20 USD a month. Costs only like 3 USD in electricity though. And $17 is $17. Especially if you are living in Turkey, where it could amount to a few extra items at the grocery store.

On the other hand, my desktop computer. Which has a GTX 1080, was just idling. I mean... I don't play games anymore. I barely do. Other than that, while I browse Hive, watch YouTube videos etc. The computer's graphic power is mostly idle. So I thought about putting that to work too. This PC probably won't be up 24/7, since it's right beside my bed... But, at least it can crunch 32-33 MH/s on ETHash, meaning roughly 0.05 ETH every month. That's close to $80 at the moment. The electricity cost, from what I can see, is about $10. So that means $70 in profits, every single month at the moment. Although I am not planning to withdraw anything other than the electricity costs for the time being. In other words, longing ETH :)

Do you guys mine? Or have plans to? Let me know what you think of my fancy setup below!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Which has a GTX 1080, was just idling

In a time like this when all gamers can't buy the GPU's they want? Thinking of buying the new Nvidia mining card?

Definitely no. I am very happy with my GPU and my main focus isn't even mining. I still play games every now and then.

Also, I bought my GTX 1080 all the way back in 2017, just a few months after the GPU itself was released. :)

No plans for mining as it is very expensive right now.
However I am doing weekly dollar cost averaging to acquire as much BTC as I can.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You really have cheap electricity there. If I try and mine with my 5500XT I'd lose out because of electricity cost alone.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

If PC is up 24/7, how much will be earned one month? Thanks!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Congratulations @deathwing! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 54000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 55000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day