Saturday Savers Club with @susie-saver | Week 30 - Saturday 24 July 2021 | Get Ready for HivePUD | Win EDS Tokens for Comments! Everyone Welcome

in LeoFinance3 years ago (edited)

happy saturday.png

Hello Everyone,

Welcome to Saturday Savers Club with Susie-Saver!

What's happening?

  • Hive Power Up Day (HivePUD) takes place on Sunday 1 August. Save your liquid Hive this week and power up on Sunday to take part. See last month's post by @traciyork for more information and to see if you would qualify for prizes.
  • Saturday Savers Club has two sponsorships for HivePUD, from @justclickindiva and @shanibeer. Read this post by @hivebuzz to find out more about it. If you want to qualify for a chance to be sponsored, drop a comment on the Saturday Savers Club post next week by 10am+1 UTC on Sunday 1 August.
    If you think that any of your followers would be interested please reblog this post to spread the word (or write about it in a post of your own and link it here for extra savings goodness).

@bearmol reaches Minnow status Yay!

Yes, regular Saturday Saver Club member @bearmol reached Minnow status last week after just six months on the chain. How about that? We have a special reward for @bearmol this week: 5 SPI are coming your way - check your wallet! Everyone, drop by @bearmol's profile and show some love 😍.

When will @susie-saver hit 530HP?

Here's the bets on when @susie-saver will reach 530HP:
Week 30 - Saturday 24 July - @bashadow
Week 31 - Saturday 31 July - @justclickindiva @ericburgoyne @jfang003
Week 32 - Saturday 7 August - @bearmol @riandeuk @phoenixwren
Week 33 - Saturday 14 August - @gillianpearce
The book is closed now - let's see what happens!

Well, @susie-saver hit 530HP this week, so @bashadow wins! Check you wallet - 5 SPI heading your way!

However, that's not the end of the story ... @susie-saver hasn't reached Minnow status yet, so watch this space next week for more lucky winners!!!

update: minnow is somewhere around 533HP 😁

Now then - this week's winners!

Every week, you have the chance to win EDS tokens for commenting. Last week we had comments from @gillianpearce @ericburgoyne @bearmol @justclickindiva @jfang003, @bashadow and @phoenixwren.

Okay, everyone who commented last week went into the WheelofNames and we have a winner: @phoenixwren - 2 EDS heading your way - yay!

- Congratulations!

Thank you for taking part in Saturday Savers Club, everyone!

What's been happening in your world this week? anything exciting or fun? Tell us in the comments - you could win some EDS tokens 😁.

More about EDS tokens

EDS tokens are a low-risk income token, ideal for people who want to save. There were only 20,000 originally and they were all sold at 1 Hive each, with guaranteed earnings of 12% each year. You can now acquire EDS tokens through the EDS Miner token.

Earnings come from powering up and leasing out the Hive that came from selling the tokens, plus earnings from posts and comments each week. EDS pays out every Monday evening. Last week the pay out was equivalent to 24%.

648 EDS Miner tokens left.

Back to business ...

We're going to be here every Saturday through the year growing a little savings honey pot, if you have plans for saving or getting to a different place this time next year - maybe $5 Hive by the end of the year 🤑?

Whatever it is, stick with Susie Saver through the year and we'll get there. Along the way, we'll share lots of tips and tricks for saving and how to get the knack of making your money work for you and not the other way round.

Let's Get Started

saturday_savers_club.jpg

Image by Andy M. from Pixabay Hey Chicken, watch out for the rain 😁

We're using the 365 Penny A Day Challenge framework for the Saturday Savers Club. We're aiming to save £667 worth of pennies by the end of the year.

Penny a Day Tracker Sheet

saturday_saver_club.png

Right click on the image, save it to your computer and then print it out.

Okay, let's check in ...

1. Check Progress

Each week, we're going to check in through this post and see where we are up to. Our target for today, 24 July, was 14.14p. Next week, we'll be saving 14.63p and by Saturday we'll have saved 224.65p (that's 22,465p, just compounding a penny a day)! 😁.

Each week, I'll be buying Hive for @susie-saver's account with the pennies we've saved.

Here's this week's results - 14.14p buys 46.30 Hive.
630 Hive saved in 28 weeks (530 Hive powered up, the remainder invested in EDS and EDSM)! Plus we're earning 3.22% inflation on powered up Hive, 24% on EDS tokens and a little on curating and posting!

@susie-saver has powered this week's savings; she's also been voting following a curation trail. She's reached her first milestone of 530HP, next week she will hit Minnow status. What do you think her next goal should be?

How much did you save this week? Did you meet your target? Or did you save even more?

Being accountable to another person or a group is a great way to motivate yourself to save (or anything you want to achieve). Of course, you need the right kind of people around you - ones that think what you're trying to do is worth doing ... or at least fun 😁.

Sign up here with us to start your savings journey:

  • just leave a comment below if you want to join the challenge.
  • follow @eddie-earner so you never miss a post (Eddie has lots of ideas about how to make money - he's the earner, I'm the saver - you'll like his posts).
  • share this post if you think your followers might be interested.

2. The Golden Pig Tip

saturday savers club.jpg

Image by 3D Animation Production Company from Pixabay

Every week, we're going to share a Golden Pig Tip for saving. By the time you've tried them all you'll have £670 saved.

This Week's Golden Pig Tip

Here's this week's Golden Pig Tip from @phoenixwren (another EDS heading your way):

"I've also heard that if you put a dishwasher tablet in [the empty washing machine], it cleans it out really well. I do periodically add baking soda and vinegar to a wash to tackle smells. I've also read if you put lemonade flavored Kool Aid (just the flavor packet powder, not the added sugar or liquid kinds) in the dishwasher, it helps clean off mineral deposits."

This week: any other top tips for savings on gardening or d-i-y? Leave your ideas in the comments for the chance to win extra tokens.

And today is always a good day to start saving - you can start on Day 1 or make up the first thirty weeks to catch up with @susie-saver. Or join our 100 day savings backwards challenge (ends 31 July 2021).

That's it for this week. Hope you've enjoyed it and look forward to seeing you next Saturday with progress so far and our next Golden Pig tip.

@eddie-earner content contributed by @silverstackeruk and @shanibeer.
Today's post by @shanibeer writing as @susie-saver.

EDS, @eddie-earner's income token, is part of the SPinvest family including SPI (@spinvest), LBI (@lbi-token) and the @spinvest-leo account - a cool club in the making. Spinvest Family Motto: Get Rich Slowly.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Sort:  

Congratulations to this week’s winners and congrats to @susie-saver for reaching 530HP and getting even closer to becoming a Minnow. Also thanks for the SPIs. Like susie-saver I’m pondering what my next goal should be. I’ve seen a few comments suggesting that dolphin 🐬 is the next level but it may take a while to get there. So I’ll be setting some smaller goals along the way. For example this weekend I hope to improve my engagement and get to 1000 replies.

Here are some of my recent posts.
https://peakd.com/hive-183952/@bearmol/celebrating-minnow-status-orbig-red-lighthouse

https://peakd.com/hive-120586/@bearmol/eats-that-cant-be-beat

https://peakd.com/hive-183952/@bearmol/beating-the-summer-heat-part-i

Congratulations on your progress! It's exciting when you reach your goal 😍
Then there is all the excitement of setting the next goals ... what to choose ... how long to set ... what's most fun!

Comments and replies are a great target and a fantastic way to build your account. It's a sure way to build your network.

Fabulous!

Again thanks for the SPIs. Yes, I’m excited when I reach my goals and I’m definitely excited to set new ones.

Hello @bearmol. Yes, Dolphin is the next level. Don't worry, you'll get there at 5K HP. It seems far away, but it will soon sooner than you think. It took me a year to achieve that. We've already seen how quickly time has gone by in the Saturday Savers Club.

Setting smaller goals along the way is good. I took the 500 HP at a time approach.

Hope you reach your 1K replies soon. As I always say, engagement is the key.

Thank you @justclickindiva. Your generosity is beyond measure. I just noticed several new tokens in my wallet. When I checked I saw that they are from you. Thanks for your kindness.

You're welcome. Remember, holding Tokens from one source may bring you other token rewards. Hopefully, your token list will grow.

Take care.

Thank you 🙏. Enjoy the rest of your weekend.

We've had a lot of child care duties this week so I've not been around as much. Also managed to go to the beach every day and have a swim so very happy about that.

I got a couple of limit orders filled earlier in the week and started DCA on a few new coins. In retrospect I'm not sure that was such a good idea since I've don't really have a plan. Not to mention I bought the wrong coin. I meant to buy AVA but bought ADA by mistake. 😂

I'm also dealing with the worst crypto decision I've made so far . . . moving DEC into the CubDefi liquidity pool has turned out to be a big mistake. I've lost more than 3/4 of it. 😢

However, I've learned a lot about how liquidity pools work so there is that. 😁

Have a fun week everyone.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hello @gillianpearce. So sorry to hear you had a not-so-good investment week. And I can understand that life does get in the way. I was a bit behind on my Saturday Savers Club daily updates.

As far as your investments, what I do is start small and invest a small amount with new ventures. That way, if something goes awry, I won't have lost much.

Thanks for the mention of liquidity pools. I've been meaning to look into that as well, but have been focused on another aspect of farming.

Have a good rest of your weekend.

what I do is start small and invest a small amount with new ventures.

Yeah. That's what I do too. And I did that with CubFinance and it was going well so I added a bit more. And it was still going well so I added more.

It would have been fine if Splinterlands hadn't decided to airdrop a new governance token. When they announced that the DEC price rose well above the peg (now standing at $4 having dropped back a bit). That meant I lost DEC and gained BUSD.

Went I entered the pool I didn't mind earning DEC or BUSD as they were both "stable" coins. But now, because of the airdrop, I don't want to lose DEC.

Too late though. I've already "lost" 3/4 of what I put in.

When I entered the pool I had no way of knowing that DEC would not stay stable. I should probably have got out as soon as the airdrop was announced but it took me a while to work out what was going on.

For now I'm leaving everything as it is until the airdrop has been running for a couple of weeks and then I'll decide what to do from there.

Have a fun week!

!PIZZA
!ENGAGE 50

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Connect

Trade


@justclickindiva! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @gillianpearce.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (2/10)

Ah that run up in DEC price probably caused some IL. I would suggest waiting till after the SPS airdrop. If you do, the price should revert a bit and you should get back some of your DEC. I have a feeling some people will be dropping their DEC afterwards.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I have a feeling some people will be dropping their DEC afterwards.

I hope so. But the airdrop lasts a year so maybe not. I might have to wait until Chaos Legion is out. #😂

I'll give it a week or so and see where I am then. Right now there seems to be no end to the price increase and subsequent loss.

Maybe something new will come on the market and I'll be glad of the BUSD. 😁

!ENGAGE 40

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

meant to buy AVA but bought ADA by mistake

That's me all over 😂
Great to get to the beach though and childcare is an infinitely better way to spend time than pretty much anything else. I enjoyed being by the sea last weekend, took walks two days and loved just sitting gazing at the sea. Some women had those folding loungers and looked very film-star-pics-from-the-sixties (I'm going to get one). I was delighted to see a little refreshments trailer just opening when I went down the second day - the taste and smell of fresh tea on the beach is a very specific memory. There used to be a cafe there but something horrible with pipes happened and it hasn't been open for years. We also had a chalet with a small balcony - all the children were thrown on the balcony to eat lunch and tea, while the adults stayed inside slicing and buttering bread and asking whether you wanted peanut butter or jam.

Sounds like a lovely time with equally lovely memories. Which beach were you visiting?

We managed to sneak in a couple of hours yesterday afternoon which was particularly nice as it was much quieter than of late. The weather prevented the London hoards from visiting probably. 😁

!ENGAGE 30

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Which beach were you visiting?

Ramsgate - the West Cliff (or Undercliff as the locals call it) rather than the Main Sands - my family are from there, although I grew up in London.

I've never been to Ramsgate or anywhere around that bit of coast, east of Dover. We always tend to go west. 😊

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Some of the bays are quite spectacular, and all the beaches are sandy 🙂

Hmmm. Hopefully we'll get there round there one of these days. Not so keen on sandy beaches though - at least to lie on. 😂

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Well I am behind in my challenges but I plan to catch up on them on the 1st of the month (Power up day). All the funds are just waiting to be be moved around or powered up. It looks like everyone is making great progress on their goals so far.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Hello @jfang003. Yes, I'm making good progress in my investments the past few weeks with the leasing of my HP. Nice returns at 13%.

Good to see you @jfang003 - remember to do a HPUD post and link it here to bring us up to date 😁

I always make sure to do a HPUD. Do you want me to link it each month?

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Always great to have updates - keeps it interesting for everyone 😍

Loading...

The challenge this week has been to gather the little pennies on the right and left to make my transfer to @cublife in order to participate in the purchase of CL for this month. 😎

Good plan @chrisparis 😎 How are you faring?

Very well it's the holidays !!! 😎 And you?

Not the holidays for me yet, but I have a couple of small trips planned over the next month.

How are you spending your holidays?

Costa Brava in Spain, beach, swimming pool, aperitif and nap ...

Lovely!

Thanks for the SPI, it will help a lot especially in the long run, they will be there earning for some time to come.

What do you think her next goal should be?

When I first started out one of my first goals after/during my minnow status was being able to give out a $0.02 vote, I was able to do so pretty quickly for a tiny time frame, then the rug got pulled out of steem. But now I can give my two cent vote pretty easy with out running out of vote power for post.

0.02 cent votes are a nice goal to have, that's when you really start to see a difference. Looks like @susie-saver would need to have about 1,000HP at current prices to do that - I should set that as the next challenge!

Back in the steem days, it was a goal I always wanted since I was part of a group trying to help new users out. I think the whole time on steem I was only able to give a 0.02 vote for one month, still it was fun when that happened, and it has always been a goal now I want to maintain.

Congrats to this weeks winner!! Made my goal for this months Club Life buy in again, so now I am saving for next months buy in. I am not doing hive buy in day as I am saving for club life for now.
Hope all is well> Have a great week

Yes, it's hard choosing between all the opportunities isn't it?
Cublife does seem a very good deal, though.
Good luck with your savings.

Any gardening or diy tips that save money for us this week?

not to many we have early tomatoes already this heat is making them grow like crazy, just have to keep them well watered. That and beet tops are great boiled, we thin our beets out and eat what we pull. Have a great week

Congrats to @bashadow and thank you so much for the EDS tokens! :) Also congrats to @bearmol - woop woop, six months to minnow is fast! I just reached dolphin (it took just shy of four years for me) so I am celebrating too!

Hmm, money saving gardening and DIY tips, huh? Well for gardening I'd say to use what are normally waste products for plant food: making compost, coffee grounds, eggshells, etc. I make compost on my balcony in a two bucket system, and it works really well. The buckets are two old cat litter buckets (a setup I learned from another Hiver, but I don't remember who because it was years ago), and in addition to kitchen scraps, for browns I use houseplant pruning, cut up plain cardboard from various packaging (nothing with shiny coating on it), shredded junk mail paper, matchsticks and burnt incense sticks and ash, even tissues and paper towels can go in there if you didn't put anything in them that you shouldn't compost. Also Epsom salts can be used for plant food, too! For DIY, in addition to being a general upcycler and reuser, whenever I take something apart that is broken and it's not going back together ...so say, the old desk or bookshelf that were just falling apart and not useable as such really anymore ...I save any reusable parts. The hardware bits go into my canister where I keep nails and screws and hooks and such; good wood is saved for future projects (I made cat shelves, which also saves money, because they WAY overcharge for those in pet stores and it just has to be a sturdy shelf you mount to the wall), etc. Don't just toss - disassemble! :)

Yuan 14.jpg
Yuan likes his shelves; Maggie isn't interested in them

Love the shelves 😂
Now about these compost buckets - what kind of size are they? Did you drill any holes in them? Do you turn the compost? How long does it take to fill a bucket/become compost?
I rented a house for a while with a concrete backyard, I tried making compost in a container, but it never composted - either dried out and fossilised or became slimy and black.
I have one of those bottomless compost bins at the moment - it never seems to fill! Even when I fill it to the brim with garden debris, in a week or two it is back to its usual level between a third and half full. I reckon I'm providing a handy restaurant to every critter in the neighbourhood. Still, I have no problem with them there, it's a win-win 😁
Thanks for the great tips!

Yeah so they're kitty litter buckets, so a bit smaller than a 5 gallon bucket. Holes drilled along the bottom, sides, and lid of the inner bucket, and fewer holes drilled only on the sides of the outer bucket. Use a small enough drill bit that bugs don't get in. Nest the inner bucket inside the outer bucket and that's where you throw your scraps. Outer bucket collects compost tea at the bottom. Stir it periodically with a stick, but FREQUENTLY when it's hot (like, every day or every other day), or it will mold.

As it breaks down, it does shrink. So I keep adding new stuff to it for months, until the winter hits and it stops breaking down. At that point once I've topped it off I leave it all winter and it stays dormant until the temps heat up again. During the winter I keep compost that will mold (so, kitchen scraps) in the freezer. I collect dry stuff that won't mold (houseplant pruning, matchsticks, etc.) in a box or something inside. Then when the weather warms, I let the extant bucket outside finish breaking down and then completely change it out, starting a new batch. I end up getting probably a third of a bucket when all is said and done, or maybe half. So it's a year long effort in my system. :)

Sounds perfect for a flat-dweller 🙂

Thank you @phoenixwren.

Wow some great tips there. I like the idea of thinking above other ways to use things instead of just throwing them away. That will help the earth and reduce waste for sure.

However I also have a slight fear and challenge of keeping things that never get used with limited space to store them. I guess the balance is there somewhere in the middle.

Oh for sure. I am one of the people who is constantly building and crafting and I actually have been using up the odd bits that I save, but it can definitely overtake you if you have more stuff to hang onto but don't know what you'll use them for any time soon. So many people have overflowing garages or sheds or basements or whatever because they started with good intentions but just never used anything. It takes practice to know what you'll actually use and what you won't.

I am one of the people who is constantly building and crafting and I actually have been using up the odd bits that I save, but it can definitely overtake you if you have more stuff to hang onto but don't know what you'll use them for any time soon.

This explains a lot. Thanks for taking the time out to share your ideas. I can definitely see a builder and craftsman saving and reusing material for numerous projects.

Congratulations @eddie-earner! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 700 replies.
Your next target is to reach 800 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Congrats on hitting that 530 mark! Minnow time soon, my week was good: holiday in France, unfortunately some food poisoning at the end so kinda tired now.

Getting back to that crypto hustle soon, have a good week all!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Good to see you! Hope you're feeling better 🙂

Just bought a couple of EDSM I guess I will give this a try :)
!PIZZA

Connect

Trade


@eddie-earner! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @dksart.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (7/10)

Welcome, good to see you!
Hope the EDSM serve you well and we are here every Saturday 😍

It takes some time with just a couple (got only 5 myself) it's playing the long game :-)

once they start giving you those eds that's a win and guarantee for weekly divs


Posted via proofofbrain.io