How To Maximize Curation Returns in HF 25

in LeoFinance3 years ago

With the upcoming hardfork and a change to curation it's always nice to review the changes and update the strategies we've been using to maximize our gains. Well... I have great news for you! As long as you vote over the dust threshold your strategy should be to vote on the least controversial posts or comments with in 24 hours.

The reason being is near everybody who votes on posts has curation in mind. We can see this by how many people vote in the first 24 hours of posts anyway. Since any votes after 24 hour will take a significant hit to curation rewards they just aren't going to happen often enough to count on. Which means the only thing you really have to worry about is a downvote on the same content.

So do your best to find the least controversial posts out there and vote 100% about every 2.1 hours when your manabar is full.

Will this change help bring good content to the top? No. Random votes will pay about as well as anything else.

Hive will be a Proof of Participation blockchain with Downvotes if you get out of line.

If you vote just under the dust threshold will you have any incentive to vote? No. Hive poor? Get rekt! You have to group together to reward good content.

Do I have a better idea for curating content? Also no. At least, not on the base layer. What people can post/blog is far larger than any one person's interests and the distribution here is heavily biased toward the cryptominded.

Not that this is all bad, there still isn't another blockchain with free transactions that isn't centralized. At the very least you can post here with out monetary expectation but with immutability and publishing in mind. There is also a strong and growing "Layer 2" with PoB, LEO, DLUX, STEM ... rewarding communities with tokens and decent promotion of relevant topics.

As a minnow on Hive you'll soon be in and environment where you should delegate your excess HP(Don't starve yourself of RCs) to a community vote bot, you'll get community tokens for the delegation and based on the votes of community members the large account will issue votes with your collective weight on posts. You don't have to worry about setting up a vote bot to maximize your returns. Curation trails are useless at layer 1. Content will be Proof of Brain in each area.

Hive is getting better. It's already the best. It is however changing, so plan accordingly.


If you want to set up a community for your interests I've been building a modular token ecosystem that is decentralized. Follow me to find out more or check out the code. Vote on proposal 171 to help fund it's improvement.

Sort:  

Will this change help bring good content to the top? No.

I’d have to somewhat disagree with this. I think the change is a net positive for authentic content sorting. I say authentic because “good” is of course quite subjective!

With this simplification of curation, the old ways of piling on large reward posts or front running votes on known popular authors won’t yield any higher curation rewards than just voting on what you like.

Those who have been voting specifically for max ROI have zero reason (other than laziness in reassigning their current auto votes) to not simply “Like what they like!” This should have at least some positive impact on organic curation.

This is a valid viewpoint. But because random voting is just as profitable the good will likely get lost in the noise. I hope layer 2s and possibly other methods help bring content curation back but it's not like it could get worse.

I think the best we can hope for are authentic likes, even if that doesn't raise "good" content to the top. I fear that's too lofty a goal, but it's not a failure of Hive specifically. I guarantee a collection of some of the most thoughtful, well researched & profound content on the internet would only show a fraction of the number of likes found on a couple pictures of a celebrity's ass. It's just the way the world works! 🤷‍♂️

I don't think we need to even go to layer 2 tokens for results, when superficial front end UI adjustments would be far better suited. The best way to cut down noise is for our Hive sites to stop being such "catch alls" and filter out content from other apps that don't fit their particular format & culture. I want Hive based apps that are analogous to Reddit, Instagram, Twitter, Twitch, etc... but I don't want to see those posts all mashed together into one feed! I think that gives us the most noise and friction between people when considering what constitutes a good post & deserving of rewards.

how much i care about maximizing my voting shows my relatively consistent support of dlux reports :D

@dlux-io is set to autovote dlux content after ~20 hours... It'll come back to you eventually.

it was a failed joke about not being so concerned about doing it max :D

I am less familiar with all the details on maximizing my vote payout returns and just upvote content I like manually.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Well I think the new changes will promote engagement because the threshold will be easier for people to achieve. Its the reason why I like the linear curation curve but the 24 hour window means you need to stay more up to date.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

This was a hard read for me. Not that it was bad content. I just couldn't figure out if you were being serious or sarcastic through it. Or bouncing back and forth between the two. Maybe that is what it was :) I am not sure what tier I would be considered at. I know I don't maximize my curation rewards like some people do. I feel like I could be doing so much more to help myself sometimes.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

You're right. The main draw of Steem was Proof of Brain for me. I guess it's a little something like seeing you kid who always wanted to be a doctor grow up to be even more successful as a tik tok star. I agree it's more fair for stakeholders, that Proof of Brain was a little ambitious, and that getting good content to a trending page is a better task for layer 2 solutions.

The process is getting better and better, it is fairer for everyone and we are all happy.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta


Hey @disregardfiat, here is a little bit of BEER from @networkallstar for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Connect

Trade


@disregardfiat! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @networkallstar.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (8/10)

LUV

Connect

Trade


@disregardfiat, you've been given LUV from @networkallstar.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. (8/10)