Information Myopia, Or How To Screw Up By Ignorance

in LeoFinance3 years ago

claudioschwarzpurzlbaumlw_aaZtdNWIunsplashscaled.jpg


The other day my flat mate sent me a message asking me what type of peas do we usually buy. She was at the grocery store, and we use to cook together, one of the dishes being based on canned peas with carrots. As I was the one buying it, most of the time, she had no idea how it looked like, or on what aisle should she look for it.

I found myself a bit surprised, when I wrote back: “it’s the one with a nice picture on the label, a very pleasant green and some cute little carrots”. And then I realized that’s how I was choosing it, lately. In the beginning, I obviously looked carefully over the label, read the entire description and even spent some time on the ingredients. But then I went on with the most accessible visual layer: the drawing on the label. I didn’t even think to re-read again.

And I realized that I was doing this thing with many other groceries. The first identification layer was enough, most of the time, for my buying decisions. I’m not saying I was buying only based on that, but it was definitely a very frequent shortcut.

The more I was using the shortcut, the more I got accustomed to it, until I got to a point where I simply didn’t see beyond. I was having “information myopia”.

What Is Information Myopia, And How Can It Be Bad For You

Simply put, “information myopia” is what happens when we rely primarily on shortcuts, on partial information, to make important decisions. We simply maintain our level of knowledge to a “good enough” layer. We approximate, just a like a person with regular myopia would approximate the blurry shapes and colors to actual objects.

Of course, there are excuses for that. Lack of time, information overload, the increasing speed of living, I know. And, to a certain extent, this approximation works well.

But the problem is that we get used to it, and, slowly, we let it pervade areas that should be way more clear, unapproximable, so to speak.

For instance, when we’re “shopping” for a partner. We seldom go beyond the initial drawings on the label. We don’t dare to read the description, let alone to have a peak at the ingredients. We just hope that once we open that beautifully decorated can, we will enjoy something tasty. Alas, most of the time, it’s not happening. On the contrary, as the saying goes, we get into more trouble, as the fishermen trying to open a can of worms can easily testify.

Or, on a more practical note, when we invest in something, being it a company, a piece of real estate or some crypto asset. How much do we really know about the company, about that piece of real estate or about the crypto asset? How much is just a gut reaction to a beautifully designed label, luring us into emptying our pockets, and how much is sustainable value? Without peeking deeper, without taking more time to actually stop and read the fine print, we have no way to know.

Information myopia is a real thing, and it feeds ignorance. Although it may give the impression of a shortcut, of saving some time in the moment, what it really does is increasing the future expenses for managing that decision.

Of course, once we know what a thing, a person, a stock or an asset really is, we can function by approximating it, if we just need to identify it. We already did our due diligence.

But when it’s something absolutely new, it pays to read between the lines, and try seeing beyond the beautiful, yet way too many times, deceiving, drawing on the surface.


There is an ongoing funding proposal for two of my Hive-related projects, which will allow me to support some of the costs involved. If you want to support this proposal, all you have to do is to vote it using any of the two links below:

Sign this proposal with Hivesigner
Peakd: https://peakd.com/me/proposals/165

Already supported by: @arcange, @pharesim, @bluerobo, @captainklaus, @darkflame, @gillianpearce, @guruvaj, @inertia, @netaterra, @steevc, @therealyme, @toofasteddie, @vimukthi, @zuerich


I'm a geek, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Hive you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


Wanna know when you're getting paid?

I know the feeling. That's why I created hive.supply, an easy to use and accurate tool for calculating your HIVE rewards

It's free to use, but if you think this is a useful addition, I'd appreciate your witness vote.

Thank you!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

I remember there was an article about companies using colors as a marketing/advertising strategy. Remember Steemit used emerald as its logo's color? Subconsciously people get attracted to the color because I think it means reward. Also there are some credit card companies using emerald as their logos' color just to lure people to "rewards" when in reality it means more debt. It's crazy to think.

But I also used the same color for my startup travel agency logo. Emerald, because it's the color of our waters - it makes sense anyway LOL. I profited pre-covid.

Yeap, there are many associations of colors with various concepts / states / emotions. Red, for instance, is perceived in many cultures as aggressive and sexually charged. On the other side, you get different cultural chromatic appropriations for mourning, in West it's black, in East it's white.

But even beyond these unconscious tendencies, we use approximations based on previous experiences, without proper due diligence. That's what I mean by "information myopia", we think we "kinda understand" what's going on, when we're actually not. And we get into all kind of trouble because of this 😀

What happened with your startup travel agency?

Okay I kinda understand now. 😄.

What happened with your startup travel agency?

Pandemic. 😔

Sorry to hear about that 😞